Projekte / Social Business
After 10 years in Tanzania, Kipepeo-Clothing is expanding to Kenya to create local jobs in the production of organic clothing and to support schools and education in Kenya. The motifs of this collection were created at a school for children with special needs in Nairobi. To draw attention to this project, part of the Kipepeo team will hitchhike from Germany to Kenya during the crowdfunding campaign to tell the story of Kipepeo-Clothing and to meet lovely people along the way!
Stuttgart
17,927 €
2nd Funding goal 25,000 €
139
Fans
238
Supporters
16 days

Project

Funding period 03/08/2018 10:54 o'clock - 08/10/2018 23:59 o'clock
Realisation period November 2018
Funding goal reached 17,500 €
Upon successful funding of the first funding target, the new Kipepeo Kenya collection will be produced and printed in Nairobi.
2nd Funding goal 25,000 €
As soon as the first funding target is achieved, all additional money will be invested in the construction of a new school site at our new project in Nairobi.
Category Social Business

What is this project all about?

About Kipepeo:
Since 2008, Kipepeo-Clothing (“Butterfly” in Kiswahili) has been creating jobs and prospects in Tanzania through the production of clothing for adults, children and babies. The special feature of Kipepeo products are the motifs. All of them are created during regular school lessons at elementary schools in East Africa. The sale of these unique products supports the schools where the designs were created. Whether it is the construction of a kitchen or a computer room, you will find an overview of all realized projects here.

Kipepeo Goes Kenya
To celebrate its 10th anniversary, the butterfly will fly to the neighboring country Kenya, where we will also be producing organic textiles and thereby support a school for children with special needs in Nairobi in the future. You can find an insight into our new school project, where the motifs of our first Kenya collection were created, here.

Our New Project
The Songa Mbele Na Masomo (Progress through Education) Children Center is a day care center for children and adolescents with special needs from the Mukuru slums in Nairobi, Kenya. The center hosts and teaches 49 children with physical and mental disabilities, helping them and their families to maximize their mental, physical and emotional potential. The non-profit organization accompanies children and adolescents aged 3-17 years on their way to obtaining a public school diploma and helping them to become an active and independent part of society.

The disadvantaged children face many challenges in the slums. Often, they are trapped in their home in order to protect them from crime in the slums. In addition, they lack access to activities that make them part of society. The center offers children a place of refuge and a safe environment in which they can grow up like any other child.
In addition, the center supports 39 school drop-outs aged 10-17, who are reintegrated into the state school system through training programs, free teaching aids and tutoring.

How did the motives of the new collection come about?
At regular intervals, our project partner, the StarKids Initiative, provides trips to and around Nairobi to the children and families of "Songa Mbela na Masomo". The last trip was to a safari park adjacent to Nairobi and a city tour through the capital of Kenya. Following this special day, the children captured their experiences in drawings that have now found their way onto our new Kipepeo shirts.

Where´s the new collection produced?
Our new collection is made by our partner company, Kiboko Leisure Wear, on the outskirts of Nairobi. Established 25 years ago by Sabine Huester, the WFTO (World Fair Trade Organization) certified company "Kiboko" is still a showcase for human values and ethical business leadership. The employees benefit from fair living wages, medical care and education funds for their children. This video gives you an inside view of the work at Kiboko.

When purchasing our cotton (bio) and fabrics, we use our value chain in Tanzania, which we have been using for the last 7 years. The cotton is produced by the cooperative BioSustain in Singida. Here, organic-cotton is cultivated on rain-fed fields without the use of chemicals and pesticides, that can harm people and the environment. The cotton is then ginned in Singida and shipped to Arusha, where our partner company Sunflag ltd. is spinning cotton into yarn and fabric.

Kipepeo-Clothing and our partners in Tanzania are GOTS certified. License No. 25523

You can find a detailed insight into our value chain in our movie “Safari Ya T-Sheti - the journey of a T-Shirt”.

Why hitchhiking to Tanzania?
Kipepeo-Clothing has been able to continuously evolve and grow over the past decade as the story of Kipepeo-Clothing has been shared by many. Hitchhiking to Kenya overland embodies the spirit of this project, as we focus on meeting and trusting people. The trip is made by Kipepeo founder Martin and Sam from Kipepeo-Clothing U.K, who also met in Africa exactly 10 years ago.

