Crowdfunding-feedback-phase
A series of interviews with storytellers from indigenous communities, international storytellers and cultural scientists, followed by workshops! Our query: How are stories transformed when they are crossing over cultural boundaries? Are there "red lines" we should be sensitive to? How can we as storytellers respect, preserve and honour the worldwide treasure of stories and tales? Can we nurture an international culture of exchange that explores these questions in a genuine a and transparent way?
Start level 15,000 €
Privacy notice
Privacy notice
 Cultural Awareness and Storytelling

About this project

Funding period 11/15/22 11:59 PM
Realisation 7/1/2023 to 6/30/2024
Start level 15,000 €

We will produce 5 interviews, 3 workshops and 4 communitycalls. The Crowdfunding is a prerequisite for further funding for in-depth interviews and a final event

Category Community
City München

Project description show hide

What is this project all about?

Stories are like shoes

Stories are like shoes: they just keep walking, depending on who puts them on. So stories travel across cultural borders with ease.
But how do they change in the process? What influences were the "story shoes" exposed to during their journey? If you think about this more deeply, you inevitably touch on our history, which includes colonialism as well as the repression of and crimes against indigenous communities, cultural minorities and much more.
To understand these contexts, we can delve into books and do research. But we can also work together across cultures, transcend borders and find new ways/approaches in the here and now.
The current debates show again and again how important it is to be in communication with each other instead of judging each other.
With this project, we want to sensibilise for the topic of cultural awareness in storytelling and let different voices of storytellers worldwide be heard. International networks among freelance storytellers are promoted and strengthened, and the public is reached both with the topic of storytelling and with the topic of cultural awareness.

  • For this purpose, we are creating a series of interviews that will be permanently available free of charge so that storytellers and interested parties can listen to them at any time.
  • - Following the interviews, we will offer workshops for storytellers as part of the project.
  • - This crowdfunding is also the basis for a more profound funding that will make a much larger series of interviews (up to twenty contributions instead of five) and a final live event in Munich possible: "Stories&Arts meets Cultural Awareness". We can only apply for these funds after the crowdfunding as secured own funds are necessary, so the project will not start directly after this crowdfunding, but on 1 July 2023.
  • - Regardless of further funding, five interviews and all workshop formats will be ensured through this crowdfunding.

Background on storytelling culture

There is a growing global community of professional storytellers. In Europe, this ancient art is currently experiencing a renaissance. Stories are once again travelling from mouth to ear and from ear to mouth - sometimes also from writing to mouth to ear and from ear to mouth to writing ...

Understanding as the key

Stories carry our narrative cultural heritage and are passed on across cultural barriers. They convey values, characteristics and symbols that are not immediately comprehensible everywhere. Developing an understanding for this is like a key that opens up an essential narrative space, which can be accessed and experienced again and again.
If this crowdfunding is successful, we are definetely in for exciting conversations and encounters!

Stories that create momentum/Stories that set impulses/Stories that capture

We storytellers from Europe come across tales that take a different and unfamiliar look at events, nature, animals or community. They broaden the horizon, speak to the heart, resonate and came from all over the world. They strike a chord in ourselves and our gut feeling is: these stories want to be told. Especially in the present time.
But can we do that without newly exploring and reframing the background? Without looking at the history of how these tales came to Europe? Without an intercultural exchange about the journey of the tales?
In the interviews of this crowdfunding, we would like to shed light on these inherent questions, recognise cultural differences as well as similarities, explore our own cultural imprints, build bridges.
We hope to meet from heart to heart and enrich the future with newly unfolded, widely travelled and deeply rooted stories.

Diversity of voices - not a single answer

We would like to contribute to the discussion around cultural awareness, decolonialism and change in society, seeking a diversity of voices - not a single answer. By celebrating diversity, we want to gain perspective on what is essential. We want to share these intercultural encounters with all those who love stories as much as we do.

Event in Munich

We also hope that further funding in 2024 will allow the event "Stories&Arts meets Cultural Awareness" in Munich to take place, to which we will invite some of the interviewees for a joint exchange, lectures, workshops and, of course, storytelling.


Interviews

Our interview partners are:

  • International storytellers and storytellers with indigenous backgrounds
  • Cultural scientists
  • Experts on cultural awareness, decolonialism, racism and related topics.
  • Authors of popular and widely told story collections

Community Calls

If you would like to accompany us throughout the interview year, experience our insights and reflections and help shape the project with your own ideas and wishes, you can participate in the quarterly community calls. We look forward to hearing from you!

