Crowdfunding finished
ENDLICH TACHELES! is a feature documentary film about Yaar, a rebellious young man who wants to retell the story of the Holocaust for his own generation. Yaar is 21 and considers himself to be the most un-Jewish Jew in the world. But one day, Yaar is threatened with a knife on the street – because he is Jewish. He is shocked and realizes that he cannot escape his origins. Yaar develops a controversial computer game which is set at the time of the Shoah, which eventually takes him to his roots.
11,264 €
Fundingsum
71
Supporters
Privacy notice
Privacy notice
 ENDLICH TACHELES!
 ENDLICH TACHELES!
 ENDLICH TACHELES!
 ENDLICH TACHELES!
 ENDLICH TACHELES!

About this project

Funding period 3/14/19 12:58 PM - 4/27/19 11:59 PM
Realisation 1 year
Start level 10,000 €

- sight and transcription of the original material
(approx. 100 hours)
- translation Hebrew to German
- first rough cut

Category Movie / Video
City Berlin

Project description show hide

What is this project all about?

We have filmed our protagonist Yaar and his family for three years in Germany, Poland and Israel.

Yaar was born in Israel, but grew up in Germany, far away from Judaism and the story of his grandparents. As a child, his grandmother Rina was smuggled out of the Płaszów concentration camp, along with her little brother. She never talked about what happened to her during this time. Yaar's father Ilei, who was born twenty years after the war, still suffers from the Holocaust today. Yaar accuses him of having established himself as a victim.

But one day, Yaar is attacked with a knife on the street because he is Jewish. For the first time, he himself feels like a victim. And he has an idea: With the computer game “Als Gott schlief” (“When God Was Asleep”), he wants to address the Holocaust in a way that history lessons cannot. Above all, he wants to take control of his own story.

Sarah and Marcel, two friends of Yaar’s, collaborate with him on the development of his computer game. Yaar decides to model one of the game’s protagonists, a little Jewish girl, after his grandmother Rina. Together with his friends, he visits Rina’s birthplace Krakow, where he uncovers a terrible family secret.

So begins a painful confrontation with their own history. Yaar has to find his way between the trauma of preceding generations and his own claim to an unburdened life.

What is the project goal and who is the project for?

ENDLICH TACHELES! is a project against forgetting that makes the Holocaust accessible for the grandchildren’s generation.
We are convinced that new forms of remembering are needed today: ENDLICH TACHELES! will provide young people with an emotional access point to the history of the Holocaust and motivate them to face it.

The last witnesses of the Shoah will soon be gone, and textbooks alone are not enough to keep the memory alive. Yaar with his game, and we with our film, are taking steps in a new direction. Our protagonists are young, funny and daring. Their views are controversial and raise topical questions: What does the Holocaust have to do with me, personally, today? How do I deal with the fact that my ancestors were victims or perpetrators? And what is the difference between guilt and responsibility?

We are all connected to this part of history, no matter how aware we might be of the stories of our parents, grandparents and great-grandparents. With this film, we will reach today’s younger generation especially, since Yaar is one of them and speaks their language.

We are planning to have screenings at schools and educational institutions.

Why would you support this project?

It's happening around us: There is an increasing number of hostilities against Jews, as well as voices that aim to close the book on the Holocaust, or even to minimize or relativize it. ENDLICH TACHELES! is taking a stand against such efforts.

With courage and radical openness, Yaar, his parents and grandparents have unveiled their hearts for this film, granting us insights into a family for which the Holocaust is still not over.

For us creators, ENDLICH TACHELES! is a project close to our hearts. We have financed it ourselves for many months in order to get it going. Since then, there have been a few grants that enabled us to complete most of the shooting.

However, the last quarter of the budget is still missing, and we’d like to tackle it together with you. We need your help in order to view about 100 hours of footage, to translate 15 hours of Hebrew conversations, and to draft and edit everything. The quality of the film will largely depend on how much time we will have available to shape the material into a powerful cinematic format. In the spring of 2019, we will do some final shooting, because the stories of the protagonists and the development of the game have continued.

