Projekte / Movie / Video
From May 29 to June 3, 2018, we can say once more: Raise the curtain for Nippon Connection! Throughout six days, we will present cinema, art, and culinary specialties from Japan in Frankfurt am Main for the eighteenth time. Are you looking for exciting films, electrifying concerts, and inspiring workshops? Or do you feel like having some sushi, ramen, and matcha cake? Then help us realize a festival with a unique atmosphere and many fascinating events!
Frankfurt am Main
8,256 €
10,000 € 2nd Funding goal
112
Fans
152
Supporters
Project successful

Project

Funding period 02/12/2017 11:49 o'clock - 14/01/2018 23:59 o'clock
Realisation period 29/5/2018 – 3/6/2018
Funding goal reached 7,000 €
2nd Funding goal 10,000 €
For 7,000 € we can invite seven filmmakers and artists from Japan and reimburse their flight and hotel expenses.
For 10,000 € we can invite ten filmmakers and artists from Japan and reimburse their flight and hotel expenses.
City Frankfurt am Main
Category Movie / Video

What is this project all about?

It all started in the year 2000, when the Nippon Connection Film Festival, organized by students from Frankfurt’s Goethe University, first welcomed its guests and visitors. Nobody expected that, over the years, Nippon Connection would become the biggest festival for Japanese cinema worldwide. Today, the program regularly consists of more than 100 films and around 40 cultural events. The six locations include the festival centers Künstlerhaus Mousonturm and Theater Willy Praml in der Naxoshalle, as well as the German Film Museum, the Mal Seh'n Kino, the Theater Die Käs, and Ausstellungsraum Eulengasse.

Much has changed since the beginnings. Not only did the festival become larger and move away from its original location, but the organization team also developed professional structures without which the realization of events on such a scale (with more than 16,500 visitors!) would not be possible. However, the main objectives are still the same: to spark curiosity for Japanese culture, to inspire fascination for Japanese cinema, and last but not least: to bring people together!

What is the project goal and who is the project for?

Nippon Connection wants to present a diverse selection of Japanese films. Be it the latest blockbusters or independent productions, edgy animation or interesting documentary films – the majority of films in our line-up are usually not available anywhere else in Germany, whether in movie theaters or on TV or DVD.

Nippon Connection wants to offer a platform for the direct exchange between filmmakers and the audience. Every year, numerous guests from the Japanese film industry come to the festival in order to present their films, answer questions, and take in the feedback from the visitors.

Nippon Connection wants to create a unique atmosphere, foster encounters, and enable discoveries – not only for cinephiles, but also for shiatsu enthusiasts, tea gourmets, origami fans, and and and…

Why would you support this project?

Even if it’s largely based on voluntary activities – a festival like Nippon Connection does not work without: money. These are some of the expenses that we have every year:

  • Screening fees and transportation costs for the films
  • (approx. 20,000 €)
  • Travel costs for filmmakers and artists (approx. 13,000 €)
  • Rental fees for projection, sound, and other technical equipment
  • (approx. 30,000 €)
  • Artists’ fees and equipment costs for cultural events
  • (approx. 5,000 €)
  • Rental fees for our office, storerooms, and festival locations
  • (approx. 27,000 €)

Add to that printing fees, costs for accounting, security, cleaning, and much more.

We do receive grants from the Federal State of Hesse and the City of Frankfurt, and we also have some sponsors. Still, financing the festival remains hard work. We are currently concerned about a rather substantial deficit caused by the withdrawal of various sponsors. Moreover, we are organizing our crowdfunding campaign without the financial support of Aventis Foundation this time.

That’s why we urgently need your help in order to maintain the rich variety offered by Nippon Connection! Support us, make sure to get some of our unique rewards, and tell all your family and friends about our project!

How will we use the money if the project is successfully funded? 

Nippon Connection provides cultural work recognized for its public utility. We do not make any profits from the festival. The money that we collect during this crowdfunding campaign will be invested entirely in the festival.

