Crowdfunding finished
The women of the Wayúu indigenous community manage their periods by isolating at home. This project aims to build a new workshop provide materials and teach 16 women how to sew their own period underwear. This will generate a sustainable source of income for the community and give 174 women access to essential hygiene products. By donating to this campaign or buying our Wayúu products you too can help bring these women one step closer to our end goal of gender equality and freedom!
657 €
Fundingsum
18
Supporters
Rosalie Mesgarha
Rosalie Mesgarha Projektberater Applause, applause. This project takes away all the valuable crowdfunding experience. I'm excited to see what comes next.
Privacy notice
Privacy notice
 GLOW WITH THE FLOW
 GLOW WITH THE FLOW
 GLOW WITH THE FLOW
 GLOW WITH THE FLOW
 GLOW WITH THE FLOW

About this project

Funding period 6/15/21 4:44 AM - 8/13/21 11:59 PM
Realisation August - October
Start level 9,000 €

Give a new beginning to the Wayúu women! Glow with the Flow will empower generations of women and girls to come.

Category Social Business
City Berlin

Project description show hide

What is this project all about?

This project aims to create a workshop for the women of the Wayúu community, where they will learn how to sew and make menstrual underwear. This will allow these women to become micro-entrepreneurs, to take ownership of their own labour, and to begin to free themselves from the extreme poverty they currently face and that has worsened over the last year of the pandemic.

Not only will this initiative increase their income, but will also bring access to much needed sustainable and safe menstrual products. Reusable menstrual underwear are not only cost effective, but will also help these women reduce the environmental impact of their period and prevent health problems associated with use of disposable sanitary pads.

For most women in this community, buying disposable sanitary items is a luxury that they cannot afford. Instead they resort to inefficient pieces of fabric and choose stay at home throughout their cycle to avoid being seen with stained clothing. Access to period underwear will allow these women to live a normal life all year round, will promote gender and menstrual equality, and help these women to reach their full potential.

Yet this is not a problem unique to this community. In fact, you can't talk about global gender equality without talking about periods. For many women and girls around the world, traditional period products are too expensive and too difficult to find. We hope to use this project as a pilot together with Abury Foundation, that could be replicated around the globe.

What is the project goal and who is the project for?

The goal of this project is to create a workshop in which 16 women of the Wayúu community will be taught how to sew reusable cloth menstrual underwear. These will then be handed out across five Wayúu communities, giving 174 women access to much needed period products. They will also sell the panties, generating another source of income, which will allow them improve their quality of life, shrink the gender gap, and reduce the environmental impact of disposable sanitary napkins.

The people of the sun, sand and wind, the Wayúu people are a traditional, indigenous community based in the la Guajira Peninsula, a desert region in the northeast of Colombia. Throughout history this tribe has battled Spanish conquistadors, modern Governments, and Mother Nature in order to keep their traditions alive.

This region has also struggled with a lack of economic resources and basic public services, which has produced high levels of social inequality and extreme poverty. The Wayúu people live in matriarchal communities which heavily rely on the trade of traditional craftwork. Yet this is not yet economically sustainable, as unfair local trade dynamics and an undervaluing of their work leaves them with little to no profits for economic growth. Here, weaving is not just a cultural practice handed down through generations of ancestors, but it is also the way in which they express themselves and tell their stories.

84% of the population live in poverty; 6 in 10 adults are illiterate; and some children are forced to walk up to 3 hours just to get to school. The community has the highest infant mortality rate of any region in the Colombia, with 34 deaths per 1,000 live births. Yet the absence of support and public funding from the state makes it incredibly difficult to better the situation and eliminate these social inequalities. Along with a lack of education schemes, the community is really limited by a shortage of job opportunities. Global warming has also increased the frequency and severity of the droughts faced by the tribes which threatens their crops and livestock.

The second phase of the initiative will see this project replicated around the world, particularly in indigenous communities across Africa. We hope to share our experiences and what we have learnt working with the Wayúu people in a manual that can be shared with other communities.