We invite you to become part of ENDLICH TACHELES! and to support us not only with funds, but also with suggestions and practical actions. It is up to all of us to eventually show the film, to distribute it and to discuss it in cinemas, schools and memorials.

How will we use the money if the project is successfully funded? 

1. Phase – 10 000 Euros:

+ sight and transcription of the original material (approx. 100 hours)
+ translation Hebrew to German (15 hours)
+ first rough cut (20 days)

2. Phase - 20 000 Euros:

+ main editing period with an experienced film cutter
(approx. 3 – 4 month)
+ last shootings with the protagonists (approx. 5 days)
+ integration of the new material into the editing process

Who are the people behind the project?

Jana Matthes & Andrea Schramm
We are fascinated and inspired by people. In more than 30 documentary films, we have told their stories and accompanied them through social and personal turbulences. Our strength lies in telling major social events in the form powerful, exciting individual stories. We have made and produced award-winning films for television. But the media landscape is changing, so we’d like to tread new paths with you in order to realize important projects.

For ENDLICH TACHELES!, we wrote the script and are directing and co-producing the film along with:

Gunter Hanfgarn
An experienced and committed producer who has produced several internationally successful documentaries, including on the subject of the Holocaust. "No Land's Song”, his last film, was nominated for the German Film Award.

Lars Barthel
A creative cameraman who has photographed many impressive movies. He captures Yaar's story in sensitive and visually powerful images.

Who supports us:
Prof. Dr. Andreas Nachama, Director of the Foundation Topografie des Terrors and Chairman of the General Rabbinical Conference Berlin
Dr. Anja Siegemund, Director of the Foundation Neue Synagoge Berlin - Centrum Judaicum
Dr. Ulrike Offenberg, Rabbi in the community in Hameln
Moshe Mendelssohn, Artist and survivor of the concentration camp Dachau
Yaar and his father Elieser (who developed the story together with us)
Yaar's mother Jasmin
Julia Jasjunas & Elenya Bannert

Support now 

share
ENDLICH TACHELES!
www.startnext.com

This video is played by Vimeo. By clicking on the play button, you agree to the transfer of necessary personal data (e.g. your IP address) to Vimeo Inc (USA) as the operator of Vimeo. For more information on the purpose and scope of data collection, please see the Startnext privacy policy. Learn more

Crowdfunding beendet
ENDLICH TACHELES! ist ein Kinodokumentarfilm über Yaar, einen jungen Rebellen, der die Geschichte des Holocausts für seine Generation neu erzählen will. Yaar ist 21 und hält sich für den unjüdischsten Juden der Welt. Doch dann wird er mit einem Messer bedroht – weil er Jude ist. Schockiert begreift er, dass er seiner Herkunft nicht entkommen kann. Er entwickelt ein Computerspiel über die Zeit der Shoah, das Kontroversen auslöst und ihn am Ende seinen Wurzeln näher bringt.
11.264 €
Fundingsumme
71
Unterstütz­er:innen
Datenschutzhinweis
Datenschutzhinweis
 ENDLICH TACHELES!
 ENDLICH TACHELES!
 ENDLICH TACHELES!
 ENDLICH TACHELES!
 ENDLICH TACHELES!

Über das Projekt

Finanzierungszeitraum 14.03.19 12:58 Uhr - 27.04.19 23:59 Uhr
Realisierungszeitraum 1 Jahr
Startlevel 10.000 €

+ Sichtung und Transkription des Rohmaterials (über 100 Stunden)
+ Übersetzungen hebräisch-deutsch (15 Stunden)
+ erster grober Rohschnitt

Kategorie Film / Video
Stadt Berlin

Projektbeschreibung anzeigen ausblenden

Worum geht es in dem Projekt?

Wir begleiten unseren Protagonisten Yaar und seine Familie seit drei Jahren mit der Kamera und haben in Deutschland, Polen und Israel gedreht.