Workshops

Our workshops for storytellers start when most of the interviews are already online: April and May 2024. We are looking forward to international guest lecturers. The workshops will have different thematic focuses, which we will develop together during the course of the project.
All events are in English. German-language contributions will be translated into English. If we receive funding from the German Federal Cultural Foundation, all events will be bilingual.

THE SCHEDULE

  • 15.11.2022 This successful crowdfunding with a strong community enables applications that expand and support the project.
  • December 2022 Co-funding from the City of Munich and other funding is applied for.
  • Jaunuar 2023 - Federal cultural funding is applied for.
  • May 2023 - Jury meets - a decision is made on the application.
  • June 2023 - if necessary, we look for further funding
  • 1 July 2023 - Start of the project on the scale possible at that time.

Depending on the amount of funding, five to twenty-five articles, interviews, audios, videos and blog posts are produced. We deepen our research, develop contacts, open up networking opportunities, intensify press work and are open to unexpected, inspiring developments.

  • 1 July 2023 to 31 June 2024 community calls (see thank-you notes) continuously deepen and enrich the project.
  • May 2024 the online seminars begin
  • June 2024 attendance workshop in Munich
  • 14-16 June 2024 with further funding: Stories&Arts meets Cultural Awareness
  • By the end of June 2024, the project will be completed and further ideas, networking between storytellers and associations and everything that wants to emerge from community calls, interviews and workshops will begin!


With your support you show that this topic is important and that a strong community stands behind us!

THANK YOU VERY MUCH!

What is the project goal and who is the project for?

This project is aimed at storytellers from all over the world.

And it is also aimed at all listeners, readers and lovers of stories.

Because this series of interviews about cultural awareness using the example of storytelling is relevant far beyond the borders of storytelling.

Why would you support this project?

Respectful, mindful interaction with each other, that's what cultural awareness means to us. Using storytelling as an example, we will explore ways in which global networking, cultural exchange and cultural awareness can be lived today and now. In a world that is changing and in motion.

Give us a sign with your support that this topic is important and that a strong community is behind us!

How will we use the money if the project is successfully funded? 

This crowdfunding has several functions:

1.) It makes the different workshops possible in any case.

2.) It ensures at least five interviews.

3.) It is the basis for larger funding applications that make much
more possible: more content, more research, more contacts, more exchange, more networking. more diversity.

Specifically:

  • even more thorough research and public relations work
  • a comprehensive series of videos, audios and blog articles that will be freely available on a permanent basis
  • the EVENT "Stories&Arts meets Cultural Awareness" in Munich as a final event.
Who are the people behind the project?

The Storybox München gUG.
It is a non-profit organisation and currently sponsors Kunst&Kulturkonserven and the podcast AndereGedanken. Free donations are tax deductible.

There is a growing team in this project. Here are the team members from the very beginning:

Artistic direction, interviews, workshops, audio and video editing.
Momo Heiß musician, storyteller and founder of Storybox München gUG

Cultural studies advice, translation, blog posts, workshops
Ursula Stroux, cultural scientist, storyteller and language lecturer

SPONSORSHIPS AND PRIZES

  • Innovation funding by the Association of Narrators VEE

In the following list you see the number of international Interview partners we have already contacted and who are willing to participate in the project. We will fill in their names after we send them this crowdfunding and they give us their final "go" (end of September)

[list]
  • .
  • .
  • .
  • Support now 

    Discover more projects

    share
    Cultural Awareness and Storytelling
    www.startnext.com

    This video is played by Vimeo. By clicking on the play button, you agree to the transfer of necessary personal data (e.g. your IP address) to Vimeo Inc (USA) as the operator of Vimeo. For more information on the purpose and scope of data collection, please see the Startnext privacy policy. Learn more

Crowdfunding-Feedbackphase
Eine Interviewreihe mit Erzähler*innen aus indigenen Gemeinschaften, internationalen Erzähler*innen und Kulturwissenschaftler*innen - und anschließend: Workshops! Unsere Fragen: Wie verwandeln sich Geschichten über Kulturgrenzen hinweg? Gibt es "rote Linien", für die wir sensibel sein sollten? Wie können wir als Erzähler*innen den weltweiten Geschichtenschatz achten, hüten und feiern? Können wir eine internationale Kultur des Austausches pflegen, die authentisch und offen diese Fragen bewegt.
Startlevel 15.000 €
Datenschutzhinweis
Datenschutzhinweis
 Cultural Awareness and Storytelling