Why would you support this project?

By supporting this project you will:
1. Empower a group of women, helping them to become micro-entrepreneurs and to free themselves from extreme poverty.
2. Help the Wayúu women take back the dignity of their period.
3. Give women of this tribe access to reusable period underwear.
4. Reduce the ecological impact of disposable period products; an individual goes through approximately 11,000 disposable period products in their lifetime, with each pad taking over 500 years to decompose.
5. Help these women save money - menstrual underwear are much more cost-effective than disposable pads.
6. Reduce health problems caused by disposable pads and the toxic chemicals often used in their production.
7. Give these women the chance to reach their full potential, every day of the month.
8. Help this project to be replicated around the world, bringing economic opportunities and reusable menstrual products to communities across the globe.
9.Support a productive and sustainable project that is taking part in the fight for global gender equality.
10. Tackel finantial crisis due to the Pandemic.

How will we use the money if the project is successfully funded? 

The money raised will allow us to acquire the sewing machines, equip the workshops and teach the women how to sew and make the underwear. A percentage of the money will also be used to support the construction of the workshop.

The money will be used the following ways:

Construction Center 56%
Machines, materials and tools 28%
Training 16%

Who are the people behind the project?

This initiative is led by the Hilo Sagrado Foundation and we are working in collaboration with Abury Foundaction, Caring for Colombia, Kora Mikino and Somos Martina.

Based both in Berlin and Bogotá, since 2013, Hilo Sagrado, has implemented a model of inclusive development which recognises the deep cultural legacy and value of artisan communities in Latin America, and which seeks to empower women with the tools that allow them to improve their quality of life. Through education, economic empowerment and sustainable development, their aim is for the communities that they work with to become self-sustainable, to provide women with the necessary tools to become micro-entrepreneurs, to take ownership of their own work, and to escape from extreme poverty.

Abury Foundation is a German foundation that aims to create opportunities for development and intercultural exchange - which helps to improve understanding between different cultures and communities.

We aim to achieve this by initiating and enabling numerous projects that are in line with the three causes that guide our work: children’s education, female empowerment and community development. We believe that everyone deserves the chance to take their future into their own hands. Success for us means making this possible and helping people reach their inner potential. We believe that education is the key that unlocks the door to success.

“Our goal is to create environments where potentials can unfold!”

Caring for Colombia is a 501(c)(3) Nonprofit Organization that builds bridges and mobilizes resources between U.S. donors and organizations to empower high-impact social projects in Colombia. Since 2003 we foster strong relationships with local leaders and institutions that inspire transformation in the most vulnerable communities.

We aim to be a home for Colombian residents and expats as well as anyone moved to help vulnerable communities in Colombia. We want to be a resource for donors to find the tools, the projects and the inspiration to give and become part of Colombia’s transformation.

Kora Mikino is a company that seeks to revolutionize women's menstrual care, eliminate the cultural taboos around menstruation and ‘free the natural flow of all stigmas’. They are striving for an emancipated, fair and sustainable flow for all, and to give people around the world access to menstrual products without polluting the environment or creating dependencies.

Somos Martina is a company that is bringing reusable menstrual underwear to the Latin American market. Based in Bogotá, they want to change the way the Colombian woman views her period. Through their social media platforms, they spread messages of menstrual education, the power of the female body, and self-love.

Support now 

Discover more projects

share
GLOW WITH THE FLOW
www.startnext.com

Find & support

This video is played by YouTube. By clicking on the play button, you agree to the transfer of necessary personal data (e.g. your IP address) to Google Inc (USA) as the operator of YouTube. For more information on the purpose and scope of data collection, please see the Startnext privacy policy. Learn more

