Crowdfunding finished
Our vision: Water sports become plastic-free! With your help we are developing »ecoSUP« - an ecological stand-up paddle board - made of completely renewable material. Our wood-based lightweight construction material would make water sports more environmentally friendly and give the entire industry a new perspective. Support us and send a clear signal against the plastic flood in our waters and for this wonderful sport to be in harmony with nature!
6,136 €
Fundingsum
77
Supporters
Charlott Roth
Charlott Roth Projektberater An unsuccessful campaign might just be another stage. Good to know: a second campaign is usually more successful.
Privacy notice
Privacy notice
 ecoSUP
 ecoSUP
 ecoSUP
 ecoSUP
 ecoSUP

About this project

Funding period 11/12/20 9:01 AM - 12/22/20 11:59 PM
Realisation March 2021 to February 2023
Start level 14,000 €

will help with the purchase of materials and special tools for the first prototype, which will be donated to a non-profit organization after our tests.

Category Environment
City Braunschweig

Project description show hide

What is this project all about?

Stand-up paddling (SUP) is booming and has now conquered all waters, whether sea, river or lake. Stand-up paddling has become a trend sport for young and old and is even set to become an Olympic sport. Not only since the »Corona-Summer« the sales figures of SUP boards have been increasing. Alone on the board, surrounded by water, stand-up paddling means freedom, independence and relaxation and is a true nature sport. Sportsmen and women need little infrastructure that could disturb wild and aquatic animals and can take their boards into action directly on their local waters.

However, the production of surfing equipment and accessories is not very environmentally friendly. Usually, conventional surfboards are made of petroleum-based plastics. Inflatable boards, so-called iSUPs, primarily consist of polyvinyl chloride (PVC), the solid hardboards are made of polystyrene or polyurethane in the core. Polyester or epoxy resins are used for the coating and reinforced with glass and carbon fabrics. This is exactly what we want to change by developing a completely ecological SUP hardboard made of recycled and natural materials: the »ecoSUP«. Our first development attempts have already led to promising results.

For the core, we use balsa wood from discarded rotor blades of wind turbines. At the end of their life cycle, these accumulate as waste. In order to achieve the longest possible CO2 binding, it makes sense to find material recycling possibilities for the balsa wood rather than simply burning it. We are creating a new recycling path for balsa wood as a raw material and reducing our CO2 emissions in the long term. For the shell of the »ecoSUP« we aim at a 100% bio-based Polymer. As reinforcement, we are concentrating on the use of flax fibers, as they have excellent mechanical properties and are grown in Europe.

We are a team led by Christoph, a scientist at the Fraunhofer Institute for Wood Research Wilhelm-Klauditz-Institut WKI in Braunschweig, and we want to develop the first completely ecological SUP board. Christoph and his team have laid the foundation for this with promising material developments and initial preliminary tests. Together with you and this crowdfunding campaign, we want to create visibility for the project and finance special tools and material costs for the first prototype. We want to prove that water sports are possible without plastic. To realize this, we need your support!

What is the project goal and who is the project for?

SUP boards made of recycled and natural materials would make the water sport even more environmentally friendly. Nowhere else than on the water, the human intervention in nature becomes more evident. Gigantic rubbish carpets, plastic in the stomachs of marine mammals or animals trapped in packaging remnants are visible signs of our throwaway society. We want to bring the environmentally friendly surfboard from a niche product to a broad application, using only natural and recycled materials.

Our initial focus is on SUP hardboards because the material is exposed to a wide range of factors such as moisture, salt water, UV radiation and mechanical stress in this sport. The lightweight composite material developed could be adapted for other water sports boards (e.g. surfboards, kiteboards) and recreational equipment (e.g. skateboards). Our vision is even broader: our technology could be used in boat building (e.g. cabin partitions, hulls) or in the mobility sector (e.g. train or automotive industry), which would reduce our ecological footprint in the long run.

Therefore, »ecoSUP« is aimed at all nature-loving water sports enthusiasts while also targeting all people interested in research who want to express their love of nature and set an example against environmental pollution. We want to inspire people who share with us the view that inventive talent and engineering skills can change the world.

Why would you support this project?

Lightweight construction is considered a technology of the future because of maximum weight savings. However, it generally uses fossil resources. If we succeed in developing lightweight construction materials from renewable resources, we could create new perspectives for entire sectors and industries while making our everyday life more environmentally friendly.

