Crowdfunding finished
7000 applicants are eager for change! Complain, dream, ACT! When, if not now!? We use young people's panache to drive climate protection and equality forward. Many of us have unique ideas but don't really know how to realize them. That's exactly what we change! From 21st to 31st of July, international participants realize their ideas into actions together with local Berliners. Local + Global = Glocal. Talked enough already, let's go!
10,081 €
Fundingsum
169
Supporters
Privacy notice
Privacy notice
 Youth Activist Camp 2019
 Youth Activist Camp 2019
 Youth Activist Camp 2019
 Youth Activist Camp 2019
 Youth Activist Camp 2019

About this project

Funding period 6/3/19 10:01 AM - 7/3/19 11:59 PM
Realisation 07/21 - 07/31/2019
Start level 7,500 €

With this we can firstly, make our international participant's participation possible and secondly, can develop and conceptualize their ideas for projects.

Category Education
City Berlin

Project description show hide

What is this project all about?

Climate justice and universal equality are the topics that concern us organizers on a daily basis. We live in pretty democratic structures, in which climate strikes and petitions happen on an every day basis, but for some of our participants that's not the case. We create a safe space where they can create exchange and learn from and with each other how to still create sustainable change with their ideas.

From July 21st to 31st, together with 30 youngsters from all over the world and 30 Berliners, we develop sustainable longlasting projects, that are tangible - locally here in Berlin, as well as in Colombia or in Yemen. This way, we create "glocal" change here and all over the world.

Our international activists stay and live with our Berliners. This way we create a unique intercultural exchange that is priceless.

We are supported by young volunteers from experienced organizations such as the "Rosa Luxemburg" foundation.

What is the project goal and who is the project for?

Our main goal is to empower the youth here in Berlin as well as in many other places around the world, in order to change the topics that concern our future. For that we need the right tools, which we learn in the Youth Activist Camp to realize things like:

Locally

  • A social, upcycling/zero waste fashion label: creating new fashion from already existing clothes. The generated profit will fund following youth initiatives for more climate justice and equality.
  • Make affortable, sustainable (and on a long term free) mentruation products accecible for all people who menstruate. Menstruation is not a luxury! Precisely: starting a petition or a campaign for tax reduction on menstruation products.

Globally

  • How do I start a publicly recognized climate movement and climate strikes such as FridaysForFuture in my country or community? How do I organize people for the same cause? How do I plan a protest?
  • Train youth ambassadors for climate justice and experts of the resource cycle, who can give e.g. kid-parent workshops in their community, driving multiple generations to live more consciously.

Our target group for the camp: young people who want to start changing something but don't really know how and where to start.

Why would you support this project?

Only together, with your support, Sofía from Colombia can start climate strikes in Bogotá and change global climate politics through that or Béla from Berlin can create new fashion from old textiles and start a trend of resource friendly living. We create projects that make it possible for everyone to get involved, also you!

Invest in the future.
How can we do that better than to invest in the youth and young change makers, that create more activists and spread awareness for climate topics and social justice within society - not only here but as a global network. As the quote above says: Many small people, in many small places...

Support peer-to-peer empowerment.
As students from Berlin we probably know best how to reach our peers. That is also why we learn from other young experts and their experiences and from each other. No real hierarchies, our own learning space that is shaped by our needs.

Embrace diversity.
By donating, you get to know young people from all over the world at our community neighbourhood festival at the end of the Activist Camp. Maybe you make longlasting cooperations and friendships or just have a very inspiring unique talk on a warm summer night in Berlin-Kreuzberg.

How will we use the money if the project is successfully funded?

Only from mere air and idealism we cannot create anything tangible. For that we need material, expertise, food, public relations and mobility. All of the money goes directly into funding the implementation of the camp's projects.

Who are the people behind the project?
  • Céline (20) grew up in a big family in the alternative area of Berlin, Kreuzberg. Because of all the chaotic talking at the dinner table she became our communicative networker. Also, her voice sounds good on Deutschland Funk radio ;)
  • Luca (22) visited more schools than the amount of fingers she has on her hand. She's already done with her bachelors degree at UdK Berlin. She's orthographically handicapped, but visually extraordinarily talented, as she says. She is the creative mind and does everything you see.
  • Lisa Leonie (22) is the master of organization. She normally studies psychology in her last semester but actually brings our chaos into order as her main job.
  • Aaron (21) is more than just the friendly man on our side. As the child of an East-punker and an alternative hippie mom from the West, he is a child of the German reunification and never fit into a box. Since his high school years, he as been speaking up and advocating for social justice.

We are the Young Utopians.

“The youth has not been heard for too long, even though we are the future. We are political, we want to shape our future, but for that we need to know how and where we can start.”

