Crowdfunding finished
We help to close the gap between aspiration and reality in climate protection! SCIARA develops scientific online games that enable thousands of participants to explore, design and understand possible climate futures together. Decision-makers in politics, business and society can use these games to test climate protection measures for social acceptance in advance, in order to be able to act more quickly and confidently in favour of the climate.
64,489 €
Fundingsum
603
Supporters
Michael Schmidt
Michael Schmidt Projektberater "Impressively pulled through this crowd financing phase."
Privacy notice
Privacy notice
 SCIARA
 SCIARA
 SCIARA
 SCIARA

About this project

Funding period 1/6/21 9:12 AM - 2/14/21 11:59 PM
Realisation 01.02.2021-01.11.2021
Start level 60,000 €

Add to our self-financing so we can bring a first version of our software onto the Internet in a secure and data protection-compliant manner.

Category Environment
City Potsdam

Project description show hide

What is this project all about?

We invite you to become part of climate impact research!

Our non-profit company SCIARA develops scientific online simulation games that allow you to explore, shape and understand possible climate futures in fast motion together with thousands of other players - based on scientific models!
Your participation is free and anonymous.
b]The aim of the game: Live the best life possible in the changing world according to your own values and needs. We don't give you these values - no matter whether you are a climate activist or a sceptic.
In the game, you make decisions about your lifestyle again and again in view of the changing world and the climate protection measures introduced: How will you live, work, consume, organise your leisure time, be mobile, feed yourself, travel and invest your money? Where will you invest in lower energy and resource consumption? What can you afford? What must you afford? What do you want to afford?
In the game, you can constantly experience vividly and realistically what the consequences of your own and all participants' actions are and will be, extrapolated to the total population. How is the world warming up? How fast is the sea level rising? Which coastal cities are threatened by it? How many extreme weather events are there? What does this mean for me? How is my health and life expectancy changing? How much time can I spend on what?
But we also want to help close the gap between the state of science and the implementation of sufficiently effective climate protection measures.
The climate protection measures that can be experienced in the various game rounds are introduced by scientists, the SCIARA community of Citizen Scientists, but also and above all by decision-makers in politics, business, society, in order to see how you and the other players react to them, support them, accept or reject them, circumvent them, ignore them or even surpass them and demand more.
In this way, they can implement the measures in reality that are climate effective and socially accepted at the same time.

What is the project goal and who is the project for?

We want to achieve two goals before the end of 2021:
1. Citizens of Germany, Europe and the world should be able to vividly experience the effects of climate change and the measures against it.
2. Decision-makers in politics, business and society should be able to test their climate change measures for social acceptance.

Why would you support this project?

In view of the existential threat posed by climate change, we as humanity can no longer afford to go blindly into the future. We need a way to better understand which measures are socially "flying" and which ones are pipedreams.

With your support, you will ensure that the SCIARA team can further develop the necessary tools and bring them to application maturity without months of interruption and loss of know-how.

If you would like to participate in the scientific discovery process yourself, we offer you a reward that will make you a member of our citizen-scientist community. This allows you to participate directly in the design of our experiments.

How will we use the money if the project is successfully funded? 

We are funding our existing and possibly expanded team of software development, design and management professionals with €60,000 for each development sprint of two weeks in length.

Our team members will be provided to SCIARA at cost by the SCIARA shareholders under the existing joint venture agreement.

Who are the people behind the project?

The non-profit SCIARA GmbH, in cooperation with the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research.

We are impartial, open-ended and science-oriented. We are driven by the goal of being measurably effective against climate change and its consequences.

The partners of SCIARA GmbH are the individuals

  • Sebastian Kutscha (entrepreneur) and
  • Daniel Tamberg (entrepreneur)


and the IT companies


According to its statutes, profits of the GmbH cannot be distributed. We reinvest them into further development of our system or donate them to environmental organisations.

SCIARA has an official cooperation agreement with the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research (PIK). PIK provides models and data, advises us on the creation of the scenarios and helps us with the scientific implementation.

We are also officially endorsed by

Project updates

1/23/21 - We have updated the project description to...

We have updated the project description to make it more understandable.

Support now 

Cooperations

Scientists for Future

"Scientists for Future supports SCIARA with scientific expertise. SCIARA's tools make the consequences of decisions based on the findings of climate science clear and tangible. SCIARA is thus an excellent tool for lively science communication."

Andlinger Center for Energy and the Environment

The Andlinger Center for Energy and the Environment at Princeton University is a research and education centre that develops technologies and solutions to secure our energy and environmental future.

Center for BioComplexity der Princeton-Universität

Princeton University's Center for BioComplexity studies the mechanisms, from cells to ecosystems and the biosphere, that maintain critical regional and global processes underlying our life support systems.