The costs for this journey are covered by Martin and Sam themselves.


Fair Trade not Aid. What makes Kipepeo unique?
Kipepeo Clothing is not a charity organization. Kipepeo-Clothing is a socially oriented company that creates jobs in the textile industry through local value creation and production to support local school projects through the sale of these products. Through the Kipepeo Cycle, Kipepeo Clothing has followed the fundamental principles of fairness, ecology, sustainability and social responsibility.

Kipepeo- Clothing is involved in the production of its own products on an economic and political level in all its forms. We do not buy "wholesale" products, which are subsequently printed and sold, but are actively involved in the production process. Kipepeo-Clothing encourages workers with workshops on quality requirements of the European market which are held every year on the production site and on the cotton fields.

The Kipepeo cooperation projects are based on friendly relationships at eye level, which have grown steadily over the past 10 years.

We appreciate your support and if you accompany our trip!

What is the project goal and who is the project for?

The goal of Kipepeo-Clothing is to use the Kipepeo Cycle in Kenya, to establish long-term jobs and support other school projects in Kenya.

Kipepeo-Clothing products are for everyone! Whether young or old, anyone who is interested in a fair-made shirt with a unique history is right with us and can be part of this unique story!

We believe in products with attitude rather than prestige and friends instead of consumers.

Kipepeo products are more than just a fashion accessory. They are full of beauty and are the proof that even the pencil drawing of a child in Africa can change the world step by step and connect people!

Why would you support this project?

We appreciate any form of support! Whether it's buying a new Kipepeo product through this crowdfunding campaign, free support, or simply retelling our story!

Even after 10 years, Kipepeo- Clothing is a social enterprise that has remained true to itself and has grown slowly but steadily. We volunteered for Kipepeo for the first 7 years, in addition to a regular 40-hour week, and to this day we are 100% self-funded - which certainly was not always easy. Now Kipepeo has found its place in the world of fashion and we continue to do our best to make the fashion industry a little better. Kiipepeo-Clothing is a matter of the heart and a company that contributes to the strengthening of fair trade. In the meantime, we have grown into a small company that not only employs employees in Tanzania and Kenya but also in Germany.

How will we use the money if the project is successfully funded? 

We have divided our crowdfunding goal into two funding goals:

Production:
Upon successful financing of this project, the new Kipepeo Kenya collection will be produced and printed in Nairobi. The raw cotton (bio), from which later yarns and fabrics are produced, has already been sourced through the Kipepeo value chain in neighboring Tanzania, as no cotton (organic) is grown in Kenya. The assembly takes place in the WFTO certified manufactory Kiboko in Nairobi.

Social goals:
Should the first funding target be met to cover all costs of production, all additional donations will flow directly into the "Songa Mbele Donations Fund" without any deductions and will be invested in the construction of the new playground. Should more money be donated than necessary for the realization of this project, this money will be used to build another classroom.

A detailed statement of costs as well as the construction plans of this project can be found here.

Roadmap:

October 2017:

  • First project visit to "Songa Mbele na Masomo"


Nov 2017- Feb 2017:

  • Budget Planning and Implementation / Optimization of Textile Infrastructure in Kenya
  • Selection of the new Kipepeo motifs


March April:

  • Creation of patterns and pre-samples for women / men's shirts. Children and baby clothes
  • Selection of new shades and production of the 180 gsm single jersey fabric at Sunflag ltd in Arusha, Tanzania


May June:

  • Create pattern designs for allover prints by screen printing. [*]Creation of large format films and screens.


July:

  • Creation of product samples


August:

  • Production adults, children's and baby clothing


September October:

  • Import to Germany


November

  • Delivery of new collection


January 2019

  • Start implementation project "Schoolyard" Songa Mbele na Masoma.

Who are the people behind the project?

Martin Kluck (Gründer Kipepeo- Clothing)
Samuel Luke Bond (Kipepeo- Clothing)
Benson Kirago (Board Secretary Songa Mbele Na Masomo)
Esther Kamaara (Founder Star Kids Initiative)

Bei allen Fragen rund um unsere Kampagne könnt ihr uns gerne jederzeit unter [email protected] kontaktieren oder direkt via Facebook.