Crowdfunding beendet
Die Frauen der indigenen Gemeinschaft der Wayúu bewältigen ihre Periode, indem sie sich zu Hause zurückziehen. Dieses Projekt zielt darauf ab, zuerst eine neue Werkstatt zu bauen und Materialien bereitzustellen, damit 16 Frauen lernen, wie sie ihre eigene Menstruationsunterwäsche nähen können. Dies wird eine nachhaltige Einkommensquelle für die Gemeinde schaffen und 174 Frauen Zugang zu essentiellen Hygieneprodukten verschaffen!
657 €
Fundingsumme
18
Unterstütz­er:innen
Rosalie Mesgarha
Rosalie Mesgarha Projektberatung Applaus, Applaus. Dieses Projekt nimmt alle wertvollen Crowdfunding Erfahrungen mit. Ich bin gespannt was als nächstes kommt.
Datenschutzhinweis
Datenschutzhinweis
 GLOW WITH THE FLOW
 GLOW WITH THE FLOW
 GLOW WITH THE FLOW
 GLOW WITH THE FLOW
 GLOW WITH THE FLOW

Über das Projekt

Finanzierungszeitraum 15.06.21 04:44 Uhr - 13.08.21 23:59 Uhr
Realisierungszeitraum August - Oktober
Startlevel 9.000 €

Give a new beginning to the Wayúu women! Glow with the Flow will empower generations of women and girls to come.

Kategorie Social Business
Stadt Berlin

Projektbeschreibung anzeigen ausblenden

Worum geht es in dem Projekt?

Dieses Projekt zielt darauf ab, einen Workshop für die Frauen der Wayúu-Gemeinschaft einzurichten, in dem sie lernen, wie man näht und Menstruationsunterwäsche herstellt. So wird den Frauen ermöglicht, Kleinstunternehmerinnen zu werden, ihre eigene Arbeit in die eigene Hand zu nehmen und sich aus der extremen Armut zu befreien, in der sie derzeit leben. Diese Initiative wird nicht nur ihr Einkommen erhöhen, sondern auch den Zugang zu dringend benötigten nachhaltigen und sicheren Menstruationsprodukten ermöglichen.

Wiederverwendbare Menstruationsunterwäsche ist nicht nur kostengünstig, sondern hilft diesen Frauen auch, die Umweltbelastung durch ihre Periode zu reduzieren und gesundheitliche Probleme zu vermeiden, die mit der Verwendung von Einwegbinden verbunden sind.

Für die meisten Frauen in dieser Gemeinde ist der Kauf von Einweg-Damenbinden ein Luxus, den sie sich nicht leisten können. Stattdessen greifen sie auf ineffiziente Stoffstücke zurück und bleiben während ihres Zyklus lieber zu Hause, um nicht mit befleckter Kleidung gesehen zu werden. Der Zugang zu Periodenunterwäsche ermöglicht diesen Frauen ein normales Leben das ganze Jahr über, fördert die Gleichberechtigung der Geschlechter und hilft diesen Frauen, ihr volles Potenzial zu erreichen.

Doch dies ist nicht nur ein Problem, das nur in dieser Gemeinschaft auftritt. Tatsächlich kann man nicht über die globale Gleichstellung der Geschlechter sprechen, ohne über die Periode zu reden. Für viele Frauen und Mädchen auf der ganzen Welt sind die traditionellen Periodenprodukte zu teuer und oft schwer zu finden. Wir hoffen, dieses Projekt als Pilotprojekt zu nutzen, das rund um den Globus repliziert werden könnte.

Was sind die Ziele und wer ist die Zielgruppe?

Die Wayúu, das Volk der Sonne, des Sandes und des Windes, sind eine traditionelle, indigene Gemeinschaft, die auf der Halbinsel La Guajira – einer Wüstenregion im Nordosten Kolumbiens – ansässig ist. Im Laufe der Geschichte hat dieser Stamm gegen spanische Eroberer, moderne Regierungen und Mutter Natur gekämpft, um seine Traditionen am Leben zu erhalten.