Discover more projects

share
SCIARA
www.startnext.com

Find & support

This video is played by YouTube. By clicking on the play button, you agree to the transfer of necessary personal data (e.g. your IP address) to Google Inc (USA) as the operator of YouTube. For more information on the purpose and scope of data collection, please see the Startnext privacy policy. Learn more

Crowdfunding beendet
Wir helfen, die Lücke zwischen Anspruch und Wirklichkeit im Klimaschutz zu schließen! SCIARA entwickelt wissenschaftliche Online-Simulationsspiele, mit denen tausende Teinehmer*innen gemeinsam mögliche Klimazukünfte erkunden, gestalten und verstehen können. Entscheider*innen in Politik, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft können in diesen Spielen Klimaschutzmaßnahmen vorab auf gesellschaftliche Akzeptanz testen, um schneller und sicherer klimawirksam handeln zu können.
64.489 €
Fundingsumme
603
Unterstütz­er:innen
Michael Schmidt
Michael Schmidt Projektberatung "Eindrucksvoll durchgezogene Crowd-Finanzierungsrunde."
Datenschutzhinweis
Datenschutzhinweis
 SCIARA
 SCIARA
 SCIARA
 SCIARA

Über das Projekt

Finanzierungszeitraum 06.01.21 09:12 Uhr - 14.02.21 23:59 Uhr
Realisierungszeitraum 15.02.2021-01.11.2021
Startlevel 60.000 €

Ergänzung zur Eigenfinanzierung durch die Teilhaber, um unsere Software in einer ersten Version sicher und datenschutzkonform ins Internet zu bringen.

Kategorie Umwelt
Stadt Potsdam

Projektbeschreibung anzeigen ausblenden

Worum geht es in dem Projekt?

Wir laden Dich ein, Teil der Klimafolgenforschung zu werden!

Unser Non-Profit-Unternehmen SCIARA entwickelt wissenschaftliche Online-Simulationsspiele, mit denen Du gemeinsam mit tausenden anderer Spieler*innen im Zeitraffer mögliche Klimazukünfte erkunden, gestalten und verstehen kannst – auf Basis wissenschaftlicher Modelle!
Deine Teilnahme ist kostenlos und anonym.
Das Ziel des Spiels: Lebe nach Deinen eigenen Werten und Bedürfnissen das beste Leben, das möglich ist in der sich ändernden Welt. Wir geben Dir diese Werte nicht vor - egal, ob Du Klimaaktivist*in oder Skeptiker*in bist.
Im Spiel triffst Du angesichts der sich ändernden Welt und eingeführter Klimaschutzmaßnahmen immer wieder neu Entscheidungen über Deinen Lebensstil: Wie wirst Du wohnen, arbeiten, konsumieren, Deine Freizeit gestalten, mobil sein, Dich ernähren, wie reisen und Dein Geld anlegen? Wo investierst Du in geringeren Energie- und Ressourcenverbrauch? Was kannst Du Dir leisten? Was musst Du Dir leisten? Was willst Du Dir leisten?
Im Spiel kannst Du dabei ständig anschaulich und realistisch erfahren, was die Folgen Deines eigenen und des Handelns aller Teilnehmer*innen sind und sein werden, hochgerechnet auf die Gesamtbevölkerung. Wie erwärmt sich die Welt? Wie schnell steigt der Meeresspiegel? Welche Küstenstädte sind dadurch bedroht? Wieviele Extremwetter-Ereignisse gibt es? Was heißt das für mich? Wie verändern sich meine Gesundheit und meine Lebenserwartung? Wieviel Zeit kann ich wofür aufwenden?
Wir wollen aber auch helfen, die Lücke zwischen dem Stand der Wissenschaft und der Umsetzung von ausreichend wirksamen Klimaschutzmaßnahmen zu schließen.
Die in den verschiedenen Spielrunden erlebbaren Klimaschutzmaßnahmen werden von Wissenschaftler*innen, der SCIARA-Gemeinschaft von Citizen Scientists, aber auch und vor allem von Entscheider*innen in Politik, Wirtschaft, Gesellschaft eingebracht, um zu sehen, wie Du und die anderen Mitspieler*innen darauf reagiert, sie unterstützt, hinnehmt oder ablehnt, sie umgeht, ignoriert oder sogar noch übertrefft und nach mehr verlangt.
So können sie in der Realität die Maßnahmen umsetzen, die gleichzeitig klimawirksam und gesellschaftlich akzeptiert sind.

Was sind die Ziele und wer ist die Zielgruppe?