Legal notice
Kipepeo-Clothing
Martin Kluck
Friedrich-Scholer-Str. 11
70469 Stuttgart Deutschland

Umsatzsteuer-Identifikationsnummer gemäß §27 a Umsatzsteuergesetz: DE295627627

Cooperations

Kipepeo-Clothing wurde 2016 mit dem renommierten "Making a Difference Award" von Dr.Jane Goodall ausgezeichnet und ist seitdem eng mit dem Insitut verbunden. Seit 2018 ist Kipepeo Gründer Martin Kluck zudem Vorstandsmitglied. des Instituts.

About Startnext

Startnext is the largest crowdfunding platform for ideas, projects and startups in Germany, Austria and Switzerland. Entrepreneurs, inventors and creative people present their ideas and fund them with the support of many people.

Startnext statistics

57,852,193 € funded by the crowd
6,413 successful projects
900.000 users

Security

Is important to us, so we adhere to these standards:

  • Privacy protection under european law
  • Safe payments with SSL
  • Secure transactions by our trustee secupay AG
  • Verification of the starters under german law

Payment methods

The future belongs to the daring - discover new ideas or start your own project!

© 2010 - 2018 Startnext Crowdfunding GmbH

Projekte / Social Business
Nach 10 Jahren in Tansania erweitert sich Kipepeo- Clothing nach Kenia um mit der lokalen Herstellung von Bio-Bekleidung Arbeitsplätze zu schaffen und Schulen und Bildung in Kenia zu unterstützen. Die Motive dieser Kollektion entstanden während des regulären Schulalltags an einem Inklusionsprojekt in Nairobi. Um auf dieses Projekt aufmerksam zu machen, begibt sich ein Teil des Kipepeo- Teams während der Dauer der Crowdfunding Kampagne auf dem Landweg per Anhalter von Deutschland nach Kenia.
Stuttgart
20.844 €
25.000 € 2. Fundingziel
161
Fans
288
Unterstützer
Projekt erfolgreich

Projekt

Finanzierungszeitraum 03.08.18 10:54 Uhr - 08.10.18 23:59 Uhr
Realisierungszeitraum November 2018
Fundingziel erreicht 17.500 €
Bei erfolgreicher Finanzierung des ersten Fundingziels wird die neue Kipepeo Kenia Kollektion in Nairobi produziert und bedruckt.
2. Fundingziel 25.000 €
Sobald das erste Fundingziel erreicht ist, werden alle weiteren Beträge in den Bau eines neuen Schulgeländes an unserem neuen Projekt in Nairobi investiert.
Kategorie Social Business

Worum geht es in dem Projekt?

Über Kipepeo:
Seit dem Jahr 2008 schafft Kipepeo- Clothing (Schmetterling auf Kiswahili) durch die Herstellung von Erwachsenen, Kinder- und Babybekleidung Arbeitsplätze und Perspektiven in Tansania. Das Besondere an Kipepeo-Produkten sind die Motive. Sie alle entstehen während des regulären Schulunterrichts an Grundschulen in Ostafrika. Durch den Verkauf dieser einzigartigen Produkte werden die Schulen unterstützt, an denen die jeweiligen Motive gezeichnet wurden. Vom Bau einer Küche über einen Computerraum, findet ihr eine Übersicht aller realisierter Projekte sowie eine detailierte Dokumentation der Herstellung unserer Produkte direkt unter diesen Hyperlinks.

Kipepeo Goes Kenya
Zum 10-jährigen Jubiläum fliegt der Schmetterling weiter ins Nachbarland Kenia, wo wir in Zukunft ebenfalls Bio-Textilien herstellen und ein besonderes Inklusionsprojekt in Nairobi unterstützen werden. Einen Einblick in unser neues Schulprojekt, an dem auch die Motive unserer ersten Kenia Kollektion entstanden sind, findet ihr hier.

