Log in
Sign up

By signing up, you agree to our terms of use and our privacy policy.

Projekte / Literature
The historical tattoo-design album of tattooist Karl Finke (1866−1935), from Altona, Hamburg, is to be published. A bilingual text (German/English) will position the album within early twentieth-century tattooing and art history.
Hamburg
26,229 €
19,000 € Funding goal
57
Fans
248
Supporters
Project successful
 Buch No. 3

Project

Funding period 19/06/2017 09:31 o'clock - 31/07/2017 23:59 o'clock
Realisation period October/November 2017
Funding goal reached 19,000 €
City Hamburg
Category Literature

What is this project all about?

During an ongoing research project on the history of tattooing, with a focus on Christian Warlich (1891−1964), an album of designs by the Hamburg tattooist Karl Finke was stumbled upon at the Institut für Sächsische Geschichte und Volkskunde in Dresden. This album is now to be published in conjunction with an accompanying text. The volume has been conceived and designed in cooperation with the Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst, Leipzig.

- Length: approx. 168 pages
- 82 pages reproduce the Finke album (colour illustrations), including over 180 tattoo designs
- Published by Ole Wittmann through Nachlass Warlich (in-house) publisher
- ISBN 978-3-00-056648-6
- 16.5 x 24 cm, hardback
- Please note: the representations of the book shown here are not the final layouts. In the finished book, deviations from these designs may occur.

- Text by Cecilia De Laurentiis, introduction by Ole Wittmann.
- Texts bilingual (German/English)

ABSTRACT

Karl Finke ranks as one of the most important figures in German tattoo history. Together with Christian Warlich, he was one of the protagonists of the Hamburg tattoo scene in the first half of the twentieth century.
As with some of his American contemporaries, for Finke, practising the art of tattooing went hand in hand with working at circuses. Up until now, he has been described somewhat ambivalently. Among other things, as a professional sportsman, a ‘freak’, a passionate artist or an old-fashioned tattooer in decline. So it seems that everything there is to say about Finke has already been said. However, the recent rediscovery of his album of designs from the 1920s reveals new aspects of his work.
The text for Finke’s Buch No. 3 [Book No. 3] aims to function as an aid to analysing the album. Finke’s work is contextualized within cultural history, with a special focus on sideshow phenomena and tattooed attractions. Through an iconographic analysis of Finke’s drawings, Anglo-American influences on German tattooing are explored. Furthermore, there is a brief analysis of the role of the tattoo in the collective imagination of the Weimar Republic. This is based first and foremost on the interest of some of the Neue Sachlichkeit [New Objectivity] artists, in particular the German painter Otto Dix.


Biography

Cecilia De Laurentiis is a tattooist and art historian. She studied art history at the Sapienza University of Rome, graduating in 2016. She has worked in cooperation with the Fondazione Baruchello since 2011 and is the 2017 research fellow for the project Der Nachlass des Hamburger Tätowierers Christian Warlich (1891–1964) in Hamburg. This has been made possible by a grant from the Lazio region’s EU-funded programme Torno Subito.

For the biography of the editor, please see below.

What is the project goal and who is the project for?

The album of Karl Finke’s designs is being published in order to:

- Make it accessible to the public
- Make the research readily available

The target audience:

- People interested in tattooing
- Tattoo artists
- Collectors
- Researchers (e.g. art historians, cultural anthropologists, historians)
- Book lovers

Why would you support this project?

Neither tattoo aficionados nor academics were aware that an album of Karl Finke’s designs was still in existence.

The rediscovery of the album at the Institut für Sächsische Geschichte und Volkskunde is of great importance in terms of research into German tattoo history, especially since few comparable early twentieth-century hand-drawn albums of designs have survived.

Supporting this project allows us to publish and make accessible new discoveries regarding the history of tattooing.

How will we use the money if the project is successfully funded? 

The following costs will be incurred during the creation of the book:

- Book concept and design
- reproductions (photos of Finke's flash book, 82 pages)
- image processing
- author's royalty
- translation
- transliteration
- lectorate
- video production
- image rights
- printing costs
- administration (ISBN etc.)
- courier costs
- production of rewards (pin, t-shirt, bag, flash)
- packing and shipping
- Startnext provision and transaction charge

Who are the people behind the project?

Ole Wittmann studied art history, social and cultural anthropology and sociology in Hamburg.

In 2015, he completed his doctorate on the human body as an image carrier for tattoos (see www.tattoos-in-der-kunst.de). From 2009 to 2012, he was a research associate at the Arno Schmidt Stiftung and in 2015/16 at the Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe, Hamburg. He is also active in the field of exhibitions and lectured at the University of Hamburg.

He is currently a postdoctoral scholarship holder at the Hamburger Stiftung zur Förderung von Wissenschaft und Kultur and is researching the estate of the tattooist Christian Warlich (1891−1964) in cooperation with the Museum für Hamburgische Geschichte.

