Crowdfunding finished
Football shapes our society. Now it's our turn, as a society, to shape football and change it in a sustainable way. We as the people should be able to decide what we consume. Are you against FIFA, against the commercialisation of sport and for a fairer and more respectful world of sport? Then you've come to the right place! In winter 2022, the ASAP Global Cup will be held in Leipzig and on the internet - the first real alternative to the FIFA World Cup.
4,459 €
Fundingsum
87
Supporters
Privacy notice
Privacy notice
 The alternative to the World Cup: The Global Cup

About this project

Funding period 12/6/21 12:00 PM - 2/5/22 11:59 PM
Realisation 21.11. - 18.12.2022
Start level 100,000 €

The goal is to raise 1 million euros. We use 50% of the money for the planning and realisation of the tournament. The other 50% will be donated.

Category Sport
City Leipzig

Project description show hide

What is this project all about?

We want to organize an alternative to the FIFA World Cup 2022 that positions itself against the commercialisation and pressure to perform of top-class sport. Parallel to the World Cup in Qatar, 16 teams with at least 15 players will have the opportunity to play for four weeks in Leipzig for the ASAP Global Cup 2022. The games will be played at the same time as the FIFA World Cup to create a real alternative for football fans and consumers.

On the pitch, on the sidelines, in the audience and on the internet, we want to generate a safer space in football that does not (yet) exist in today's stadiums. In addition, the ASAP Global Cup is a tournament without the binary gender division, so it is not a men's or women's tournament. Neither origin, gender, sexual orientation nor religious affiliation are decisive for who participates as a player in the tournament. Our explicit concern is to offer a platform to people beyond the cis-male ideal suggested by professional football.

Via free livestream or on site, the audience is offered an equal tournament atmosphere, which is guaranteed by exciting pre-reports, critical half-time analyses and authentic live commentary , among other things.

Political education is a crucial part of the project. The expressed aim is to expose and discuss the structural problems of FIFA and professional football. In order to implement this, there will be workshops, panel discussions and the like in addition to the matches, where speakers and fans can exchange ideas.

What is the project goal and who is the project for?

We want to offer an alternative to the FIFA World Cup in Qatar so that consumers can choose which games they support.

In doing so, togetherness is important. You can support:

  • by actively participating in the tournament as an athlete
  • as a spectator live in the stadium or in front of the screen
  • as a supporter in the field of journalism, media, marketing, etc.

Exciting pre-match reports, classic half-time analyses and critical interviews after the match are intended to bring the atmosphere of the tournament to the viewers' screens.

You can find more information at www.globalcup.de

Why would you support this project?

We love playing football and all the wonderful things that come with this passion. But we are shocked by the current state of paid men's football. The World Cup in Qatar is the culmination of a questionable development over the last 20 years.
FIFA has lost its moral compass. Despite important commitments in countries of the Global South as well as investments in infrastructures and the hosting of tournaments that unite the whole world, the association has manoeuvred itself into the sidelines through corruption reports of high-ranking officials and the toleration of human rights violations. In addition, the impression has arisen in recent years that the idea of profit is paramount in the federation.

We want to free ourselves from the shock and individual powerlessness and go beyond the boycott to oppose the model of professional football.

You're a football fan and you're fed up too?

You have nothing to do with football, but want to improve the world a little bit?
No matter what the case may be, you are cordially invited to join in!

The realisation of this tournament would not only be an active protest against the latest developments in modern football, but also a positive signal to grassroots and amateur football. And through the donations collected, we can directly create a small impetus together.

How will we use the money if the project is successfully funded? 

Social sustainability, pitch rental or technical costs - in our capitalised society, almost everything can only be provided through monetary means. We want to run the Global Cup without external sponsors or advertising, so we rely on donations.

Our tournament idea is based on a non-profit basis. Depending on how well the crowdfunding goes, we will be able to implement our ideas. Any money that is available beyond that will be donated to NGOs and clubs that work to improve the humanitarian situation in Qatar and grassroots sport in Germany.

The goal is to get € 500,000 for tournament funding and € 500,000 for donations.
The €500,000 is made up as follows:
- 250.000 € are planned for personnel costs; in order to be able to guarantee a fair payment for all participants, so that nobody is exploited
- b]120.000 € are calculated for the technical equipment of the livestream, in order to be able to carry out the livestream in a professional and high-quality way.
- the remaining 130,000 € are earmarked for the realisation of the event, e.g. for pitch rental, jerseys or other equipment.