Unser neues Projekt:
Das Songa Mbele Na Masomo (Fortschritt durch Bildung) Children Center ist ein Tagesheim für Kinder und Jugendliche mit besonderen Bedürfnissen aus den Mukuru Slums in Nairobi, Kenia. Das Zentrum beherbergt und unterrichtet 49 Kinder mit körperlichen und geistigen Einschränkungen und hilft ihnen und ihren Familien dabei, ihr größtmögliches geistiges, körperliches- und emotionales Potenzial auszuschöpfen. Die Non- Profit Einrichtung begleitet die Kinder und Jugendlichen im Alter von 3-17 Jahren auf ihrem Weg einen staatlichen Schulabschluss zu erlangen und hilft ihnen dabei, ein aktiver und unabhängiger Teil der Gesellschaft zu werden.

Die benachteiligten Kinder werden in den Slums mit vielen Herausforderungen konfrontiert. Oftmals werden sie aus Mangel an Alternativen in ihren Häusern eingeschlossen um sie vor der Kriminalität in den Slums zu schützen. Darüber hinaus fehlt ihnen der Zugang zu Aktivitäten, die sie ein Teil der Gesellschaft werden lassen. Das Zentrum bietet den Kindern einen Ort der Zuflucht und eine sichere Umgebung, in der sie wie jedes andere Kind aufwachsen können.
Darüber hinaus unterstützt das Zentrum 39 SchulabbrecherInnen im Alter von 10-17 Jahren , die durch Fortbildungsprogramme, kostenlose Lehrmittel und Nachhilfeunterricht wieder in das staatliche Schulsystem integriert werden.

Wie entstanden die Motive der neuen Kollektion?
In regelmäßigen Abständen ermöglicht unser Projektpartner, die StarKids Initiative, den Kindern und Familien von „Songa Mbela na Masomo“ Ausflüge in und um Nairobi. Das letzte Ausflugsziel war der an Nairobi angrenzende Safaripark sowie eine Stadtrundfahrt durch die Hauptstadt Kenias. Im Anschluss an diesen besonderen Tag hielten die Kinder ihre Erlebnisse in Zeichnungen fest, die nun ihren Weg auf unsere neuen Kipepeo Shirts gefunden haben.

Wo werden die neuen Produkte produziert?
Unsere neue Kollektion ensteht bei unserem Partnerunternehmen, Kiboko Leisure Wear, am Stadtrand von Nairobi. Der WFTO (World Fair Trade Organization)-zertifizierte Betrieb "Kiboko" wurde vor 25 Jahren von der Auswanderin Sabine Huester gegründet und ist bis heute ein Vorzeigebetrieb in dem menschliche Werte und ethische Unternehmensführung großgeschrieben werden. Die MitarbeiterInnen profitieren von existenzsichernden Löhnen, medizinischer Versorgung sowie Ausbildungsfonds für ihre Kinder.Dieses Video gibt euch einen Einblick in die Arbeitsweise von Kiboko.

Für den Bezug unserer Baumwolle (Bio) und Stoffe nutzen wir unsere Wertschöpfungskette in Tansania, auf die wir seit nunmehr 7 Jahren zurückgreifen. Die Baumwolle stammt von der Kooperative BioSustain in Singida. Hier wird im kleinbäuerlichen Regenfeldbau Baumwolle kultiviert ohne die Verwendung von Chemikalien und Pestiziden, die Mensch und Umwelt Schaden können. Anschließend wird die Baumwolle in Singida entkernt und nach Arusha gebracht, wo in unserem Partnerunternehmen Sunflag ltd. die Baumwolle zu Garn gesponnen und Stoffe hergestellt werden.

Kipepeo- Clothing sowie unsere Partner in Tansania sind nach GOTS zertifiziert. License Nr. 25523

Einen detailierten Einblick in unserer Wertschöpfungskette zeigt euch unser Film Safari Ya T-Sheti, Die Reise eines T-Shirts.

Warum auf dem Landweg nach Kenia?
Kipepeo- Clothing konnte sich in den vergangenen zehn Jahren fortlaufend entwickeln und wachsen, da die Geschichte von Kipepeo-Clothing geteilt und weitererzählt wurde. Auf dem Landweg per Anhalter nach Kenia zu reisen verkörpert den Geist dieses Projekts ideal, da für uns die Begegnung mit und das Vertrauen in Menschen im Vordergrund steht. Die Reise treten Kipepeo Gründer Martin sowie Sam von Kipepeo- Clothing U.K an, die sich ebenfalls vor genau 10 Jahren in Afrika kennengelernt haben.

