Crowdfunding finished
With this Startnext campaign you can support Sjaella in financing our new CD "Origins" as well as an accompanying Dolby Atmos EP. The album will be released this autumn! We thank you for your interest and are looking forward to giving our music back to you in return.
17,428 €
Fundingsum
164
Supporters
Privacy notice
Privacy notice

About this project

Funding period 6/28/21 12:57 PM - 9/12/21 12:00 AM
Start level 15,000 €

For the production of our new album "Origins".

Category Music
City Leipzig

Project description show hide

What is this project all about?

"Origins" is the product of a sudden standstill, a phase of reorganization, a return to our origins. The first roots of the English-language program had already grown in recent years, but it found its breeding ground in the summer of 2020 in the form of calm work processes and courage through fresh sources of inspiration.

The numerous contents of the program come together in one story. We dedicate ourselves to the natural cycles that surround us - the seasons, the elements, day and night, transience and rebirth and also the idiosyncratic cycle of the female body. The framework of "Origins" is formed by key words from the history of creation with a post-apocalyptic vacuum. We see this space as the source of the emergence of new life and as the bridge to the beginning of the program. For us, "Origins" shows many small cyclical phenomena within a large cycle of life.

Newly arranged songs from the 16th and 17th centuries, e.g. by Henry Purcell, are played alongside contemporary compositions, some of which follow the style of American minimal music, such as pieces of David Lang.


For the musical implementation, we have worked closely with international composers, whose work we appreciate and want to convey to the outside world - most importantly those of the artists Meredi (GER), Paola Prestini and Shara Nova (USA).

For us, »Origins« is a project that can connect, inspire and provide impetus. Which enriches women's choir literature and honors the creative work of numerous artists. It is an expression of our striving for further development. A world of sound that can ultimately give moments of calm and enjoyment.

What is the project goal and who is the project for?

"Origins" is the product of a sudden standstill, a phase of reorganization, a return to our origins. The first roots of the English-language program had already grown in recent years, but it found its breeding ground in the summer of 2020 in the form of calm work processes and courage through fresh sources of inspiration.

The numerous contents of the program come together in one story. We dedicate ourselves to the natural cycles that surround us - the seasons, the elements, day and night, transience and rebirth and also the idiosyncratic cycle of the female body. The framework of "Origins" is formed by key words from the history of creation with a post-apocalyptic vacuum. We see this space as the source of the emergence of new life and as the bridge to the beginning of the program. For us, "Origins" shows many small cyclical phenomena within a large cycle of life.

Newly arranged songs from the 16th and 17th centuries, e.g. by Henry Purcell, are played alongside contemporary compositions, some of which follow the style of American minimal music, such as pieces of David Lang.


For the musical implementation, we have worked closely with international composers, whose work we appreciate and want to convey to the outside world - most importantly those of the artists Meredi (GER), Paola Prestini and Shara Nova (USA).

For us, »Origins« is a project that can connect, inspire and provide impetus. Which enriches women's choir literature and honors the creative work of numerous artists. It is an expression of our striving for further development. A world of sound that can ultimately give moments of calm and enjoyment.

Why would you support this project?

In order to let such a project draw wide circles, every artist needs the support of other people who talk about it, give it away or sponsor it financially. Our own resources are almost exhausted by the Corona crisis and yet we felt the need to take this big step with "Origins". Let's make this step even bigger together!

How will we use the money if the project is successfully funded? 

100% of your money goes into the entire production of the CD »Origins«.

The biggest item before the recording itself were the new compositions and arrangements. Only two tracks in the program were not commissioned by Sjaella.

Two sound engineers are involved in our production: Michael Silberhorn from the Genuin label, who is responsible for the stereo recordings, and Börje Pöhler, audio engineer at TONLABOR OHG and an expert in audiovisual productions. After the CD is released, three titles from "Origins" will appear in Dolby Atmos, a surround sound format, on the relevant streaming platforms.

The booklet, catchphrase and cover of a CD also deserve a lot of attention and financial resources. We commissioned the photo artist Lara Müller for the photo shoot and rented a photo studio in our home base Leipzig. Additionally, the booklet is full of various texts, some of which we have had translated and brought into a poetic form.

Lower costs were incurred, for example, for our lawyer for contractual matters, for corona tests, meals, insurance and coaching.

Who are the people behind the project?

Behind "Origins" stands Sjaella, a vocal ensemble from Leipzig made up of 6 women.