Who are the people behind the project?

We are a group of young students and good friends from Leipzig. Together we have joined forces as ASAP (Amateur Sports Against Profit) to combine sports entertainment and political education in the ASAP Global Cup. You want a detailed description of us? You can find out more in our profiles and on our website. You have questions, comments or criticism? Please leave us a message, we are grateful for all hints and comments.

Support now 

Discover more projects

share
The alternative to the World Cup: The Global Cup
www.startnext.com

This video is played by YouTube. By clicking on the play button, you agree to the transfer of necessary personal data (e.g. your IP address) to Google Inc (USA) as the operator of YouTube. For more information on the purpose and scope of data collection, please see the Startnext privacy policy. Learn more

Crowdfunding beendet
Der Fußball prägt unsere Gesellschaft. Jetzt sind wir dran, als Gesellschaft, den Fußball zu prägen und nachhaltig zu verändern. Wir Menschen sollten entscheiden können, was wir konsumieren. Du bist gegen die FIFA, gegen die Kommerzialisierung des Sports sowie für eine gerechtere und achtsame Sportwelt? Dann bist Du bei uns genau richtig! Im Winter 2022 wird in Leipzig und im Internet der ASAP Global Cup ausgetragen - die erste echte Alternative zur FIFA-Weltmeisterschaft.
4.459 €
Fundingsumme
87
Unterstütz­er:innen

Über das Projekt

Finanzierungszeitraum 06.12.21 12:00 Uhr - 05.02.22 23:59 Uhr
Realisierungszeitraum 21.11. - 18.12.2022
Startlevel 100.000 €

Ziel ist es, 1 Millionen Euro zu sammeln. 50% des Geldes verwenden wir für die Planung und Umsetzung des Turniers. Die anderen 50% werden gespendet.

Kategorie Sport
Stadt Leipzig

Projektbeschreibung anzeigen ausblenden

Worum geht es in dem Projekt?

Wir möchten eine Alternative zur FIFA-WM 2022 organisieren, die sich gegen die Kommerzialisierung und den Leistungsdruck des Spitzensports positioniert. Parallel zur Weltmeisterschaft in Katar werden vier Wochen lang 16 Teams mit mindestens 15 Spieler*innen die Möglichkeit haben, in Leipzig um den ASAP Global Cup 2022 zu spielen. Die Spiele werden zeitgleich zu den Partien der FIFA-Weltmeisterschaft ausgetragen, um eine reale Alternative für Fußballfans und Konsument*innen zu schaffen.

Auf dem Platz, am Spielfeldrand, im Publikum und im Internet wollen wir einen safer space im Fußball generieren, den es in den heutigen Stadien (noch) nicht gibt. Zudem handelt es sich beim ASAP Global Cup um ein Turnier ohne die binäre Geschlechtereinteilung, es ist also kein Herren- oder Frauen-Turnier. Weder Herkunft, Geschlecht, sexuelle Orientierung oder Religionszugehörigkeit sind ausschlaggebend, wer als Spieler*in an dem Turnier teilnimmt. Unser explizites Anliegen ist es, auch Menschen jenseits des vom Profifußball suggerierten cis-männlichen Ideals eine Plattform zu bieten.

Per kostenlosem Livestream oder vor Ort wird dem Publikum ein ebenbürtige Turnieratmosphäre geboten, welche unter anderem durch spannende Vorberichtserstattungen, kritische Halbzeitanalysen und authentische Live-Kommentierung gewährleistet wird.

Politische Bildungsarbeit stellt einen entscheidenden Teil des Projektes dar. Das ausgesprochene Ziel ist es, die strukturellen Probleme der FIFA und des Profifußballs aufzudecken und zu diskutieren. Um das umzusetzen, wird es neben den Spielen Workshops, Podiumsdiskussionen und ähnliches geben, bei denen sich Referent*innen und Fans austauschen können.

Was sind die Ziele und wer ist die Zielgruppe?

Wir möchten eine Alternative zur FIFA WM in Katar bieten, damit Konsument*innen sich aussuchen können, welche Spiele sie unterstützen.