Legal notice
Nachlass Warlich
Dr. Ole Wittmann
Ericaweg 5
24558 Henstedt-Ulzburg Deutschland

www.nachlasswarlich.de

Partners

The design and realisation of the book is carried out in cooperation with the HGB.

The Institut für Sächsische Geschichte und Volkskunde e.V., Dresden, kindly provides Finke's flash book for the reproduction.

The book will be self published by Nachlass Warlich.

About Startnext

Startnext is the largest crowdfunding platform for ideas, projects and startups in Germany, Austria and Switzerland. Entrepreneurs, inventors and creative people present their ideas and fund them with the support of many people.

Startnext statistics

48,235,287 € funded by the crowd
5,407 successful projects
900.000 users

Security

Is important to us, so we adhere to these standards:

  • Privacy protection under german law
  • Safe payments with SSL
  • Secure transactions by our trustee secupay AG
  • Verification of the starters under german law

Payment methods

Funding creativity together - Discover new ideas or start your own project!

© 2010 - 2017 Startnext Crowdfunding GmbH

Login
Registrieren
Newsletter

Mit deiner Anmeldung akzeptierst du unsere Nutzungsbedingungen und Datenschutzbestimmungen.

Projekte / Literatur
Das historische Tattoo-Vorlagealbum des Tätowierers Karl Finke aus Hamburg-Altona (1866-1935) soll als Buch herausgegeben werden. Ein zweisprachiger Text (deutsch/englisch) wird das Album innerhalb der Tätowier- und Kunstgeschichte des frühen 20. Jahrhunderts verorten.
Hamburg
10.635 €
19.000 € Fundingziel
31
Fans
94
Unterstützer
34 Tage
 Buch No. 3

Projekt

Finanzierungszeitraum 19.06.17 09:31 Uhr - 31.07.17 23:59 Uhr
Realisierungszeitraum Oktober/November 2017
Fundingziel 19.000 €
Stadt Hamburg
Kategorie Literatur

Worum geht es in dem Projekt?

Im Rahmen eines laufenden Forschungsprojektes zur Geschichte der Tätowierung mit einem Fokus auf Christian Warlich (1891-1964) stieß man am Institut für Sächsische Geschichte und Volkskunde in Dresden auf ein Vorlagealbum des Hamburger Tätowierers Karl Finke. Dieses Buch soll nun in Verbindung mit einem begleitenden Text herausgegeben werden. Die Konzeption und Gestaltung des Bandes erfolgt in einer Kooperation mit der Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst Leipzig.

- Umfang ca. 168 Seiten
- davon 82 Seiten Reproduktion des Vorlagealbums von Finke (Farb-Abbildungen) mit über 180 Tattoo-Designs
- Herausgegeben von Ole Wittmann im (Eigen-) Verlag Nachlass Warlich.
- ISBN 978-3-00-056648-6
- 16,5 x 24 cm, Hardcover.
- Hinweis: Bei den hier gezeigten Darstellungen des Buches handelt es sich nicht um finale Layouts. Beim fertigen Buch sind Abweichungen von den hier dargestellten Entwürfen möglich.

- Beitrag von Cecilia De Laurentiis, Einführung von Ole Wittmann
- Texte zweisprachig (deutsch/englisch).

ABSTRACT

Karl Finke zählt zu einer der bedeutendsten Persönlichkeiten der deutschen Tätowiergeschichte. Zusammen mit Christian Warlich gilt er als Protagonist der Tattoo-Szene Hamburgs in der ersten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts.
Wie bei einigen seiner zeitgenössischen amerikanischen Kollegen ging das Ausüben des Tätowier-Handwerks bei Finke mit einer Arbeit im Zirkus einher. Bisher wurde er in ambivalenter Art und Weise beschrieben. Unter anderem als Profi-Sportler, ‚Freak‘, leidenschaftlicher Künstler oder Tätowierer vom alten Schlag im Begriff des Niedergangs. So scheint es, dass schon alles über Finke gesagt worden ist. Jedoch enthüllt die jüngste Wiederentdeckung seines Vorlagealbums der 1920er Jahre neue Aspekte seines Schaffens.
Der Text zu Finkes Buch No. 3 setzt sich zum Ziel, als Hilfe zur Analyse des Albums zu fungieren. Finkes Werk wird in der Kulturgeschichte kontextualisiert, mit einem besonderen Augenmerk auf Sideshow-Phänomene und tätowierte Attraktionen. Durch eine ikonographische Auseinandersetzung mit Finkes Zeichnungen werden angloamerikanische Einflüsse auf die deutsche Tätowierung ergründet. Des Weiteren wird in Kürze analysiert, welche Rolle Tätowierungen in der kollektiven Vorstellung der Weimarer Republik spielten. Vor allem anhand des Interesses von einigen Künstlern der Neuen Sachlichkeit, im Besonderen vom deutschen Maler Otto Dix.