Without our Japanese guests, Nippon Connection would not be imaginable. With your support, we can invite filmmakers and artists from Japan and reimburse their hotel and travel expenses.

Who are the people behind the project?

The festival is organized on a voluntary basis by the non-profit Nippon Connection registered association, with only a handful of salaried employees and freelancers. We are a team of around 70 members of all ages who sacrifice their spare time and who support the festival wholeheartedly. During the festival, we are assisted by more than 100 additional volunteers.

Who writes forty e-mails in the middle of the night? Who regularly attends team meetings on Sunday afternoons? Your Nippon Connection team, of course. Because there is always a lot of work to do... :)

Marion Klomfass is the festival director and one of the co-founders. She was already fascinated by Japanese films while still a student of theater, film, and media studies. She too works for Nippon Connection on a voluntary basis, her main occupation being an editor for TV programs.

Legal notice
Nippon Connection e.V.
Mircea Ogrin
c/o Atelierfrankfurt, Schwedlerstraße 1-5
60314 Frankfurt am Main Deutschland

UST-ID: DE 230 975 800
Steuernummer: 047 250 02227
Vereinsregister: VR 12178, Frankfurt am Main
Vertretungsberechtigte Personen: Mark Nennstiel, Marion Klomfaß, Veronika Depnering

Cooperations

Seit 2013 ist das renommierte Künstlerhaus Mousonturm in Frankfurt am Main Hauptveranstaltungsort und Kooperationspartner des Nippon Connection Festivals.

Das Theater Willy Praml in der Naxoshalle ist seit dem Jahr 2013 neben dem Künstlerhaus Mousonturm der Hauptveranstaltungsort von Nippon Connection.

Im Programmkino Mal Seh'n in Frankfurt zeigen wir die Wiederholungsvorstellungen des Filmprogramms.

About Startnext

Startnext is the largest crowdfunding platform for ideas, projects and startups in Germany, Austria and Switzerland. Entrepreneurs, inventors and creative people present their ideas and fund them with the support of many people.

Startnext statistics

56,862,440 € funded by the crowd
6,301 successful projects
900.000 users

Security

Is important to us, so we adhere to these standards:

  • Privacy protection under european law
  • Safe payments with SSL
  • Secure transactions by our trustee secupay AG
  • Verification of the starters under german law

Payment methods

The future belongs to the daring - discover new ideas or start your own project!

© 2010 - 2018 Startnext Crowdfunding GmbH

Login
Registrieren

Mit deiner Anmeldung akzeptierst du unsere Nutzungsbedingungen und Datenschutzbestimmungen.

Projekte / Film / Video
Vom 29. Mai bis 3. Juni 2018 heißt es wieder: Vorhang auf für Nippon Connection! An sechs Tagen präsentieren wir in Frankfurt am Main zum achtzehnten Mal Kino, Kunst und Kulinarisches aus Japan. Ihr seid auf der Suche nach spannenden Filmen, mitreißenden Konzerten und inspirierenden Workshops? Oder ihr habt Appetit auf Sushi, Ramen und Matcha-Kuchen? Dann helft uns, ein Festival mit einzigartiger Atmosphäre und vielen aufregenden Events auf die Beine zu stellen!
Frankfurt am Main
8.256 €
10.000 € 2. Fundingziel
112
Fans
152
Unterstützer
Projekt erfolgreich
 18. Nippon Connection Filmfestival

Projekt

Finanzierungszeitraum 02.12.17 11:49 Uhr - 14.01.18 23:59 Uhr
Realisierungszeitraum 29.5. – 3.6.2018
Fundingziel erreicht 7.000 €
2. Fundingziel 10.000 €
Für 7.000 € können wir sieben Filmemacher*innen und Künstler*innen aus Japan einladen und ihnen die Flug- und Hotelkosten zahlen.
Für 10.000 € können wir zehn Filmemacher*innen und Künstler*innen aus Japan einladen und ihnen die Flug- und Hotelkosten zahlen.
Stadt Frankfurt am Main
Kategorie Film / Video

Worum geht es in dem Projekt?