The »ecoSUP« would be the first example where we highlight that bio-lightweight construction material is a real alternative to conventional plastics. To ensure its competitiveness, we are subjecting the new bio-hybrid material to various tests. It should not only be more ecological but should also be relatively durable because of its high specific strength, while offering technical advantages for lightweight construction applications.

To enable as many water sports enthusiasts as possible to paddle on ecological boards and to ensure organic plastics find their way into our everyday lives, inventive spirit and passion are needed – two qualities that distinguish Fraunhofer researchers. The workshops and laboratories at the Fraunhofer WKI offer the best conditions for this. The preliminary tests have been completed and we are now holding a promising lightweight wood foam in our hands.

With crowdfunding we want to accelerate the development of the first »ecoSUP« and finance the purchase of materials and special tools for the prototype. Crowdfunding helps heart-felt projects like »ecoSUP« which are not in the immediate economic interest.

As a rule, we at Fraunhofer carry out contract research. In contrast to universities or similar public-sector research institutions, Fraunhofer researchers like Christoph have to acquire the majority of the funds for their projects themselves. Although the federal and state governments provide basic funding, this accounts for just one third of the budget.

In the early phase of material development, the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) has supported the »ecoSUP« project. Now the team is looking for additional funding sources to develop the product. This is generally where companies come into play as financiers. However, we do not want to develop the bio-based materials for a single company only. Rather, we want the ecological material to be widely used.

So, you as a crowd are a special kind of client in this case, the people that make this possible! Thank you for being here!

How will we use the money if the project is successfully funded? 

Reaching the first funding target (14,000 €) helps to purchase material and special tools for the first »ecoSUP«. To produce the prototype, we optimize the balsa wood foam and develop a suitable eco-based polyester resin. We subject the manufactured materials to a series of tests on mechanical properties, processability and durability using accelerated aging simulation in climate chambers. Afterwards, the prototype is donated to a non-profit organization.

The second funding goal (25,000 €) serves the development of accessories such as paddles, fins and fin boxes – to go alongside the »ecoSUP«. These accessories are also subject of intense practical tests regarding influences such as salt water, UV radiation or mechanical stress. After our tests, this additional equipment will also be donated to a non-profit organization.

Who are the people behind the project?

Project initiator of »ecoSUP« is Christoph, researcher at Fraunhofer WKI. In his spare time, he is often out and about on the SUP, ending his work days with some physical activity in nature. After studying engineering at the TU Braunschweig, he is now researching lightweight construction materials and sustainable solutions.

The idea for »ecoSUP« was born on a vacation trip. The otherwise so untouched island landscape was spoiled by a lot of urban waste. A look at his feet or more specific the SUP underneath made it clear that as a water sports enthusiast one is part of the problem oneself. Thus the desire to research sustainable materials was strengthened. Christoph found ideal conditions for this at the Fraunhofer WKI with its interdisciplinary teams.

The financial foundation stone for the now completed exploratory phase was laid by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF). The Fraunhofer WKI team is supported in the development of the material by researchers from the Technical University of Braunschweig. The team from the TU Braunschweig is also determining the ecological footprint of the new material composition. For the feasibility study and practical tests the researchers are also joined by experts from the field of materials science and the surf scene.

During this crowdfunding campaign, the research team around Christoph is supported by other colleagues from the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft: Alexandra and Federico help to promote the project and provide you with the latest project information. Malgorzata and her team at Fraunhofer IMW are doing research on crowdfunding and are supporting the campaign from a scientific perspective. Among other things, they have created a questionnaire to find out what motivates you to support projects from the scientific community.

Support now 

Cooperations

Fraunhofer IMW

The Fraunhofer Center for International Management and Knowledge Economy IMW is investigating aspects of sustainability, environmental awareness as well as effectiveness and scope in relation to the »ecoSUP« campaign. Click here for the survey.

Fraunhofer IMW

The Fraunhofer Center for International Management and Knowledge Economy IMW is investigating aspects of sustainability, environmental awareness as well as effectiveness and scope in relation to the »ecoSUP« campaign. Click here for the survey.

share
ecoSUP
www.startnext.com

Find & support

This video is played by Vimeo. By clicking on the play button, you agree to the transfer of necessary personal data (e.g. your IP address) to Vimeo Inc (USA) as the operator of Vimeo. For more information on the purpose and scope of data collection, please see the Startnext privacy policy. Learn more