Support now 

Cooperations

SirPlus

We can buy regionally "saved" food from SirPlus with a voucher and learn for our own projects how a sustainable and social company is working.

Leibniz High School Berlin

For 10 days we can use the amazing location at Leibniz High School at the end of summer break. Located in the heart of Kreuzberg and probably with technical support by some of the students.

Einhorn

"Einhorn" supports us with some of their sustainable menstruation and contraception products and provides a perfect example of a young, sustainable and social business we can learn from.

Discover more projects

share
Youth Activist Camp 2019
www.startnext.com

This video is played by YouTube. By clicking on the play button, you agree to the transfer of necessary personal data (e.g. your IP address) to Google Inc (USA) as the operator of YouTube. For more information on the purpose and scope of data collection, please see the Startnext privacy policy. Learn more

<% user.display_name %>
7000 internationale Bewerber*innen drängen nach Veränderung. Vom 21. bis 31. Juli setzen globale Teilnehmende mit lokalen Berliner*innen ihre Ideen in die Tat um. Motzen, träumen, MACHEN! Wann, wenn nicht jetzt!? Wir nutzen den Elan junger Menschen für Klimaschutz und Chancengerechtigkeit. Viele von uns haben coole Ideen, doch wissen nicht, wie sie diese realisieren können. Genau das ändern wir! Lokal + Global = Glokal.
10.081 €
12.000 € 2. Fundingziel
169
Unterstützer*innen
Projekt erfolgreich
 Youth Activist Camp 2019
 Youth Activist Camp 2019
 Youth Activist Camp 2019
 Youth Activist Camp 2019
Audio starten

Projekt

Finanzierungszeitraum 03.06.19 10:01 Uhr - 03.07.19 23:59 Uhr
Realisierungszeitraum 21. Juli - 31. Juli 2019
Fundingziel 7.500 €

Hiermit können wir 1. die Teilnahme der internationalen Aktivist*innen ermöglichen und 2. die Projektideen erarbeiten und konzipieren.

2. Fundingziel 12.000 €

Damit können wir 3. die Teilnehmenden mit den Materialien ausstatten, um ihre Projekte direkt lokal umzusetzen.

Kategorie Bildung
Stadt Berlin
Worum geht es in dem Projekt?

Klimaschutz und Chancengerechtigkeit beschäftigen uns als Initiator*innen schon lange und viel. Deshalb fangen wir überall auf der Welt klein an und bewegen damit Großes.

Wir leben in demokratischen Strukturen, in denen Klimastreiks und Petitionen alltäglich sind, doch für einige unserer Teilnehmenden ist das keine Selbstverständlichkeit. Wir schaffen einen sicheren Raum des Austauschs von Erfahrungen, Meinungen und Visionen und lernen so voneinander und miteinander in Workshops und Diskussionen.

Vom 21. bis zum 31. Juli entwickeln wir mit 30 jungen Menschen aus aller Welt und 30 Berliner*innen langfristige nachhaltige Projekte, Proteste oder Kampagnen, die lokal hier in Berlin, genauso wie in Kolumbien oder dem Jemen, umsetzbar sind. So schaffen wir "glokale" Veränderung hier und an vielen anderen Orten der Welt.

Während der zehn Tage leben unsere internationalen Gäste bei den Berliner*innen. Es entsteht ein unbezahlbarer, einzigartiger Austausch über das Camp hinaus.

Unterstützt werden wir methodisch von Expert*innen z.B. von der Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung oder der Organisation "Mehr als Lernen".

Was sind die Ziele und wer ist die Zielgruppe?

Unser übergeordnetes Ziel ist die Stärkung von jungen Ideen und des Engagements junger Leute hier in Berlin, sowie lokal an Orten überall auf der Welt. Wir sind eine Generation, die global aufgewachsen ist, darum müssen wir auch lernen, wie wir uns weltweit für die Themen, die unsere Zukunft bestimmen, zusammenschließen können.

Thematische Ziele: 10 konkrete "glokale" Projekte, wie z.B.:

Lokal

  • Neue Mode aus bereits bestehenden Kleidungsstücken: der Profit daraus geht in die Finanzierung sozialer und nachhaltiger Projekte.
  • Kostengünstige, nachhaltige (und langfristig kostenfreie) Menstruationsprodukte. Hygieneprodukte für alle Menstruierende zugänglich machen. Menstruation ist kein Luxus! Konkret z.B. eine Petition zur Steuerbegünstigung oder Kampagne starten.

Global

  • So starte ich eine öffentlichkeitswirksame Klimaschutzbewegung & FridaysForFuture-Klimastreiks in meinem Land oder meiner Community - wir müssen global den Klimanotstand ausrufen!
  • Botschafter*innen für Klimagerechtigkeit und Expert*innen des Wertstoffkreislaufs, die z.B. Eltern-Kind Workshops für Recycling in ihren Communities geben.