Über das Projekt

Finanzierungszeitraum 15.11.22 23:59 Uhr
Realisierungszeitraum 1.7.2023 bis 30.6.2024
Startlevel 15.000 €

Es entstehen fünf bis dreißig* Interviews, zwei Workshops und vier Communitycalls. *Das Crowdfunding ist Voraussetzung für weitere Förderanträge.

Kategorie Community
Stadt München

Projektbeschreibung anzeigen ausblenden

Worum geht es in dem Projekt?

Geschichten sind wie Schuhe

Geschichten sind wie Schuhe: Sie laufen einfach weiter, je nachdem wer sie anzieht. So wandern die Geschichten mit Leichtigkeit über Kulturgrenzen hinweg.
Doch wie verändern sie sich dabei? Welchen Einflüssen waren die "Geschichtenschuhe" in der Vergangenheit bei ihrer Reise ausgesetzt? Wer darüber tiefer nachdenkt, berührt unweigerlich unsere Geschichte, die den Kolonialismus ebenso einschließt wie die Verdrängung von und Verbrechen an indigenen Gemeinschaften, kulturellen Minderheiten u.v.m.

Um diese Zusammenhänge zu verstehen, können wir Bücher wälzen und recherchieren. Wir können uns aber auch kulturübergreifend austauschen, uns über Grenzen hinweg begegnen und im hier und jetzt neue Wege finden.

Die aktuellen Diskussionen zeigen immer wieder, wie wichtig es ist, miteinander in Kommunikation zu sein.

Wir möchten mit diesem Projekt für das Thema Cultural Awareness beim Geschichtenerzählen sensibilisieren und verschiedene Stimmen von Storytellern weltweit hörbar machen. Internationale Netzwerke unter freien Erzähler*innen sollen dabei gefördert und gestärkt und die Öffentlichkeit sowohl mit dem Thema Storytelling als auch mit dem Thema Cultural Awareness erreicht werden.

  • Dafür entsteht eine Interviewreihe, die wir dauerhaft frei zu Verfügung stellen, damit Erzähler*innen und Interessierte jederzeit kostenfrei hineinhören können.
  • Im Anschluss zu den Interviews bieten wir im Rahmen des Projektes Workshops für Erzählende an.
  • Dieses Crowdfunding ist außerdem die Basis für einen Förderantrag, der eine weitaus größere Reihe von Interviews (statt fünf bis zu dreißig Beiträge) und ein Live-Abschluss-Event in München "Stories&Arts meets Cultural Awareness" möglich macht. Da wir diese Gelder erst im Anschluss an das Crowdfunding beantragen können (gesicherte Eigenmittel sind notwendig), beginnt das Projekt nicht direkt im Anschluss an dieses Crowdfunding, sondern am 1. Juli 2023
  • Unabhängig von weiteren Förderungen werden durch dieses Crowdfunding mindestens fünf Interviews und alle Workshopformate möglich.

Hintergrund zur Erzählkultur

Es gibt eine weltweit wachsende Gemeinschaft professioneller Erzähler*innen, die frei Geschichten erzählen. In Europa erfährt diese uralte Kunst derzeit eine Renaissance. Geschichten reisen so ganz ursprünglich wieder von Mund zu Ohr und von Ohr zu Mund - manchmal auch von Schrift zu Mund zu Ohr und von Ohr zu Mund zu Schrift ...

Verständnis als Schlüssel

Geschichten tragen unser narratives Kulturerbe und werden über Kulturgrenzen hinweg tradiert. Sie beinhalten Werte, Besonderheiten und Symbole, die nicht überall sofort verständlich sind. Dieses Verständnis zu entwickeln ist wie ein Schlüssel, der einen wesentlichen Raum der Geschichte öffnet und durch das freie Erzählen erlebbar wird.
Bei erfolgreichem Crowdfunding stehen uns also spannende Gespräche und Begegnungen bevor.