Crowdfunding beendet
Unsere Vision: Wassersport wird plastikfrei! Mit eurer Hilfe entwickeln wir »ecoSUP« – ein ökologisches Stand-up-Paddle-Board – aus vollständig nachwachsendem Material. Unser holzbasierter Leichtbau-Werkstoff würde Wassersport umweltverträglicher machen und der gesamten Branche eine neue Perspektive geben. Unterstützt uns und setzt ein klares Zeichen gegen die Plastikflut in Gewässern und für diesen wunderbaren Sport im Einklang mit der Natur!
6.136 €
Fundingsumme
77
Unterstütz­er:innen
Datenschutzhinweis
Datenschutzhinweis
 ecoSUP
 ecoSUP
 ecoSUP
 ecoSUP
 ecoSUP

Über das Projekt

Finanzierungszeitraum 12.11.20 09:01 Uhr - 22.12.20 23:59 Uhr
Realisierungszeitraum März 2021 bis Februar 2023
Startlevel 14.000 €

helfen bei der Anschaffung von Material und Spezialwerkzeug für den ersten Prototyp, der nach unseren Versuchen einer gemeinnützigen Organisation zu Gute kommt.

Kategorie Umwelt
Stadt Braunschweig

Projektbeschreibung anzeigen ausblenden

Worum geht es in dem Projekt?

Stand-up-Paddling (kurz SUP) boomt und hat mittlerweile alle Gewässer, ob Meer, Fluss oder See, erobert. Das Stehpaddeln ist zur Trendsportart für Jung und Alt geworden und soll sogar olympisch werden. Nicht erst seitdem »Corona-Sommer« steigen die Verkaufszahlen von SUP-Boards. Allein auf dem Brett, umgegeben von Wasser, bedeutet das »Suppen« Freiheit, Unabhängigkeit und Entspannung und ist eine echte Natursportart. Sportlerinnen und -sportler benötigen wenig Infrastruktur, die Wild- und Wassertiere stören könnte und können direkt an heimischen Gewässern aktiv werden.

Wenig umweltfreundlich dagegen ist bislang die Herstellung von Surfmaterial und -zubehör. In der Regel bestehen herkömmliche Surfboards aus erdölbasierten Kunststoffen. Aufblasbare Boards, sog. iSUPs, bestehen größtenteils aus Polyvinylchlorid (PVC), die festen Hardboards aus Polystyrol oder Polyurethan im Kern. Für die Beschichtung werden Polyester- oder Epoxidharze verwendet und mit Glas und Carbonfasergeweben verstärkt. Genau das wollen wir ändern und ein vollständig ökologisches SUP-Hardboard aus recycelten und natürlichen Materialien entwickeln: das »ecoSUP«. Unsere ersten Entwicklungsversuche haben bereits zu vielversprechenden Ergebnissen geführt.

Für den Kern verwerten wir Balsaholz aus ausgedienten Rotorblättern von Windenergieanlagen. Diese fallen nach ihrem Lebenszyklus als Abfall an. Im Sinne einer möglichst langen CO2-Bindung ist es sinnvoll, stoffliche Verwertungsmöglichkeiten für das Balsaholz zu finden, anstatt es einfach zu verbrennen. Für den Rohstoff Balsaholz schaffen wir einen neuen Verwertungskreislauf und reduzieren langfristig unseren CO2-Ausstoß. Die Hülle des »ecoSUP« soll aus 100 % natürlichem Biopolymer bestehen. Hierbei konzentrieren wir uns auf den Einsatz von Flachsfasern, da sie über hervorragende mechanische Eigenschaften verfügen und in Europa angebaut werden.

Wir sind ein Team um Christoph, Wissenschaftler am Fraunhofer-Institut für Holzforschung Wilhelm-Klauditz-Institut WKI in Braunschweig und wollen das erste vollständig ökologische SUP-Board entwickeln. Christoph und sein Team legten mit einer vielversprechenden Materialentwicklung und ersten Vorversuchen den Grundstein hierfür. Mit dieser Crowdfunding-Kampagne wollen wir Sichtbarkeit für das Projekt schaffen und Spezialwerkzeug und Materialkosten für den ersten Prototyp gemeinsam mit euch finanzieren. Wir möchten beweisen, dass Wassersport ohne Plastik möglich ist. Dafür brauchen wir eure Unterstützung!

Was sind die Ziele und wer ist die Zielgruppe?

