Crowdfunding finished
More than 500 companies around the globe are working with Holacracy®, a new way of how work can be done in organizations. As organizational psychologists, we would like to know more about Holacracy® from a neutral and scientific perspective. Systematically. Empirically. Internationally. Longitudinally. And across multiple companies.
6,430 €
Fundingsum
20
Supporters

About this project

Funding period 7/4/17 12:02 AM - 8/21/17 11:59 PM
Realisation Fall '17 - at least Summer '18
Start level 40,000 €
Category Science
City Olten

Project description show hide

What is this project all about?

Holacracy® is a new way of how organizations can be structured - based on self-regulation. Therefore, it is often mentioned as belonging to „responsive“ or „teal“ organizations.

Holacracy® is a trademark of HolacracyOne®, LLC and has existed for over 10 years now. More than 500 organizations around the globe run with it (e.g. Switzerland, Germany, France, Austria, UK, USA, Australia).

"Holacracy® is a radical new way of working. It completely replaces the conventional management hierarchy with a tested, customizable self-management practice that empowers people throughout an organization to make meaningful decisions and drive change."
(www.holacracy.org/how-it-works)

To this date, there is no scientific research on Holacracy® on a large, international, longitudinal and cross-company scale.

We want to close this research gap. Our project is about gaining empirical insights into Holacracy® and to understand its elements and consequences.

And since organizational change is a longterm-term commitment, we want to do research on a longterm scale for at least 4 years. Therefore, the Crowdfunding needs to cover the research expenses for the next 4 years.

What is the project goal and who is the project for?

Our aim is to answer the following research questions :

(1) How can we explain Holacracy® psychologically? How does Holacracy® affect psychological factors (such as employee satisfaction, commitment, engagement, productivity, employer attractiveness, well-being)?

(2) Which stakeholders have what kinds of expectations regarding Holacracy®? And (to what extent) do they get fulfilled?

(3) Which problems and limits does Holacracy® entail?

Each big research question can include several “small” questions, such as: Is Holacracy® only valid for certain phases of an organization such as a Start-Up? Is it valid for large companies with more than 1'000 employees? What does hiring and firing look like when there is no traditional HR? How do people decide on the salary? How do people who were used to having positional power deal with the loss of power and control? What are the biggest personal challenges of Holacracy® practitioners?

We have 2 target groups of our funding campaign and our research:
#1 Your organization!
#2 You personally! Meaning any employee or individual in general.

You or / and your organization can already work with Holacracy®, are soon about to do so or are simply interested in knowing more about and experimenting with new ways of work (such as self-organization, distributed power and leadership, agility driven structures and processes).

Especially, if you are driven by one or more of the following thoughs, you belong to our target groups :-)

  • Digitalization, globalization and demographic changes affect our way to work. Traditional organizational structures and processes reach their limits. We need recipes to be responsive and brave enough to experiment.
  • I am / We are curious how self-organization and a network structure can work in real life.
  • How can we be successful as an organization and be a great place to work at the same time?
  • Especially if organizations change their current structure to Holacracy® – how do they solve typical business cases? What does it look like in 1, 2, 3, 4 years?
  • I, personally, doubt that positional power is the optimal solution. Why am I kept small within my organizations framework?
  • All those unproductive and never-ending meetings. Aren’t there any alternatives?
Why would you support this project?

Why invest into research?
Because the differentiation of subjective opinions and evidence-based facts matters. Impactful decisions, especially if they are about organizational change, should be based on large scaled facts, not on single blog posts.

Why invest into research on Holacracy®?
At the moment, there is a huge hype around Holacracy® including a controversial discussion about it. To some, Holacracy® is handled like the new solution of how organizations are structured. To others, Holacracy® is just old wine in new bottles. We want to know the truth based on clear systematic and empirical facts.

Why invest in research on Holacracy® by organizational psychologists?
As working people, we spend several hours a day for an organization – it may be for our own organization, or that of our employer. The way these organizations are structured and built, the way they influence our behavior and well-being. To work nowadays means to be productive AND stay healthy AND find a purpose, do meaningful work, participate, be creative etc.. How this can be achieved is our mission to find out. Organizational psychology supplies us with appropriate instruments and methods to do that.

How will we use the money if the project is successfully funded? 

The minimum scale is a study for at least 1 year with at least 100 people working in at least 5 companies. This could lead to a budget of 40'000€ - based on similar studies at our institute.