Geschichten, die Impulse setzen

Wir Erzählende aus Europa stoßen auf Geschichten, die einen anderen ungewohnten Blick auf Ereignisse, Natur, Tiere oder Gemeinschaft werfen. Sie erweitern den Horizont, erreichen das Herz, lösen Resonanz aus und kamen von überall her. Sie klingen eine Saite in uns an und unser Gefühl ist: Diese Geschichten wollen erzählt werden. Gerade in der jetzigen Zeit.

Doch können wir das, ohne die Hintergründe neu zu entdecken und einzuordnen? Ohne die Geschichte darüber, wie die Geschichten nach Europa kamen, zu betrachten? Ohne uns interkulturell über den Weg der Geschichten auszutauschen?

In den Interviews dieses Crowdfundings möchten wir Hintergründe beleuchten, kulturelle Unterschiede ebenso wie Gemeinsamkeiten erkennen, eigene kulturelle Prägungen erkunden, Brücken bauen.
Wir hoffen darauf, uns im Herzen zu begegnen und die Zukunft mit mit neu entfalteten, weit gereisten und tief verwurzelten Geschichten zu bereichern.

Stimmenvielfalt - nicht eine einzige Antwort

Wir möchten die Diskussion rund um Cultural Awareness, Dekolonialismus und Wandel in der Gesellschaft unterstützen und suchen dabei die Stimmenvielfalt - nicht eine einzige Antwort. Indem wir Vielfalt feiern, möchten wir den Blick für Wesentliches gewinnen. An diesen interkulturellen Begegnungen möchten wir all diejenigen teilhaben lassen, die Geschichten ebenso lieben wie wir.

Event in München

Wir hoffen außerdem, dass durch weitere Förderung 2024 das Event "Stories&Arts meets Cultural Awareness" in München möglich wird, zu dem wir einige der Interviewpartner*innen zum gemeinsamen Austausch, zu Vorträgen und Workshops und natürlich zum Geschichtenerzählen einladen.

Interviews

Unsere Interviewpartner*innen sind:

  • Internationale Storyteller und Erzähler*innen mit indigenen Hintergründen
  • Kulturwissenschaftler*innen
  • Fachfrauen & -männer zu Cultural Awareness, Dekolonialismus, Rassismus und angrenzenden Themen.
  • Autor*innen beliebter und viel erzählter Geschichten-Sammlungen

Community Calls

Wer uns im Interviewjahr begleiten, unsere Einsichten und Überlegungen miterleben und mit eigenen Ideen und Wünschen das Projekt mitgestalten möchte, kann an den vierteljährlichen Community Calls teilnehmen. Wir freuen uns auf euch!

Workshops

Unsere Workshops für Erzählende beginnen, wenn die meisten Interviews bereits online sind: im April und Mai 2024. Wir freuen uns auf internationale Gastdozent*innen. Die Workshops haben verschiedene Schwerpunkte, die wir im Verlauf des Projekts gemeinsam entwickeln.

Alle Veranstaltungen sind in Englisch. Deutschsprachige Beiträge werden ins Englische übersetzt. Bekommen wir die Förderung durch die Kulturstiftung des Bundes, sind alle Veranstaltungen grundsätzlich zweisprachig.

DER FAHRPLAN

  • 15.11.2022 - Dieses erfolgreiche Crowdfunding mit starker Community ermöglicht Anträge, die das Vorhaben erweitern und unterstützen.
  • Dezember 2022 - Kofinanzierung der Stadt München und andere Fördermittel werden beantragt.
  • Januar 2023 - Die Kulturförderung des Bundes wird beantragt.
  • Mai 2023 - Jury tagt - über den Antrag wird entschieden
  • Juni 2023 - Falls notwendig kümmern wir uns um weitere Mittel.
  • 1.Juli 2023 - Start des Projekts im dann möglichen Umfang.


Je nach Förderhöhe entstehen fünf bis fünfundzwanzig Beiträge, Interviews, Audios, Videos und Blogbeiträge. Wir vertiefen unsere Recherche, erarbeiten Kontakte, öffnen Möglichkeiten der Vernetzung, intensivieren die Pressearbeit und sind offen für unerwartete, inspirierende Entwicklungen.