Yaar ist in Israel geboren und in Deutschland aufgewachsen. Das Judentum und die Geschichte der Großeltern sind für ihn weit weg. Seine Oma Rina wurde als Kind mit ihrem kleinen Bruder aus dem KZ Plaschow geschmuggelt. Was mit ihr in dieser Zeit geschah, hat sie nie erzählt. Yaars Vater Ilei, der zwanzig Jahre nach dem Krieg geboren wurde, leidet bis heute am Holocaust. Yaar wirft ihm vor, er habe sich in der Opferrolle eingerichtet.

Dann wird Yaar auf offener Straße mit einem Messer angegriffen, weil er Jude ist. Zum ersten Mal fühlt er sich selbst als Opfer. Und er hat eine Idee: Mit dem Computerspiel „Als Gott schlief“ will er den Holocaust auf eine Weise thematisieren, wie es der Geschichtsunterricht nicht vermag. Vor allem möchte er damit seine eigene Geschichte in die Hand nehmen.

In seinen Freunden Sarah und Marcel findet er Mitstreiter für die Entwicklung seines Computerspiels. Yaar macht seine Oma Rina zum Vorbild für die junge Jüdin im Spiel. Zusammen mit den Freunden besucht er Rinas Geburtsort Krakau, wo er ein furchtbares Familiengeheimnis aufdeckt.

Eine schmerzhafte Auseinandersetzung mit der eigenen Geschichte beginnt. Yaar muss zwischen dem Trauma der Generationen vor ihm und seinem Anspruch auf ein unbelastetes Leben seinen eigenen Weg finden.

Was sind die Ziele und wer ist die Zielgruppe?

ENDLICH TACHELES! ist ein Projekt gegen das Vergessen, das den Holocaust für die Generation der Enkel erzählt.

Wir sind überzeugt, dass es heute neue Formen der Erinnerung braucht: ENDLICH TACHELES! wird jungen Leuten einen emotionalen Zugang zur Geschichte des Holocausts ermöglichen und ihnen einen Impuls geben, sich damit zu beschäftigen. Die letzten Zeitzeugen der Shoah sterben, und Lehrbücher allein reichen nicht, um das Gedenken wach zu halten. Yaar mit seinem Spiel, und wir mit unserem Film gehen einen Schritt in eine neue Richtung.

Unsere Protagonisten sind jung, witzig und mutig. Ihre Ansichten sind streitbar und werfen aktuelle Fragen auf: Was hat der Holocaust heute noch mit mir persönlich zu tun? Wie gehe ich damit um, dass meine Vorfahren Opfer bzw. Täter waren? Und was ist der Unterschied zwischen Schuld und Verantwortung?

Jeder einzelne von uns ist mit diesem Teil der Geschichte verbunden, egal wie gut wir die Geschichten unserer Eltern, Großeltern und Urgroßeltern kennen.
Gerade die junge Generation werden wir mit diesem Film erreichen, weil Yaar einer von ihnen ist, ihre Sprache spricht. Wir planen Vorführungen an Schulen und Bildungseinrichtungen.

Warum sollte jemand dieses Projekt unterstützen?

Es passiert um uns herum: Anfeindungen gegen Juden häufen sich, ebenso Stimmen, die hinter den Holocaust „einen Punkt setzen“ oder ihn sogar relativieren wollen. Dagegen setzen wir mit ENDLICH TACHELES! ein Zeichen.

Yaar, seine Eltern und Großeltern haben mit Mut und radikaler Offenheit für diesen Film ihr Innerstes nach außen gekehrt und uns Einblick in eine Familie gewährt, in der der Holocaust bis heute nicht vergangen ist.

Für uns Macherinnen ist ENDLICH TACHELES! ein Herzensprojekt. Um es auf den Weg zu bringen, haben wir es viele Monate lang selbst finanziert. Inzwischen gibt es Fördergelder, die es uns ermöglicht haben, den größten Teil der Dreharbeiten abzuschließen.