But actually, we like to think big. Therefore, our goal is to do a longitudinal study over 4 years with as much people in as much companies as possible. This could sum up into ... as much money as possible. But we assume, that 160'000€ can be a target.
Remember: More money --> more aspects we can do research on --> more detailed answers --> more useful for companies working with Holacracy or are thinking about implementing it.

Most of the money covers the personnell expenses of Johann and Anne executing the usual steps within a research study:

  • doing an extense literature research
  • recruiting the sample AND keeping its motivation to participate high
  • developing appropriate methods to collect data
  • evaluate and interpret data (regularly)
  • providing you the results open access

A little part of the funded money will cover potential travel costs in case we need to visit Holacracy® organizations to collect observational data or do workshops. In general, we aim to keep the study virtual as far as possible and reasonable.

During the study we will be open for your feedback, ideas, comments. Our goal is to keep the discussion about Holacracy® alive and provide you with information on a regular base.

Who are the people behind the project?

Johann and Anne are both organizational psychologists at the Institute for Research and Development of Collaborative Processes ifk at the School for Applied Psychology FHNW in Olten, Switzerland.

Some personal notes:

Johann:
Since my PhD in Work and Organizational Psychology, I am interested in how organizations function - and how work is changing. In the past, I laid my focus mainly on mobile and flexible work (e.g., telecommuting), but now we are studying other forms of „new work“ in our team as well. Regarding Holacracy®, I am curious to find out if it can keep its promise (a „new operating system“) and how people can orient themselves in this new system.

Anne:
Since my Master thesis about team effectiveness and leadership in Scrum teams, I am interested in "new work". Now, I am fascinated by Holacracy® and want to make a deep dive into it. To collect any experiences made with Holacracy®, structure it and make it transparent and public - that is what I am passionate about. I am convinced that we can understand and create (responsive) organizations of the future with this research.

Support now 

share
Holacracy® - what's all the fuss about?
www.startnext.com

Login
Registrieren
Newsletter

Mit deiner Anmeldung akzeptierst du unsere Nutzungsbedingungen und Datenschutzbestimmungen.

Projekte / Wissenschaft
Über 500 Organisationen weltweit arbeiten mit Holokratie®, einem neuen Ansatz, wie Arbeit in Organisationen erledigt werden kann. Als Organisationspsychologen möchten wir gerne mehr über Holokratie® wissen, und zwar aus einer neutralen und wissenschaftlichen Perspektive. Sytematisch. Empirisch. International. Langfristig. Und über viele Unternehmen hinweg.
Startphase
Beantworte drei kurze Fragen und hilf dem Starter.
 Holokratie® - was soll der ganze Trubel?

Projekt

Finanzierungszeitraum 21.08.17 23:59 Uhr
Realisierungszeitraum Winter 2017
Fundingschwelle 40.000 €
Fundingziel 160.000 €
Stadt Olten
Kategorie Wissenschaft

Worum geht es in dem Projekt?

Holokratie® ist eine neue Art der Unternehmensstruktur und -prozesse. Es existiert bereits seit über 10 Jahren und über 500 Organisationen weltweit (z.B. Schweiz, Deutschland, Frankreich, Österreich, UK, USA, Australien) arbeiten damit.

"Holacracy is a complete, packaged system for self-management in organizations. Holacracy replaces the traditional management hierarchy with a new peer-to-peer 'operating system' that increases transparency, accountability, and organizational agility.
Through a transparent rule set and a tested meeting process, Holacracy allows businesses to distribute authority, empowering all employees to take a leadership role and make meaningful decisions."
(www.holacracy.org/how-it-works)

Bis heute hinkt die wissenschaftliche Forschung dem neuen Phänomen hinterher und es fehlen grössere Studien, die Holokratie® international und langfristig erforschen und dabei mehrere Unternehmen untersuchen.

Diese Forschungslücke möchten wir schliessen. Unsere Studie soll empirische Einblicke in Holokratie® ermöglichen und zu einem besseren Verständnis seiner Elemente und Konsequenzen beitragen.

Und weil sich organisationaler Wandel oftmals über eine lange Zeit hinwegzieht, wollen wir unsere Studie auch langfristig für mindestens 4 Jahre durchführen. Das Crowdfunding sollte daher die entstehenden Ausgaben der kommenden 4 Jahre decken.

Was sind die Ziele und wer ist die Zielgruppe?

Unser Ziel ist es, die folgenden 3 Forschungsfragen zu beantworten:

(1) Wie können wir die Holokratie® psychologisch erklären? Wie wirkt sich Holokratie auf psychologische Faktoren (z.B. Mitarbeiterzufriedenheit, Commitment, Engagement, Produktivität, Arbeitgeberattraktivität, Erfolg) aus?