Biografie

Cecilia De Laurentiis ist Tätowierern und Kunsthistorikern. Studium der Kunstgeschichte an der Universität La Sapienza Rom, Abschluss 2016. Mitarbeit in der Fondazione Baruchello von 2011 bis heute. 2017 Forschungsstipendiatin im Projekt „Der Nachlass des Hamburger Tätowierers Christian Warlich (1891–1964)“ in Hamburg, ermöglicht durch ein Stipendium des EU-geförderten Programms Torno Subito der Region Lazio.

Biografie des Herausgebers siehe unten.

Was sind die Ziele und wer ist die Zielgruppe?

Das Vorlagealbum von Karl Finke soll herausgebracht werden, um es für

- die Öffentlichkeit zugänglich
- und die Forschung leicht verfügbar zu machen.

Die Zielgruppen:

- Tattoo-Interessierte
- Tätowierer
- Sammler
- Forscher (z. B. Kunsthistoriker, Kulturanthropologen, Historiker)
- Buchliebhaber

Warum sollte jemand dieses Projekt unterstützen?

Weder Tattoo-Aficionados noch Wissenschaftlern war bekannt, dass ein Vorlagealbum von Karl Finke erhalten geblieben ist.

Die Neu-Entdeckung des Albums im Institut für Sächsische Geschichte und Volkskunde ist im Hinblick auf die Erforschung der deutschen Tattoo-Geschichte von großer Bedeutung, zumal aus der Zeit des frühen 20. Jahrhunderts wenige handgezeichnete Vorlagealben erhalten geblieben sind.

Eine Unterstützung dieses Projektes ermöglicht es, neue Erkenntnisse zur Geschichte der Tätowierung zu veröffentlichen und zugänglich zu machen.

Was passiert mit dem Geld bei erfolgreicher Finanzierung?

Folgende Kosten fallen bei der Umsetzung des Buches an:

- Buchgestaltung und Konzeption
- Reproduktionen (Fotografien des Vorlagealbums, 82 Seiten)
- Bildbearbeitung
- Autorenhonorar
- Übersetzung
- Transliteration
- Lektorat
- Produktion des Videos
- Bildrechte
- Druckkosten
- Administration (ISBN-Nummer etc.)
- Kuriere
- Produktion der 'Dankeschöns' (T-Shirt, Pin, Tasche, Flash)
- Versand und Verpackung
- Startnext-Provision und Transaktionsgebühren.

Wer steht hinter dem Projekt?

Ole Wittmann studierte Kunstgeschichte, Volkskunde/Kulturanthropologie und Soziologie in Hamburg.

2015 Promotion über den menschlichen Körper als Bildträger für Tätowierungen (siehe: www.tattoos-in-der-kunst.de). 2009 bis 2012 wissenschaftliche Mitarbeit bei der Arno Schmidt Stiftung, 2015/16 am Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe Hamburg. Weitere Tätigkeiten im Ausstellungswesen sowie als Lehrbeauftragter an der Universität Hamburg.

Derzeit ist er Postdoc-Stipendiat der Hamburger Stiftung zur Förderung von Wissenschaft und Kultur und forscht in Kooperation mit dem Museum für Hamburgische Geschichte zum Nachlass des Tätowierers Christian Warlich (1891–1964).

Impressum
Nachlass Warlich
Dr. Ole Wittmann
Ericaweg 5
24558 Henstedt-Ulzburg Deutschland

www.nachlasswarlich.de

Partner

Die Gestaltung und Umsetzung des Buches erfolgt in einer Kooperation mit der HGB.

Das Institut für Sächsische Geschichte und Volkskunde e.V., Dresden, stellt das Vorlagealbum von Karl Finke freundlicherweise für den Nachdruck zur Verfügung.

Der (Eigen-) Verlag, in dem das Buch erscheint.

Über Startnext

Startnext ist die größte Crowdfunding-Plattform für kreative und nachhaltige Ideen, Projekte und Startups in Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz. Künstler, Kreative, Erfinder und Social Entrepreneurs stellen ihre Ideen vor und finanzieren sie mit der Unterstützung von vielen Menschen.

Startnext Statistik

44.060.685 € von der Crowd finanziert
4.939 erfolgreiche Projekte
835.000 Nutzer

Sicherheit

Ist uns wichtig, deshalb halten wir uns an diese Standards:

  • Datenschutz nach deutschem Recht
  • Sichere Bezahlung mit SSL
  • Sichere Transaktionen über unseren Treuhänder Secupay AG
  • Legitimation der Starter nach deutschem Recht

Bezahlmethoden

Kreativität gemeinsam finanzieren - Entdecke neue Ideen oder starte dein Projekt!

© 2010 - 2017 Startnext Crowdfunding GmbH