Unsere Zielgruppe fürs Camp:
Junge Menschen, die etwas bewegen wollen in Sachen Klimaschutz und Chancengerechtigkeit, aber nicht richtig wissen, wie und wo sie damit anfangen können. Außerdem wollen wir beim Kiezfest und nach dem Camp alle erreichen, die gemeinsam mitanpacken möchten.

Warum sollte jemand dieses Projekt unterstützen?

Nur gemeinsam, auch mit deiner Spende, kann z.B. Fridays for Future in Länder getragen werden, wo noch kein Lärm für Klimaschutz gemacht wird oder kann Béla aus Berlin aus alten Klamotten neue machen und so einen Trend zum ressourcenschonenden Lebensstil lostreten.

Investiere in die Zukunft.
Wie lässt sich das besser tun, als in junge, engagierte Leute zu investieren, die viele viele neue Engagierte an Board holen. Wir setzen als Generation der Globalisierung nicht nur den Start für Veränderung in Berlin, sondern für ein Netzwerk von aktiven Menschen überall.

Unterstütze Peer-to-Peer Empowerment.
Als Berliner Jugendliche wissen wir wahrscheinlich am Besten, wie wir unsere Generation erreichen. Deshalb lernen wir auch mit jungen Expert*innen von ihren Erfahrungen und nicht von oben herab. Wir schaffen hierarchiearme Strukturen, die uns nachhaltig lernen lassen.

Fördere Vielfalt.
Durch deine Spende kannst du junge Menschen aus aller Welt die Teilnahme am Camp ermöglichen und sie selbst beim Kiezfest kennenlernen. Vielleicht ergibt sich ja eine lebenslange Freundschaft oder Zusammenarbeit daraus oder einfach ein inspirierendes Gespräch an einem Sommerabend in Kreuzberg.

Was passiert mit dem Geld bei erfolgreicher Finanzierung?

Von Luft und Idealismus alleine können wir unsere Idee leider nicht umsetzen. Wir brauchen Material, Verpflegung, Mobilitiät und noch mehr Öffentlichkeitsarbeit. Das gesamte Geld fließt in die Umsetzung der Projekte!

Wer steht hinter dem Projekt?
  • Céline (20) ist in einer Großfamilie in Kreuzberg aufgewachsen und durch das viele Reden am Esstisch zur kommunikativen Netzwerkerin geworden. Auch im Radio hört sich ihre Stimme klasse an.
  • Luca (22) war als Querdenkerin schon auf mehr Schulen als die Hand Finger hat. Sie ist visuell hochbegabt, aber orthographisch tiefbegabt, wie sie sagt. Sie ist der kreative Kopf und macht alles, was ihr seht.
  • Lisa Leonie (22) ist die Meisterin der Organisation. Sie studiert eigentlich Psychologie im letzten Semester, aber bringt quasi hauptberuflich unser Chaos in Ordnung.
  • Aaron (21) ist mehr als nur der strahlende Quotenmann. Als Kind eines Ossi-Punkers und einer Öko-Mutti passte er noch nie in eine Schublade und setzt sich seit der Schulzeit für mehr soziale Gerechtigkeit ein.

Wir sind die Young Utopians!
“Die Jugend wurde zu lange nicht gehört, obwohl wir die Zukunft sind. Wir sind politisch, wir wollen unsere Zukunft selbst mitgestalten, aber dafür müssen wir wissen wie und wo wir damit anfangen können.”

Website & Social Media
Impressum
Young Utopians (Youthopia e.V.)
Céline Weimar-Dittmar
Hasenheide 58
10967 Berlin Deutschland

Kooperationen

SirPlus

Wir dürfen mit einem Einkaufsgutschein bei den Lebensmittelretter*innen von SirPlus einkaufen und für unsere eigenen Projekte lernen, wie ein nachhaltiges Unternehmen wie SirPlus so funktioniert.

Leibniz Gymnasium Berlin

10 Tage lang dürfen wir die tollen Räumlichkeiten der Schule in der letzten Sommerferienwoche nutzen. Mitten in Kreuzberg und wahrscheinlich sogar mit Schüler*innen der Schule als Helfende Elfen.

Einhorn

Einhorn supportet uns mit ein paar ihrer nachhaltigen Menstruations- und Verhütungsprodukte und ist ein ideales Beispiel für uns, um von einem jungen nachhaltigen und sozialen Unternehmen zu lernen.

Weitere Projekte entdecken

Leipziger Kulturfallschirm
Community
DE
Leipziger Kulturfallschirm
Mit dem Leipziger Kulturfallschirm sollen Kulturschaffende der freien Szene aus Leipzig unterstützt werden, die von Konzertabsagen betroffen sind.
17.334 € 12 Tage