Im Jahr 2000 hat alles begonnen. Filmbegeisterte Student*innen luden an der Frankfurter Goethe-Universität zur ersten Ausgabe des Filmfestivals Nippon Connection ein. Was damals noch niemand ahnte: Über die Jahre hinweg ist aus Nippon Connection das weltweit größte Festival für japanisches Kino geworden. Mittlerweile umfasst das Programm mehr als 100 Filme und rund 40 Kulturveranstaltungen. Die sechs Veranstaltungsorte verteilen sich in Frankfurt am Main auf die Festivalzentren Künstlerhaus Mousonturm und Theater Willy Praml in der Naxoshalle sowie das Deutsche Filmmuseum, das Mal Seh'n Kino, das Theater Die Käs und den Ausstellungsraum Eulengasse.

Viel hat sich seit den Anfängen verändert. Das Festival ist nicht nur umgezogen und größer geworden, sondern es wurden auch professionelle Strukturen aufgebaut, ohne die das Organisieren von Events dieser Größenordnung (mit über 16.500 Besucher*innen!) nicht möglich ist. Doch in der Hauptsache geht es uns immer noch darum, Neugierde auf japanische Kultur zu wecken, Begeisterung für japanisches Kino zu entfachen, und vor allem: Menschen zusammenzubringen!

Was sind die Ziele und wer ist die Zielgruppe?

Nippon Connection will eine vielfältige Auswahl an japanischen Filmen präsentieren. Seien es die neuesten Blockbuster oder Independent-Produktionen, ausgefallene Animes oder interessante Dokumentarfilme – die Mehrzahl der Filme in unserem Programm gibt es in Deutschland sonst nicht im Kino, TV oder auf DVD zu sehen.

Nippon Connection will eine Plattform für den direkten Austausch zwischen Filmschaffenden und Publikum bieten. Zahlreiche Gäste aus der japanischen Filmbranche reisen jedes Jahr zum Festival an, um ihre Filme vorzustellen, Fragen zu beantworten und das Feedback der Zuschauer*innen mitzunehmen.

Nippon Connection will eine ganz besondere Atmosphäre schaffen, Entdeckungen und Begegnungen ermöglichen – nicht nur für Kino-Liebhaber*innen, sondern auch für Shiatsu-Enthusiast*innen, Tee-Gourmets, Origami-Fans und, und, und...

Warum sollte jemand dieses Projekt unterstützen?

Bei allem ehrenamtlichen Engagement funktioniert auch ein Festival wie Nippon Connection nicht ohne: Geld. Dies sind einige Kosten, die wir jedes Jahr haben:

  • Aufführungsgebühren und Transportkosten für die Filme
  • (ca. 20.000 €)
  • Reisekosten für Filmemacher*innen und Künstler*innen
  • (ca. 13.000 €)
  • Mietkosten für Kinoprojektoren, Tonanlagen und Veranstaltungstechnik (ca. 30.000 €)
  • Gagen und Materialkosten für die Culture-Veranstaltungen (ca. 5.000 €)
  • Mietkosten für unser Büro, Lagerräume und die Veranstaltungsorte
  • (ca. 27.000 €)

Dazu kommen noch Druckkosten, Buchhaltung, Security, Reinigungskosten und vieles mehr.

Vom Land Hessen, von der Stadt Frankfurt und von diversen Sponsoren erhalten wir zwar Fördermittel, die wir jedes Jahr hart erkämpfen müssen, doch eine größere Finanzierungslücke für das Festival 2018 bereitet uns gerade schlaflose Nächte. Einige Sponsorengelder sind weggefallen, und darüber hinaus bestreiten wir dieses Mal unsere Crowdfunding-Kampagne ohne die Zuschüsse der Aventis Foundation.