Diese Region hat auch mit einem Mangel an wirtschaftlichen Ressourcen und grundlegenden öffentlichen Dienstleistungen zu kämpfen, was zu einem hohen Maß an sozialer Ungleichheit und extremer Armut geführt hat. Das Volk der Wayúu lebt in matriarchalischen Gemeinschaften, die sich stark auf den Handel mit traditionellem Kunsthandwerk verlassen. Dies ist jedoch wirtschaftlich nicht nachhaltig, da unfaire lokale Handelsdynamiken und eine Unterbewertung ihrer Arbeit ihnen wenig bis keine Gewinne für wirtschaftliches Wachstum lassen. Hier ist das Weben nicht nur eine kulturelle Praxis, die über Generationen von Vorfahren weitergegeben wurde, sondern auch die Art und Weise, wie sie sich ausdrücken und ihre Geschichten erzählen.

84% der Bevölkerung leben in Armut; 6 von 10 Erwachsenen sind Analphabeten; und einige Kinder müssen bis zu 3 Stunden laufen, nur um zur Schule zu kommen. Die Gemeinde hat mit 34 Todesfällen pro 1.000 Lebendgeburten die höchste Kindersterblichkeitsrate aller Regionen in Kolumbien. Doch das Fehlen von Unterstützung und öffentlichen Mitteln seitens des Staates macht es unglaublich schwierig, die Situation zu verbessern und diese sozialen Ungleichheiten zu beseitigen. Neben fehlenden Bildungsangeboten ist die Gemeinde auch durch einen Mangel an Arbeitsmöglichkeiten stark eingeschränkt. Die globale Erwärmung hat auch die Häufigkeit und Schwere der Dürren, mit denen die Stämme konfrontiert sind, erhöht, was ihre Ernten und ihr Vieh bedroht.

Das Ziel des Projekts ist es, eine Werkstatt einzurichten, in der Frauen der Wayúu-Gemeinschaft wiederverwendbare Stoffunterwäsche für die Menstruation herstellen können, um ihre Lebensqualität zu verbessern, die Kluft zwischen den Geschlechtern zu verringern und die Umweltbelastung durch Einwegbinden zu reduzieren.

In der zweiten Phase der Initiative wird dieses Projekt auf der ganzen Welt repliziert, insbesondere in indigenen Gemeinschaften in Afrika. Wir hoffen, unsere Erfahrungen und das, was wir bei der Arbeit mit dem Wayúu-Volk gelernt haben, in einem Handbuch weiterzugeben, das auch anderen Gemeinschaften zur Verfügung gestellt werden kann.

Warum sollte jemand dieses Projekt unterstützen?

Sie werden durch die Unterstützung dieses Projekts:
1. eine Gruppe von Frauen stärken und ihnen helfen, Kleinstunternehmerinnen zu werden und sich aus der extremen Armut zu befreien.
2. den Wayúu-Frauen helfen, während der Zeit ihrer Periode am täglichen Leben teilzunehmen.
3. geben Sie den Frauen dieses Stammes Zugang zu wiederverwendbarer Periodenunterwäsche.
4. reduzieren Sie die ökologischen Auswirkungen von Einweg-Periodenprodukten; eine Person verbraucht in ihrem Leben etwa 11.000 Einweg-Periodenprodukte, wobei es über 500 Jahre dauert, bis sich jede Binde zersetzt.
5. helfen Sie diesen Frauen, Geld zu sparen - Menstruationsunterwäsche ist viel kostengünstiger als Einwegbinden.
6. reduzieren Sie Gesundheitsprobleme, die durch Einwegbinden und die bei ihrer Herstellung oft verwendeten giftigen Chemikalien verursacht werden.
7. geben Sie diesen Frauen die Chance, ihr volles Potenzial auszuschöpfen, an jedem Tag des Monats.
8. helfen Sie mit, dass dieses Projekt auf der ganzen Welt nachgeahmt wird, und bringen Sie wirtschaftliche Möglichkeiten und wiederverwendbare Menstruationsprodukte in Gemeinden.
9. unterstützen Sie ein produktives und nachhaltiges Projekt, das sich am Kampf für die globale Gleichstellung der Geschlechter beteiligt.

Was passiert mit dem Geld bei erfolgreicher Finanzierung?