Dabei ist das Miteinander wichtig. Ihr könnt unterstützen:

  • durch die aktive Teilnahme am Turnier als Sportler*in
  • als Zuschauer*in live im Stadion oder vor dem Bildschirm
  • als Supporter*in im Bereich Journalismus, Medien, Marketing, etc.

Spannende Vorberichterstattungen, klassische Halbzeitanalysen und kritische Interviews nach dem Spiel sollen den Zuschauer*innen die Stimmung des Turniers auch auf die Bildschirme bringen.

Weitere Informationen findest du auf www.globalcup.de

Warum sollte jemand dieses Projekt unterstützen?

Wir lieben es, Fußball zu spielen und all das Wunderbare, was mit dieser Leidenschaft zusammenhängt. Doch wir sind schockiert über die aktuellen Zustände im bezahlten Herrenfußball. Die WM in Katar ist der Höhepunkt einer fragwürdigen Entwicklung der letzten 20 Jahre.
Die FIFA hat den moralischen Kompass verloren. Trotz wichtiger Engagements in Ländern des Globalen Südens sowie Investitionen in Infrastrukturen und der Austragung von Turnieren, die die ganze Welt eint, hat sich der Verband durch Korruptionsberichte von hochrangigen Funktionär*innen und der Duldung von Menschenrechtsverletzung ins Abseits manövriert. Zudem ist in den letzten Jahren der Eindruck entstanden, dass der Profitgedanke im Verband über allem steht.

Wir wollen uns aus der Schockstarre und der individuellen Ohnmacht lösen und über den Boykott hinaus dem Modell des Profifußballs etwas entgegenstellen.

Du bist Fußballfan und hast auch die Schnauze voll?

Du hast mit Fußball nichts am Hut, aber möchtest die Welt ein kleines bisschen verbessern?
Egal, was zutrifft: Du bist herzlich eingeladen, mitzumachen!

Die Umsetzung dieses Turnier wäre nicht nur ein aktiver Protest gegen die jüngsten Entwicklungen des modernen Fußballs, sondern auch ein positives Signal an den Breiten- und Amateurfußball. Und durch die gesammelten Spenden können wir gemeinsam direkt einen kleinen Anstoss schaffen.

Was passiert mit dem Geld bei erfolgreicher Finanzierung?

Soziale Nachhaltigkeit, Platzmiete oder Technikkosten – in unserer kapitalisierten Gesellschaft ist nahezu alles nur durch monetäre Mittel bereitzustellen. Wir wollen den Global Cup ohne externe Sponsoren oder Werbung durchführen, daher sind wir auf Spenden angewiesen.

Unsere Turnier-Idee basiert auf einer non-profit Basis. Je nachdem wie gut das Crowdfunding läuft, werden wir unsere Ideen umsetzen können. Alles Geld, was darüber hinaus zur Verfügung steht, werden wir an NGOs und Vereine spenden, die sich für eine Verbesserung der humanitären Lage in Katar und dem Breitensport in Deutschland einsetzen.

Ziel ist es, 500.000 € für die Turnierfinanzierung zu erhalten und 500.000 € für Spenden.
Die 500.000 € setzen sich wie folgt zusammen:
- 250.000 € sind für Personalkosten eingeplant; um eine faire Bezahlung aller Mitwirkenden garantieren zu können, sodass niemand ausgenutzt wird
- 120.000 € sind für für die Technik des Livestreams kalkuliert, um den Livestream professionell und hochwertig durchführen zu können
- die restlichen 130.000 € sind für die Durchführung des Events vorgesehen, z.B. für die Platzmiete, die Trikots oder andere Ausrüstung.

Wer steht hinter dem Projekt?

Wir sind eine Gruppe junger Studierender und guter Freund*innen aus Leipzig. Zusammen haben wir uns als ASAP (Amateur Sports Against Profit) zusammengetan, um sportliches Entertainment und politische Bildungsarbeit im ASAP Global Cup zu einen. Ihr wollt eine detaillierte Beschreibung von uns? In unseren Profilen und auf unserer Website könnt ihr mehr erfahren. Ihr habt Fragen, Anmerkungen oder Kritik? Schreibt uns bitte, wir sind für alle Hinweise und Kommentare dankbar.

Unterstützen

Weitere Projekte entdecken

Teilen
Die Alternative zur Fußball-WM: Der Global Cup
www.startnext.com