Wir benötigen daher eure Unterstützung besonders dringend, um Nippon Connection in seiner ganzen Vielfalt weiterführen zu können! Macht mit, sichert euch unsere einzigartigen Dankeschöns und erzählt allen euren Verwandten, Freund*innen und Bekannten von unserem Projekt!

Was passiert mit dem Geld bei erfolgreicher Finanzierung?

Nippon Connection leistet kulturelle, als gemeinnützig anerkannte Arbeit. Wir erzielen durch das Festival keinerlei Gewinne. Das Geld, das wir mit diesem Crowdfunding-Projekt sammeln, werden wir komplett in das Festival investieren.

Nippon Connection wäre ohne unsere japanischen Gäste nicht vorstellbar. Mit eurer Unterstützung möchten wir Filmemacher*innen und Künstler*innen aus Japan einladen und ihnen die Flug- und Hotelkosten zahlen.

Wer steht hinter dem Projekt?

Das Festival wird ehrenamtlich vom gemeinnützigen Verein Nippon Connection e.V. organisiert, unterstützt von einer Handvoll Honorarkräften. Wir sind ein Team mit rund 70 Mitgliedern, quer durch alle Altersschichten, die für das Festival ihre Freizeit opfern und mit ganz viel Herzblut bei der Sache sind. Dazu kommen während des Festivals noch über 100 freiwillige Helfer*innen.

Wer schreibt nachts um drei noch vierzig E-Mails? Wer ist regelmäßig sonntags von 11-18 Uhr bei Teamsitzungen? Euer Nippon Connection Team natürlich. Denn es ist immer viel zu tun... :)

Festivalleiterin und Mitbegründerin ist Marion Klomfass, die schon während ihres Studiums der Theater-, Film- und Medienwissenschaft fasziniert von japanischen Filmen war. Auch sie arbeitet ehrenamtlich für Nippon Connection und ist hauptberuflich Cutterin beim Fernsehen.

Impressum
Nippon Connection e.V.
Mircea Ogrin
c/o Atelierfrankfurt, Schwedlerstraße 1-5
60314 Frankfurt am Main Deutschland

UST-ID: DE 230 975 800
Steuernummer: 047 250 02227
Vereinsregister: VR 12178, Frankfurt am Main
Vertretungsberechtigte Personen: Mark Nennstiel, Marion Klomfaß, Veronika Depnering

Partner

Seit 2013 ist das renommierte Künstlerhaus Mousonturm in Frankfurt am Main Hauptveranstaltungsort und Kooperationspartner des Nippon Connection Festivals.

Das Theater Willy Praml in der Naxoshalle ist seit dem Jahr 2013 neben dem Künstlerhaus Mousonturm der Hauptveranstaltungsort von Nippon Connection.

Im Programmkino Mal Seh'n in Frankfurt zeigen wir die Wiederholungsvorstellungen des Filmprogramms.

Über Startnext

Startnext ist die größte Crowdfunding-Plattform für Ideen, Projekte und Startups in Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz. Gründer, Erfinder und Kreative stellen ihre Ideen vor und finanzieren sie mit der Unterstützung von vielen Menschen.

Startnext Statistik

50.851.331 € von der Crowd finanziert
5.684 erfolgreiche Projekte
900.000 Nutzer

Sicherheit

Ist uns wichtig, deshalb halten wir uns an diese Standards:

  • Datenschutz nach deutschem Recht
  • Sichere Bezahlung mit SSL
  • Sichere Transaktionen über unseren Treuhänder Secupay AG
  • Legitimation der Starter nach deutschem Recht

Bezahlmethoden

Die Zukunft gehört den Mutigen - entdecke neue Ideen oder starte dein Projekt!

© 2010 - 2018 Startnext Crowdfunding GmbH