This year we are celebrating our 16th anniversary and the fact that we still often go on stage with our original cast. We have been giving concerts at home and abroad for over ten years; we love travelling, getting to know different cultures and languages and networking with other artists. Connection and further development are our highest goals.

We found a lot of inspiration in baroque music as well as in experimental contemporary music. This also gave us the freedom to show vocal individuality, to deal with sometimes less popular topics and to expand our artistic work into an interdisciplinary collaboration. We feel particularly comfortable in this process.

Versatility, femininity, harmony, love, willingness to experiment, punch and humor - these attributes can be found in »Origins«. We would like to share them with you.

Support now 

Discover more projects

share
ALBUM PRODUCTION
www.startnext.com

This video is played by YouTube. By clicking on the play button, you agree to the transfer of necessary personal data (e.g. your IP address) to Google Inc (USA) as the operator of YouTube. For more information on the purpose and scope of data collection, please see the Startnext privacy policy. Learn more

Crowdfunding beendet
Mit dieser Startnext-Aktion könnt ihr Sjaella dabei unterstützen, ihre neue CD »Origins« sowie eine zugehörige Dolby-Atmos-EP zu finanzieren. Der Tonträger wird im Herbst dieses Jahres erscheinen! Wir danken euch für euer Interesse und freuen uns darauf, euch wiederum beschenken zu dürfen!
17.428 €
Fundingsumme
164
Unterstütz­er:innen
Datenschutzhinweis
Datenschutzhinweis

Über das Projekt

Finanzierungszeitraum 28.06.21 12:57 Uhr - 12.09.21 00:00 Uhr
Realisierungszeitraum Mai 2020 - November 2021
Startlevel 15.000 €

Für die Produktion unseres neuen Albums »Origins«.

Kategorie Musik
Stadt Leipzig

Projektbeschreibung anzeigen ausblenden

Worum geht es in dem Projekt?

»Origins« ist das Produkt eines plötzlichen Stillstands, einer Phase der Neuordnung, einer Rückbesinnung zu unseren Ursprüngen. Die ersten Wurzeln des englischsprachigen Programms wuchsen bereits in den letzten Jahren, doch seinen Nährboden fand es im Sommer 2020 in Form von ruhigen Arbeitsprozessen und Mut durch frische Inspirationsquellen.

Die zahlreichen Inhalte des Programms vereinen sich zu einer Geschichte. So widmen wir uns natürlichen Zyklen, die uns umgeben - den Jahreszeiten, den Elementen, Tag und Nacht, Vergänglichkeit und Wiedergeburt und auch dem eigenwilligen Zyklus des weiblichen Körpers. Den Rahmen von »Origins« formen Schlüsselworte der Schöpfungsgeschichte mit einem postapokalyptischen Vakuum. Diesen Raum sehen wir als den Ursprung der Entstehung neuen Lebens und als die Brücke zum Beginn des Programms. So zeigt »Origins« für uns viele kleine zyklische Erscheinungen innerhalb eines großen Zyklus’ des Lebens.

Neu arrangierte Lieder aus dem 16. und 17. Jahrhundert, z.B. von Henry Purcell, erklingen neben zeitgenössischen Kompositionen, die zum Teil dem Stil der amerikanischen Minimal Music folgen, wie z.B. die von David Lang.


Für die musikalische Umsetzung haben wir eng mit internationalen Komponist*innen zusammengearbeitet, deren Arbeiten wir schätzen und nach außen tragen wollen - allen voran die der Künstlerinnen Meredi (D), Paola Prestini und Shara Nova (USA).

»Origins« ist für uns ein Projekt, das verbinden, inspirieren und Anstöße geben kann. Welches die Frauenchorliteratur bereichert und das kreative Schaffen zahlreicher Künstler würdigt. Es ist Ausdruck unseres Strebens nach Weiterentwicklung. Eine Klangwelt, die letztlich Momente der Ruhe und des Genusses schenken kann.

Was sind die Ziele und wer ist die Zielgruppe?

Wir wenden uns keiner bestimmten Zielgruppe zu. Wir möchten, dass »Origins« uns alle dort abholt, wo wir gerade stehen - mit den Gedanken, Emotionen und Plänen, die wir eben haben.

Unsere konkreten Ziele:

Die zentralen Werke des Programms wurden von Frauen verfasst. Neben dem Gedanken daran, dass Komponistinnen in ihrer Szene nach wie vor unterrepräsentiert sind,wollten wir besonders gern mit Frauen in einen intensiven künstlerischen Austausch treten. Jede einzelne verstand es, uns mit ihrer Kreativität und Professionalität abzuholen. Diese Kooperationen sehen wir als einen der wichtigsten Teile des ganzen Prozesses.