(2) Welche Stakeholder haben welche Erwartungen an die Holokratie®? Und (in welchem Umfang) werden sie erfüllt?

(3) Welche Probleme und Grenzen bringt die Holokratie® mit sich?

Jede grosse Forschungsfrage kann verschiedene "kleine" Forschungsfragen beinhalten, u.a.: Ist die Holokratie® nur für bestimmte Phasen einer Organisation empfehlenswert, wie z.B. die Startup-Phase? Ist es für Unternehmen mit mehr als 1'000 Mitarbeitenden praktikabel? Wie geht Rekrutierung / Anstellung aber auch das Kündigen von Mitarbeitenden wenn es kein traditionelles HR mehr gibt? Wie wird über das Gehalt entschieden? Wie gehen Personen, die an Positionsmacht gewöhnt sind, mit dem Macht- und Kontrollverlust um? Was sind die grössten persönlichen Herausforderungen von Holokratie-Praktizierenden®?

Unsere Crowdfundingkampagne und unsere Forschung richten sich an 2 Zielgruppen:
#1 Deine Organisation!
#2 Du, ganz persönlich. Das heisst, jede/n Mitarbeitende/n oder Indidivuum im Allgemeinen.

Du oder / und deine Organisation kann dabei bereits mit der Holokratie® arbeiten, ihr beginnt bald erst damit oder ihr seid schlichtweg daran interessiert, mehr über neue Arbeitsformen (Selbstorganisation, verteilte Macht und Führung, agilitätsgetriebene Strukturen und Prozesse) zu wissen und zu experimentieren.

Vor allem, wenn du dich in den untenstehenden "Gedanken" wiederfindest, gehörst du zu unserer Zielgruppe :-)

  • Digitalisierung, Globalisierung und demografischer Wandel beeinflussen unsere Art zu arbeiten. Traditionelle Organisationsstrukturen und -prozesse geraten an ihre Grenzen. Wir brauchen "Rezepte", um responsiv und mutig zu sein, zu experimentieren.
  • Ich bin / Wir sind neugierig, wie Selbstorganisation und eine Netzwerkstruktur funktionieren kann.
  • Wie können wir gleichzeitig erfolgreich als Organisation und attraktiv als Arbeitgeber sein?
  • Besonders Unternehmen, die ihre bestehenden Strukturen auf Holacracy geändert haben - wie haben sie typische Business Cases für sich gelöst? Und wie sieht das in 1, 2, 3 oder sogar in 4 Jahren aus?
  • Ich, ganz persönlich, habe Zweifel an der positions- oder funktionsgebundenen Macht. Warum werde ich durch den organisationalen Rahmen kleingehalten?
  • All diese unproduktiven und niemals endenden Meetings. Gibt es da keine Alternativen?

Warum sollte jemand dieses Projekt unterstützen?

Warum in Forschung investieren?
Weil die Unterscheidung zwischen subjektiven Meinungen evidenzbasierten Fakten enorm entscheidend ist. Entscheidungen für die Zukunft, v.a. wenn es um organisationalen Wandel geht, sollten auf umfangreichen Fakten basieren - nicht auf einzelnen Blog Posts.

Warum in Forschung über die Holokratie® investieren?
Im Moment geht ein grosser Hype um die Holokratie® herum, die auch eine sehr kontroverse Diskussion zeigt. Für manche ist Holokratie® dabei die neue Lösung wie Organisationen funktionieren sollten, für andere ist es lediglich alter Wein in neuen Schläuchen.
Wir wollen die Wahrheit und zwar basierend auf klaren, systematischen und empirischen Fakten. Wir möchten Antworten für (bald werdende) Holokratie-Praktizierende® liefern, um Holokratie-Implementierungen zu unterstützen und zu einer soliden Infobasis beitragen, ob Holokratie® zur Organisation passt - oder eben nicht.

Warum in Forschung über die Holokratie® seitens Organisationspsychologen investieren?
Als arbeitende Menschen verbringen wir mehrere Stunden pro Tag in einer Organisation - sei das deine eigene oder die deines Arbeitgebers. So wie diese Organisationen aufgebaut und strukturiert sind, so beeinflussen sie auch unser Verhalten und Wohlbefinden. Arbeiten - heute - heisst, produktiv zu sein UND gesund zu bleiben UND einen Zweck zu erfüllen, sinnvolle Arbeit zu leisten, zu partizipieren, kreativ zu sein, etc... Wie man das alles erreichen kann, ist unsere Mission. Die Organisationspsychologie stellt hierfür die angemessenen Instrumente zud Methoden zur Verfügung.