SUP-Boards aus recycelten und natürlichen Materialien würden den Wassersport noch umweltverträglicher machen. Nirgendwo sonst wird der Eingriff durch den Menschen in die Natur so deutlich wie auf dem Wasser. Gigantische Müllteppiche, Plastik in den Mägen von Meeressäugern oder in Verpackungsresten gefangene Tiere sind sichtbare Zeichen unserer Wegwerfgesellschaft. Wir wollen das umweltfreundliche Surfboard vom Nischenprodukt in die breite Anwendung bringen und dabei auf ausschließlich natürliche und recycelte Materialien zurückgreifen.

Zunächst liegt unser Fokus auf SUP-Hardboards, weil das Material hier bereits verschiedensten Einflüssen, wie Feuchte, Salzwasser, UV-Strahlung sowie mechanischer Beanspruchung ausgesetzt wird. Das entwickelte Leichtbau-Kompositmaterial könnte für andere Wassersport-Boards (z. B. Surfboards, Kiteboards) und Freizeitartikel (z. B. Skateboards) angepasst werden. Unsere Vision geht sogar noch weiter: unsere Technologie könnte beim Bootsbau (z. B. Kabinentrennwände, Rumpf) oder im Mobilitätssektor (z. B. Bahn, Automobilbranche) zum Einsatz kommen, was unseren ökologischen Fußabdruck langfristig reduzieren würde.

»ecoSUP« richtet sich daher an alle naturverbundenen Wassersportlerinnen und -sportler, aber auch an alle forschungsinteressierten Menschen, die ihrer Liebe zur Natur Ausdruck verleihen und ein Zeichen gegen Umweltverschmutzung setzen wollen. Wir wollen Menschen begeistern, die mit uns die Auffassung teilen, dass Erfindergeist und ingenieurwissenschaftliches Geschick die Welt verändern können.

Warum sollte jemand dieses Projekt unterstützen?

Leichtbau gilt aufgrund maximaler Gewichtseinsparung als Zukunftstechnologie, greift aber in der Regel auf fossile Ressourcen zurück. Schaffen wir es, Leichtbau-Materialien aus nachwachsenden Rohstoffen zu entwickeln, könnten wir neue Perspektiven für ganze Branchen und Industriezweige schaffen und unseren Alltag umweltverträglicher machen.

Das »ecoSUP« wäre das erste Beispiel, an dem wir zeigen, dass Bio-Leichtbaumaterial eine echte Alternative zu herkömmlichen Kunststoffen ist. Um die Konkurrenzfähigkeit sicherzustellen, unterziehen wir den neuen Bio-Hybridwerkstoff diversen Tests. Er soll nicht nur ökologischer, sondern auch durch seine hohe spezifische Festigkeit besonders langlebig sein und technische Vorteile für Leichtbau-Anwendungen bieten.

Damit möglichst viele Wassersportlerinnen und -sportler auf ökologischen Boards paddeln können und Biokunststoffe Einzug in unseren Alltag halten, braucht es Erfindergeist und Leidenschaft – zwei Eigenschaften die Fraunhofer-Forschende auszeichnen. Die Werkstätten und Labore am Fraunhofer WKI bieten dafür die besten Voraussetzungen. Die Vorversuche sind abgeschlossen und wir halten einen vielversprechenden Leichtbau-Holzschaum in Händen.

Mit Crowdfunding wollen wir die Entwicklung des ersten »ecoSUP« beschleunigen und die Anschaffung von Materialien und Spezialwerkzeug für den Prototyp finanzieren. Crowdfunding hilft Herzensprojekten wie »ecoSUP«, die nicht im unmittelbaren wirtschaftlichen Interesse liegen.

In der Regel betreiben wir bei Fraunhofer Auftragsforschung. Anders als an Universitäten oder ähnlichen Forschungseinrichtungen der öffentlichen Hand, müssen Fraunhofer-Forschende wie Christoph den Großteil der Mittel für ihre Projekte selbst akquirieren. Bund und Länder unterstützen zwar mit einer Grundfinanzierung – das macht aber gerade mal ein Drittel des Haushalts aus.

In der frühen Phase der Materialentwicklung hat das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) das Projekt »ecoSUP« gefördert. Nun geht das Team in die Phase der konkreten Materialentwicklung, bei der normalerweise Unternehmen als Auftraggeber ins Spiel kommen. Wir wollen die biobasierten Materialien aber nicht für ein einzelnes Unternehmen entwickeln. Vielmehr soll der ökologische Werkstoff breite Anwendung finden.

Ihr als Crowd seid in diesem Fall also eine spezielle Form von Auftraggeber, nämlich die Möglichmacher! Danke, dass es euch gibt!