Das letzte fehlende Drittel des Budgets wollen wir gemeinsam mit Euch stemmen. Wir brauchen Eure Hilfe, um ca.100 Stunden gedrehtes Material zu sichten, 15 Stunden hebräische Gespräche zu übersetzen und alles zu konzipieren und zu schneiden. Die Qualität des Films wird maßgeblich davon abhängen, wie viel Zeit wir haben, um dem Material eine starke filmische Form zu geben. Im Frühjahr 2019 wird es letzte Dreharbeiten geben, denn die Geschichten der Protagonisten und auch die Entwicklung des Spiels gehen weiter.

Wir laden Euch ein, Teil des TACHELES-PROJEKTES zu werden und uns nicht nur mit Geld, sondern auch mit Anregungen und praktischen Tun zu unterstützen. Wir alle sind es, die den Film später zeigen, ihn verbreiten und darüber diskutieren in Kinos, an Schulen und Gedenkstätten.

Was passiert mit dem Geld bei erfolgreicher Finanzierung?

1. Phase - 10.000 Euro:
+ Sichtung und Transkription des Rohmaterials (über 100 Stunden)
+ Übersetzungen hebräisch-deutsch (15 Stunden)
+ erster grober Rohschnitt (20 Tage)

2. Phase - 20.000 Euro:
+ Hauptschnittphase mit einer erfahrenen Filmcutterin (ca. 3-4 Monate), in der wir die lange Rohschnittfassung bearbeiten
+ letzte Dreharbeiten mit den Protagonisten, Einbeziehung aktueller Ereignisse und der Weiterentwicklung des Spiels (ca. 5 Drehtage)
+ Einarbeitung des neuen Materials in den Schnitt

Wer steht hinter dem Projekt?

Jana Matthes & Andrea Schramm
Menschen faszinieren und inspirieren uns: in über 30 Dokumentarfilmen haben wir ihre Geschichten erzählt, sie durch gesellschaftliche und persönliche Umbrüche begleitet. Unsere Stärke ist es, große gesellschaftliche Prozesse in starken, spannenden Einzelgeschichten zu erzählen. Wir haben preisgekrönte Filme fürs Fernsehen gedreht und produziert. Doch die Medienlandschaft ändert sich, deshalb wollen wir mit Euch neue Wege gehen, um wichtige Projekte umzusetzen.

Bei ENDLICH TACHELES!, haben wir das Drehbuch geschrieben, führen Regie und koproduzieren den Film zusammen mit:

Gunter Hanfgarn
Ein erfahrener engagierter Produzent, der viele international erfolgreiche Dokumentarfilme – auch zum Thema Holocaust - produziert hat. Sein letzter Film „No Land’s Song“ war für den deutschen Filmpreis nominiert.

Lars Barthel
Ein kreativer Kameramann, der viele beeindruckende Kinofilme fotografiert hat. Er fängt Yaars Geschichte in sensiblen und visuell starken Bildern ein.

Wer uns unterstützt:
Prof. Dr. Andreas Nachama, Direktor der Stiftung Topografie des Terrors und Vorsitzender der Allgemeinen Rabbinerkonferenz Berlin
Dr. Anja Siegemund, Direktorin Stiftung Neue Synagoge Berlin - Centrum Judaicum
Rabbinerin Dr. Ulrike Offenberg , Gemeinde in Hameln
Moshe Mendelssohn, Künstler und Überlebender des Konzentrationslagers Dachau
Yaar und sein Vater Elieser – die mit uns gemeinsam die Geschichte entwickelt haben
Yaars Mutter Jasmin
Julia Jasjunas & Elenya Bannert

Unterstützen

Teilen
ENDLICH TACHELES!
www.startnext.com

Diese Video wird von Vimeo abgespielt. Mit dem Klick auf den Play-Button stimmst du der Weitergabe dafür notwendiger personenbezogenen Daten (Bsp: Deine IP-Adresse) an Vimeo Inc (USA) als Betreiberin von Vimeo zu. Weitere Informationen zum Zweck und Umfang der Datenerhebung findest du in den Startnext Datenschutzbestimmungen. Mehr erfahren