Was passiert mit dem Geld bei erfolgreicher Finanzierung?

Der Mindestumfang unserer Studie ist 1 Jahr mit mindestens 100 Teilnehmenden, die in mindestens 5 Organisationen arbeiten. Die Aufwände für eine Studie in diesem Umfang ergeben ein Budget von ca. 40'000€.

Aber eigentlich ... denken wir lieber gross. Deshalb ist es unser Ziel eine langfristige Studie über 4 Jahre mit so vielen Teilnehmenden und so vielen Organisationen wie möglich durchzuführen. Das addiert sich dann zu ... so viel Geld wie möglich. Aber wir nehmen an, dass 160'000€ ein realistisches Ziel sein kann.

Denn: Mehr Geld --> mehr Aspekte, die wir in unserer Studie untersuchen können --> mehr detailliertere Antworten --> mehr Nutzen für Organisationen, die mit Holokratie® arbeiten oder dies bald tun werden.

Das meiste der Fundingsumme deckt die Personalkosten von Johann und Anne ab, die in ihrer Arbeit typischen Forschungstätigkeiten nachgehen:

  • intensive Literaturrecherche
  • Rekrutierung der Teilnehmenden UND deren Motivation ;-)
  • Entwicklung geeigneter Methoden zur Datenerhebung
  • (regelmässige) Auswertung und Interpretation der Ergebnisse
  • Zurverfügungstellen der Ergebnisse - für euch!

Während der Studie sind wir selbstverständlich für euer Feedback, eure Ideen, eure Kommentare etc. erreichbar. Wir möchten mit dieser Studie die Diskussion über die Holokratie® fördern und euch regelmässig mit Infos aus unserer Studie versorgen.

Wer steht hinter dem Projekt?

Johann und Anne sind beide Organisationspsychologen am Institut für Kooperationsforschung und -entwicklung der Hochschule für Angewandte Psychologie FHNW in Olten, Schweiz.

Nachfolgend ein paar persönliche Worte:

Johann ... [to be filled out]

Anne:
Während meines Psychologiestudiums, habe ich bereits in den Bereichen der Marktforschung, Onlineforschung, Nonprofit und Strategieberatung gearbeitet. 2015 erhielt ich dann meinen Abschluss in Angewandter Psychologie. das Thema meiner Masterarbeit war "Team Effectiveness and Leadership in Scrum Teams". Nun bin ich von der Holokratie® als einer der "neuen" Organisationsformen fasziniert und möchte gerne mehr über sie lernen und erfahren. Jegliche Erfahrungen, die mit Holacracy gemacht wurden und werden zu sammeln, zu strukturieren, zu untersuchen und der Öffentlichkeit transparent zur Verfügung zu stellen - das ist meine Passion dieses Projektes. Ich bin überzeugt, dass wir mit dieser Studie (responsive) Organisationen der Zukunft besser verstehen und gestalten können.

Impressum
Hochschule für Angewandte Psychologie, Fachhochschule Nordwestschweiz FHNW
Anne Maigatter
Riggenbachstrasse 16
4600 Olten Schweiz

Tel.: +41 62 957 23 96
St.nr: CHE-116.216.865 MWST

Kuratiert von

Sciencestarter

Sciencestarter ist die deutschsprachige Crowdfunding-Community für die Wissenschaft. Gegründet wurde Sciencestarter von Wissenschaft im Dialog (WiD) im Herbst 2012, um kleineren wissenschaftlichen Projekten eine schnelle und einfache Umsetzung zu ermöglichen und gleichzeitig den Austausch zwis...

Über Startnext

Startnext ist die größte Crowdfunding-Plattform für kreative und nachhaltige Ideen, Projekte und Startups in Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz. Künstler, Kreative, Erfinder und Social Entrepreneurs stellen ihre Ideen vor und finanzieren sie mit der Unterstützung von vielen Menschen.

Startnext Statistik

44.101.926 € von der Crowd finanziert
4.939 erfolgreiche Projekte
835.000 Nutzer

Sicherheit

Ist uns wichtig, deshalb halten wir uns an diese Standards:

  • Datenschutz nach deutschem Recht
  • Sichere Bezahlung mit SSL
  • Sichere Transaktionen über unseren Treuhänder Secupay AG
  • Legitimation der Starter nach deutschem Recht

Bezahlmethoden

Kreativität gemeinsam finanzieren - Entdecke neue Ideen oder starte dein Projekt!

© 2010 - 2017 Startnext Crowdfunding GmbH