Mit dem gesammelten Geld können wir die Nähmaschinen anschaffen, die Werkstätten ausstatten und die Frauen im Nähen und Herstellen der Unterwäsche unterrichten. Ein Teil des Geldes wird auch zur Unterstützung des Baus der Werkstatt verwendet werden.

Das Geld wird auf folgende Weise verwendet:
Nähmaschinen &Werkzeuge: 28%
Ausbildung: 16%
Bau und Projektleitung: 56%

Wer steht hinter dem Projekt?

Diese Initiative wird von der Abury-Stiftung geleitet und wir arbeiten mit Hilo Sagrado, Kora Mikino und Somos Martina zusammen.

Wir sind eine deutsche Stiftung, die sich zum Ziel gesetzt hat, Möglichkeiten für Entwicklung und interkulturellen Austausch zu schaffen - was zu einem besseren Verständnis zwischen verschiedenen Kulturen und Gemeinschaften beiträgt.

Dies wollen wir erreichen, indem wir zahlreiche Projekte initiieren und ermöglichen, die sich an den drei Ursachen orientieren, die unsere Arbeit leiten: Bildung für Kinder, Stärkung von Frauen und Entwicklung von Gemeinschaften. Wir glauben, dass jeder Mensch die Chance verdient, seine Zukunft selbst in die Hand zu nehmen. Erfolg bedeutet für uns, dies zu ermöglichen und Menschen zu helfen, ihr inneres Potenzial zu erreichen. Wir glauben, dass Bildung der Schlüssel ist, der die Tür zum Erfolg aufschließt.

"Unser Ziel ist es, Umgebungen zu schaffen, in denen sich Potenziale entfalten können!"

In diesem Projekt unterstützen wir Hilo Sagrado, Kora Mikino und Somos Martina.

Seit 2013 setzt Hilo Sagrado ein Modell der inklusiven Entwicklung um, das das tiefe kulturelle Erbe und den Wert von Handwerkergemeinschaften in Lateinamerika anerkennt und versucht, Frauen mit den Werkzeugen zu befähigen, die es ihnen ermöglichen, ihre Lebensqualität zu verbessern. Durch Bildung, wirtschaftliche und nachhaltige Entwicklung sollen die Gemeinschaften, mit denen sie arbeiten, selbsttragend werden, Frauen mit den notwendigen Werkzeugen ausstatten, um Kleinstunternehmerinnen zu werden, die Verantwortung für ihre eigene Arbeit zu übernehmen und der extremen Armut zu entkommen.

Kora Mikino ist ein Unternehmen, das die Menstruationspflege von Frauen revolutionieren, die kulturellen Tabus rund um die Menstruation beseitigen und "den natürlichen Fluss von allen Stigmata befreien" will. Sie streben nach einem emanzipierten, fairen und nachhaltigen Fluss für alle und wollen Menschen auf der ganzen Welt Zugang zu Menstruationsprodukten geben, ohne die Umwelt zu verschmutzen oder Abhängigkeiten zu schaffen.

Somos Martina ist ein Unternehmen, das wiederverwendbare Menstruationsunterwäsche auf den lateinamerikanischen Markt bringt. Mit Sitz in Bogotá wollen sie die Sichtweise der kolumbianischen Frau auf ihre Periode verändern. Über ihre Social-Media-Plattformen verbreiten sie Botschaften zur Menstruationsaufklärung, zur Macht des weiblichen Körpers und zur Selbstliebe.

Unterstützen

Weitere Projekte entdecken

Teilen
GLOW WITH THE FLOW
www.startnext.com

Finden & Unterstützen

Diese Video wird von YouTube abgespielt. Mit dem Klick auf den Play-Button stimmst du der Weitergabe dafür notwendiger personenbezogenen Daten (Bsp: Deine IP-Adresse) an Google Inc (USA) als Betreiberin von YouTube zu. Weitere Informationen zum Zweck und Umfang der Datenerhebung findest du in den Startnext Datenschutzbestimmungen. Mehr erfahren