  • Zwischen 1. Juli 2023 und 31. Juni 2024 entstehen die Interviews
  • Community-Calls (siehe Dankeschöns) vertiefen und bereichern das Projekt kontinuierlich.
  • Mai 2024 Beginn der Onlineseminare.
  • Juni 2024 Präsenzworkshop in München.
  • 14.-16.Juni 2024 bei weiterer Förderung: Stories&Arts meets Cultural Awareness
  • Bis Ende Juni 2024 Abschluss des Projektes und Beginn weiterer Ideen, Vernetzungen zwischen Erzähler*innen und Vereinen und allem, was aus Community Calls, Interviews und Workshops entstehen möchte!

Mit eurer Unterstützung zeigt ihr, dass dieses Thema wichtig ist und eine starke Community hinter uns steht!

VIELEN HERZLICHEN DANK!

Was sind die Ziele und wer ist die Zielgruppe?

Dieses Projekt richtet sich an Erzähler*innen aus allen Ländern der Welt.

Und es richtet sich ebenso an alle Zuhörer*innen, Leser*innen und Liebhaber*innen von Geschichten.

Denn diese Interviewreihe über Cultural Awareness
ist weit über den Bereich des Geschichtenerzählens relevant.

Warum sollte jemand dieses Projekt unterstützen?

Ein respektvoller, achtsamer Umgang miteinander, das ist Cultural Awareness für uns. Am Beispiel des Storytellings werden Möglichkeiten erprobt, wie globale Vernetzung, kultureller Austausch und kulturelle Bewusstheit heute und jetzt gelebt werden können. In einer Welt, die in Veränderung und in Bewegung ist.

Schenkt uns mit Eurer Unterstützung ein Zeichen, dass dieses Thema wichtig ist und eine starke Community hinter uns steht!

Was passiert mit dem Geld bei erfolgreicher Finanzierung?

Dieses Crowdfunding hat verschiedene Funktionen:

1. Es macht die Workshops mit internationalen Dozenten in jedem Fall möglich.

2. Es entstehen mindestens fünf Interviews.

3. Es bildet die nötigen Eigenmittel für größere Förderanträge, die noch viel mehr ermöglichen: mehr Inhalt, mehr Recherche, mehr Kontakte, mehr Austausch, mehr Netzwerk, mehr Vielfalt.
Konkret:

  • Weitreichende Recherche- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit
  • Eine umfassende Reihe aus Videos, Audios und Blogartikeln, die dauerhaft frei zu Verfügung stehen wird.
  • Das EVENT "Stories&Arts meets Cultural Awareness" in München als Abschlussveranstaltung.
Wer steht hinter dem Projekt?

Die Storybox München gUG.
Sie ist gemeinnützig und derzeit Trägerin der Kunst&Kulturkonserven und des Podcasts AndereGedanken. Freie Spenden sind steuerlich absetzbar.

In diesem Projekt gibt es ein wachsendes Team. Hier die Teammitglieder der ersten Stunde:

Künstlerische Leitung, Interviews, Workshops, Audio und Videoschnitt
Momo Heiß, Musikerin, Erzählerin und Gründerin der Storybox München gUG

Kulturwissenschaftliche Beratung, Übersetzung, Blogbeiträge, Workshops
Ursula Stroux, Kulturwissenschaftlerin, Erzählerin und Sprachdozentin

Video und Grafik
Katharina Müller, Fotografie, Video und Grafik


FÖRDERUNGEN UND PREISE

  • Vorschlag zur Innovationsförderung des Verbands der Erzählerinnen und Erzähler VEE

Interviewpartner*innen, die wir bereits kontaktiert haben und die bereit sind, an dem Projekt mitzuwirken

Wir haben so viele Kontakte gewonnen. Wir setzen ab Ende September nach und nach die Namen ein, sobald wir konkrete Rückmeldung zu der Präsentation dieses Projektes haben.

[list]
  • .
  • .
  • .
  • Unterstützen

    Weitere Projekte entdecken

    Teilen
    Cultural Awareness and Storytelling
    www.startnext.com

    Diese Video wird von Vimeo abgespielt. Mit dem Klick auf den Play-Button stimmst du der Weitergabe dafür notwendiger personenbezogenen Daten (Bsp: Deine IP-Adresse) an Vimeo Inc (USA) als Betreiberin von Vimeo zu. Weitere Informationen zum Zweck und Umfang der Datenerhebung findest du in den Startnext Datenschutzbestimmungen. Mehr erfahren