Die anfallenden Kosten für diese Reise tragen die Reisenden selbst.


Fair trade, not charity! Was macht Kipepeo einzigartig?
Kipepeo Clothing ist keine Charity Organisation. Kipepeo- Clothing ist ein sozial orientiertes Unternehmen, das durch lokale Wertschöpfung und Produktion Arbeitsplätze in der Textilindustrie schafft und durch den Verkauf dieser Produkte lokale Schulprojekte unterstützt. Kipepeo Clothing hat durch den Kipepeo-Cycle einen ganzheitlichen Ansatz des fairen Handelns geschaffen, der auf den grundliegenden Prinzipien von Fairness, Ökologie, Nachhaltigkeit und sozialer Verantwortung basiert.

Kipepeo- Clothing ist in jeglicher Form auf wirtschaftlicher und politischer Ebene in die Produktion der eigenen Produkte involviert. Wir beziehen keine „Großhandelsware“, die anschließend bedruckt und verkauft wird, sondern sind aktiv am Produktionsprozess beteiligt. Kipepeo- Clothing fördert ArbeiterInnen mit z.B. Workshops zu Qualitätsansprüchen des europäischen Marktes und ist jedes Jahr in der Produktionstätte sowie auf den Baumwollfeldern vor Ort.

Die Kipepeo Kooperationsprojekte basieren auf freundschaftlichen Beziehungen auf Augenhöhe, die in den letzten 10 Jahren beständig gewachsen sind.

Wir freuen uns über eure Unterstützung und wenn ihr unsere Reise begleitet!

Instagram: kipepeo.clothing
Facebook: kipepeo_clothing

Asanteni sana na salamu nyingi! Vielen Dank und viele Grüße sendet eurer
Kipepeo- Team

Was sind die Ziele und wer ist die Zielgruppe?

Das Ziel von Kipepeo- Clothing ist es, das Kipepeo- Prinzip in Kenia zu etablieren, damit langfristige Arbeitsplätze geschaffen werden und weitere Kipepeo-Schulprojekte in Kenia unterstützt werden können.

Produkte von Kipepeo-Clothing sind für jeden gedacht! Egal ob jung oder alt, jeder der sich für ein fair hergestelltes Shirt mit einer einzigartigen Geschichte interessiert ist bei uns richtig und kann Teil dieser einzigartigen Geschichte werden!

Für uns zählt: Produkte mit Haltung statt Prestige und Freunde statt Konsumenten!

Kipepeo- Produkte sind mehr als nur ein modisches Accessoire. Sie stecken voller Schönheit und sind der Beweis, dass selbst die Bleistiftzeichnung eines Kindes in Afrika die Welt ein kleines Stück verändern und Menschen miteinander verbinden kann!

Warum sollte jemand dieses Projekt unterstützen?

Wir freuen uns über jede Form der Unterstützung! Egal ob es durch den Kauf eines neuen Kipepeo- Produkts über diese Crowdfunding Kampagne, eine freie Unterstützung oder einfach durch das Weitererzählen unserer Geschichte ist!

Kipepeo- Clothing ist auch nach 10 Jahren ein Sozialunternehmen, das sich treu geblieben und langsam aber stetig gewachsen ist. Wir haben die ersten 7 Jahre ehrenamtlich an Kipepeo gearbeitet, neben einer regulären 40 Stunden Woche und sind bis zum heutigen Tag 100% eigenfinanziert und selbstbestimmt- das war sicherlich nicht immer einfach. Nun hat Kipepeo allerdings seinen Platz in der Welt der Mode gefunden und wir geben weiterhin unser Bestes die Modebranche ein Stück besser zu machen.

Kipepeo- Clothing ist eine Herzensangelegenheit und ein Unternehmen, das seinen Teil zur Stärkung des fairen Handels beiträgt. Mittlerweile sind wir zu einer kleinen Firma herangewachsen, die nicht nur Mitarbeiter in Tansania und Kenia sondern auch in Deutschland beschäftigt und so Perspektiven schafft.

Was passiert mit dem Geld bei erfolgreicher Finanzierung?