Wir wollen noch in 2021 zwei Ziele erreichen:
1. Bürger*innen Deutschlands, Europas und der Welt sollen die Auswirkungen des Klimawandels und der Maßnahmen dagegen anschaulich und interaktiv erleben können.
2. Entscheider*innen in Politik, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft sollen ihre vorgeschlagenen Klimawandelmaßnahmen auf gesellschaftliche Akzeptanz überprüfen können und so die wirksamste Kombination aus Maßnahmen und deren Kommunikation finden.

Warum sollte jemand dieses Projekt unterstützen?

Angesichts der existentiellen Bedrohung durch den Klimawandel können wir es uns als Menschheit nicht mehr leisten, Klimaschutzmaßnahmen blind für die Zukunft umzusetzen. Wir brauchen eine Möglichkeit, besser zu verstehen, welche Maßnahmen gesellschaftlich "fliegen" und welche Rohrkrepierer sind.

Mit Deiner Unterstützung stellst Du sicher, dass das SCIARA-Team das dafür notwendige Werkzeug ohne monatelange Unterbrechung und Know-how-Verlust im Team weiterentwickeln und zur Anwendungsreife bringen kann.

Wenn Du Dich gern selbst am wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnisprozess beteiligen willst, bieten wir Dir ein Dankeschön, das Dich zum Mitglied unserer Bürger-Wissenschaftler-Community macht. Damit kannst Du unmittelbar am Gestalten unserer Experimente teilhaben.

Was passiert mit dem Geld bei erfolgreicher Finanzierung?

Wir finanzieren mit je 60.000€ unser bestehendes und ggf. noch ausgeweitetes Team von Software-Entwicklungs-, Design- und Management-Profis für einen Entwicklungsmonat.

Unsere Team-Mitglieder werden dem Projekt von den SCIARA-Teilhabern im Rahmen des bestehenden Joint-Venture-Vertrages zum Selbstkostenpreis bereitgestellt.

Wer steht hinter dem Projekt?

Die non-profit SCIARA GmbH in Kooperation mit dem Potsdam Institut für Klimafolgenforschung.

Wir sind unparteiisch, ergebnisoffen und wissenschaftsorientiert. Uns treibt das Ziel an, messbar wirksam gegen den Klimawandel und seine Folgen zu sein.

Die Gründer der SCIARA GmbH sind

  • Sebastian Kutscha (Unternehmer) und
  • Daniel Tamberg (Unternehmer)

Die Entwicklung erfolgt zum Selbstkostenpreis durch die folgenden IT-Partner:

Gemäß Satzung dürfen Gewinne der GmbH nicht ausgeschüttet werden. Wir re-investieren sie in die Weiterentwicklung und Verbeitung unseres Systems oder spenden sie für Umweltorganisationen.

SCIARA hat einen offiziellen Kooperationsvertrag mit dem Potsdam Institut für Klimafolgenforschung (PIK).
Das PIK stellt Modelle und Daten bereit, berät uns bei der Erstellung der Szenarien und hilft uns bei der wissenschaftlichen Umsetzung.

Wir werden offiziell auch unterstützt von

Das Video wurde gedreht und produziert von Valentin Hansen (Madnizz/Cohibaboyzz).

Projektupdates

23.01.21 - Wir haben die Projektbeschreibung...

Wir haben die Projektbeschreibung aktualisiert, um sie verständlicher zu machen.

Unterstützen

Kooperationen

Scientists for Future

"Die Scientists for Future unterstützen das Projekt SCIARA mit wissenschaftlicher Expertise. Mit Hilfe der Werkzeuge von SCIARA werden die Konsequenzen von Entscheidungen auf Basis der Erkenntnisse der Klimawissenschaft erfahrbar gemacht."

Andlinger Center for Energy and the Environment

Das Andlinger Center for Energy and the Environment an der Princeton University ist ein Forschungs- und Ausbildungszentrum, das Technologien und Lösungen entwickelt, die unsere Energie- und Umweltzukunft sichern.

Center for BioComplexity der Princeton-Universität

Das Center for BioComplexity der Uni Princeton untersucht die Mechanismen, von der Zelle bis zu Ökosystemen und der Biosphäre, die entscheidende regionale und globale Prozesse aufrechterhalten, die unseren Lebenserhaltungssystemen zugrunde liegen

Weitere Projekte entdecken

Teilen
SCIARA
www.startnext.com

Finden & Unterstützen

Diese Video wird von YouTube abgespielt. Mit dem Klick auf den Play-Button stimmst du der Weitergabe dafür notwendiger personenbezogenen Daten (Bsp: Deine IP-Adresse) an Google Inc (USA) als Betreiberin von YouTube zu. Weitere Informationen zum Zweck und Umfang der Datenerhebung findest du in den Startnext Datenschutzbestimmungen. Mehr erfahren