Was passiert mit dem Geld bei erfolgreicher Finanzierung?

Das Erreichen des ersten Fundingziels (14.000 €) hilft bei der Anschaffung von Material und Spezialwerkzeug für das erste »ecoSUP«. Zur Herstellung des Prototyps optimieren wir den Balsaholzschaum und entwickeln ein passendes biobasiertes Polyesterharz. Die hergestellten Werkstoffe unterziehen wir Versuchsreihen zu mechanischen Eigenschaften, zur Verarbeitbarkeit sowie zur Dauerhaftigkeit anhand von beschleunigter Alterungssimulation in Klimakammern. Im Anschluss kommt der Prototyp einer gemeinnützigen Organisation zu Gute.

Das zweite Fundingziel (25.000 €) dient der Entwicklung von Zubehör, wie z. B. Paddel, Finnen und Finnenboxen – parallel zum »ecoSUP«. Auch dieses Zubehör unterziehen wir intensiven Praxistests hinsichtlich Einflüssen wie Salzwasser, UV-Strahlung oder mechanischer Beanspruchung. Dieses ergänzende Equipment stellen wir nach unseren Tests ebenfalls einer gemeinnützigen Organisation zur Verfügung.

Wer steht hinter dem Projekt?

Projektinitiator von »ecoSUP« ist Christoph, Forscher am Fraunhofer WKI. In seiner Freizeit ist er oft auf dem SUP unterwegs, um einen Arbeitstag sportlich in der Natur ausklingen zu lassen. Nach seinem Ingenieurstudium an der Technischen Universität Braunschweig forscht er nun an Leichtbau-Materialien und nachhaltigen Lösungen.
Die Idee für »ecoSUP« entstand während einer Urlaubsreise. Die sonst so unberührte Insellandschaft wurde durch reichlich Zivilisationsmüll getrübt. Ein Blick auf die Füße bzw. das SUP darunter machte klar, dass man als Wassersportlerinnen oder -sportler selbst Teil des Problems ist. So festigte sich der Wunsch, an nachhaltigen Materialien zu forschen. Dafür fand Christoph am Fraunhofer WKI mit seinen interdisziplinären Teams ideale Bedingungen.

Den finanziellen Grundstein für die jetzt abgeschlossene Sondierungsphase legte das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF). Bei der Entwicklung des Materials wird das Team des Fraunhofer WKI von Forscherinnen und Forschern der Technischen Universität Braunschweig unterstützt. Das Team der TU Braunschweig ermittelt zusätzlich den ökologischen Fußabdruck der neuen Materialzusammenstellung. Bei der Machbarkeitsstudie und beim Praxistest sind außerdem Expertinnen und Experten aus dem Bereich Materialwissenschaften und der Surfszene an Bord.

Während dieser Crowdfunding-Kampagne wird das Forscherteam um Christoph von weiteren Kolleginnen und Kollegen aus der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft unterstützt: Alexandra und Federico helfen, das Projekt bekannt zu machen und euch mit den neuesten Projektinfos zu versorgen. Malgorzata forscht mit ihrem Team am Fraunhofer IMW zum Thema Crowdfunding und begleitet die Kampagne aus wissenschaftlicher Sicht. Sie haben u. a. einen Fragebogen erstellt, um herauszufinden, was euch motiviert, Projekte aus der Wissenschaft zu unterstützen.

Unterstützen

Kooperationen

Fraunhofer IMW

Das Fraunhofer-Zentrum für Internationales Management und Wissensökonomie IMW untersucht Aspekte zur Nachhaltigkeit, zum Umweltbewusstsein sowie zur Wirksamkeit und Reichweite in Bezug auf die »ecoSUP«-Kampagne. Hier geht’s zur Umfrage.

Fraunhofer IMW

The Fraunhofer Center for International Management and Knowledge Economy IMW is investigating aspects of sustainability, environmental awareness as well as effectiveness and scope in relation to the »ecoSUP« campaign. Click here for the survey.

Teilen
ecoSUP
www.startnext.com

Diese Video wird von Vimeo abgespielt. Mit dem Klick auf den Play-Button stimmst du der Weitergabe dafür notwendiger personenbezogenen Daten (Bsp: Deine IP-Adresse) an Vimeo Inc (USA) als Betreiberin von Vimeo zu. Weitere Informationen zum Zweck und Umfang der Datenerhebung findest du in den Startnext Datenschutzbestimmungen. Mehr erfahren