Unser Crowdfundingziel haben wir in zwei Fundingziele unterteilt:

Produktion:
Bei erfolgreicher Finanzierung dieses Projektes wird die neue Kipepeo Kenia Kollektion in Nairobi produziert und bedruckt. Der Bezug der Rohbaumwolle (Bio), aus der später Garne und dann fertige Stoffe entstehen, erfolgte bereits über die Kipepeo Wertschöpfungskette im Nachbarland Tansania, da in Kenia keine Baumwolle (Bio) angebaut wird. Die Konfektionierung erfolgt in der WFTO zertifizierten Manufaktur Kiboko in Nairobi.

Soziale Ziele:
Sollte das erste Fundingziel erreicht werden, damit alle Kosten der Produktion gedeckt sind, fließen alle zusätzlichen Spenden direkt und ohne Abzüge in den „Songa Mbele Spendenfonds“ und werden umgehend in den Bau des neuen Spielplatzes investiert. Sollten mehr Gelder gespendet werden als für die Realisierung dieses Projekts nötig sind, wird dieses Geld für den Bau eines weiteren Klassenraums verwendet.

Eine genaue Kostenaufstellung sowie die bereits erstellten Baupläne dieses Projekts findet ihr hier.

Roadmap:

Oktober 2017:

  • Erster Projektbesuch bei „Songa Mbele na Masomo“


Nov 2017- Feb 2017:

  • Budget Planung und Umsetzung/Optimierung der Textilen- Infrastruktur in Kenia
  • Auswahl der neuen Kipepeo- Motive


März/ April:

  • Erstellung Schnittmuster und Pre-samples für Damen/ Herrenshirts. Kinder-und Babybekleidung
  • Auswahl neuer Farbtöne und Herstellung des 180 gsm Single Jersey Stoffs bei Sunflag ltd in Arusha, Tanzania


Mai- Juni:

  • Erstellung von Pattern- Designs für Allover Prints im Siebdruck verfahren.
  • Erstellung von großformatigen Filmen und Sieben.


Juli:

  • Erstellung der Produktmuster


August:

  • Produktion Erwachsenen, Kinder- und Babybekleidung


September- Oktober:

  • Import nach Deutschland


November

  • Auslieferung neue Kollektion


Januar 2019

  • Beginn Umsetzung Projekt „Schulhof“ Songa Mbele na Masoma.

Wer steht hinter dem Projekt?

Martin Kluck (Gründer Kipepeo- Clothing)
Samuel Luke Bond (Kipepeo- Clothing)
Benson Kirago (Board Secretary Songa Mbele Na Masomo)
Esther Kamaara (Founder Star Kids Initiative)

Bei allen Fragen rund um unsere Kampagne könnt ihr uns gerne jederzeit unter [email protected] kontaktieren oder direkt via Facebook.

Impressum
Kipepeo-Clothing
Martin Kluck
Friedrich-Scholer-Str. 11
70469 Stuttgart Deutschland

Umsatzsteuer-Identifikationsnummer gemäß §27 a Umsatzsteuergesetz: DE295627627

Kooperationen

Kipepeo-Clothing wurde 2016 mit dem renommierten "Making a Difference Award" von Dr.Jane Goodall ausgezeichnet und ist seitdem eng mit dem Insitut verbunden. Seit 2018 ist Kipepeo Gründer Martin Kluck zudem Vorstandsmitglied. des Instituts.

Über Startnext

Startnext ist die größte Crowdfunding-Plattform für Ideen, Projekte und Startups in Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz. Gründer, Erfinder und Kreative stellen ihre Ideen vor und finanzieren sie mit der Unterstützung von vielen Menschen.

Startnext Statistik

58.612.679 € von der Crowd finanziert
6.507 erfolgreiche Projekte
1.050.000 Nutzer

Sicherheit

Ist uns wichtig, deshalb halten wir uns an diese Standards:

  • Datenschutz nach europäischem Recht
  • Sichere Bezahlung mit SSL
  • Sichere Transaktionen über unseren Treuhänder secupay AG
  • Legitimation der Starter nach deutschem Recht

Bezahlmethoden

Die Zukunft gehört den Mutigen - entdecke neue Ideen oder starte dein Projekt!

© 2010 - 2018 Startnext Crowdfunding GmbH