Ebenso wichtig ist uns die Thematisierung eines immer noch starken gesellschaftlichen Tabus: Im Zentrum von »Origins« steht der weibliche Zyklus. Shara Nova erschuf das musiktheatrale Werk »Hypophysis« nach einem Libretto unserer Altistin Felicitas Erben, das die einzelnen Phasen des Monatszyklus’ spielerisch leicht und nahbar aufzeigt.

Mit diesem und weiteren Stücken wollen wir unser Publikum mit neuen Seiten von Sjaella überraschen. Die weibliche Stimme ist so vielseitig und die Frauenchorliteratur noch viel zu rudimentär bestückt! Wir hoffen, mit unserem Programm entsprechende Impulse setzen zu können.

Warum sollte jemand dieses Projekt unterstützen?

Um ein solches Projekt große Kreise ziehen zu lassen, braucht jede*r Künstler*in die Unterstützung anderer Menschen, die davon erzählen, es verschenken oder finanziell fördern. Unsere eigenen Mittel sind durch die Corona-Krise nahezu erschöpft und doch haben wir die Notwendigkeit gespürt, diesen großen Schritt mit »Origins« zu gehen. Lasst uns gemeinsam diesen Schritt noch größer machen!

Was passiert mit dem Geld bei erfolgreicher Finanzierung?

Euer Geld fließt zu 100% in die gesamte Produktion der CD »Origins«.

Der größte Posten vor unserer Aufnahme waren die Neukompositionen und Arrangements. Nur zwei Titel des Programms wurden nicht von Sjaella in Auftrag gegeben.

An unserer Produktion sind zwei Tonmeister beteiligt: Michael Silberhorn vom Label Genuin, der für die Stereoaufnahmen verantwortlich ist, und Börje Pöhler, Audio Engineer bei TONLABOR OHG und Experte für audiovisuelle Produktionen. Drei Titel von »Origins« werden nach Veröffentlichung der CD in Dolby Atmos, einem Surround-Sound-Format, auf den entsprechenden Streaming-Plattformen erscheinen.

Ebenfalls große Aufmerksamkeit und finanzielle Mittel verdienen Booklet, Artwort und Cover einer CD. Für das Fotoshooting haben wir die Fotokünstlerin Lara Müller beauftragt und ein Fotostudio in Leipzig gemietet. Das Booklet wird zusätzlich mit diversen Texten bestückt, die wir teilweise neu übersetzen und in eine poetische Form bringen lassen haben.

Geringfügigere Kosten fielen beispielsweise für unseren Anwalt bei Vertragsangelegenheiten, für Corona-Tests, Verpflegung, Versicherung und Coachings an.

Wer steht hinter dem Projekt?

Hinter »Origins« steht Sjaella, ein mit 6 Frauen besetztes Vokalensemble aus Leipzig.

In diesem Jahr feiern wir unser 16-jähriges Bestehen und die Tatsache, dass wir noch immer häufig in unserer Stammbesetzung auf die Bühne gehen. Seit über zehn Jahren konzertieren wir im In- und Ausland; wir lieben es, zu reisen, uns mit verschiedenen Kulturen und Sprachen zu beschäftigen, uns mit anderen Künstler*innen zu vernetzen. Verbindung und Weiterentwicklung sind unsere höchsten Ziele.

Zuletzt fanden wir sowohl in der Barockmusik als auch in experimenteller zeitgenössischer Musik jede Menge Inspiration und die Freiheiten, stimmliche Individualität zu zeigen, teilweise weniger populäre Themen zu verarbeiten und unser künstlerisches Schaffen zu einer interdisziplinären Zusammenarbeit auszudehnen. In diesem Prozess fühlen wir uns besonders wohl.

Vielseitigkeit, Weiblichkeit, Harmonie, Liebe, Experimentierfreudigkeit, Biss und Humor - diese Attribute finden sich in »Origins« wieder. Die möchten wir mit euch teilen!

Unterstützen

Weitere Projekte entdecken

Teilen
ALBUM PRODUCTION
www.startnext.com

Diese Video wird von YouTube abgespielt. Mit dem Klick auf den Play-Button stimmst du der Weitergabe dafür notwendiger personenbezogenen Daten (Bsp: Deine IP-Adresse) an Google Inc (USA) als Betreiberin von YouTube zu. Weitere Informationen zum Zweck und Umfang der Datenerhebung findest du in den Startnext Datenschutzbestimmungen. Mehr erfahren