Crowdfunding finished
Upcycling for Uplifting is about giving continues work for local traditional weavers and artisans in rural Bangladesh. This campaign is made to fund SICA's upcycled bag collection, which has been developed during the COVID-19 pandemic. Our bags are made with love and meant to last. Bringing this collection to life directly benefits economically our artisans partners and their communities. It contributes to shifting the fashion industry toward a social and environmental responsible one.
9,592 €
Fundingsum
106
Supporters
Joy Lange
Joy Lange Projektberater "Impressive how the power of the crowd became visible here."
Privacy notice
Privacy notice
 Upcycling for Uplifting
 Upcycling for Uplifting
 Upcycling for Uplifting
 Upcycling for Uplifting
 Upcycling for Uplifting

About this project

Funding period 8/18/21 1:44 PM - 9/19/21 11:59 PM
Realisation August until December 2021
Start level 9,000 €

The success of the crowdfunding will allow covering artisans salaries, materials and shipping for producing our collection.

Category Social Business
City Berlin

Project description show hide

What is this project all about?

SICA UPCYCLING DESIGN is a label that weaves a new future. At SICA, we transform the world through fashion by investing on long term partnership for positive impact on the planet and people’s life.

Upcycling:
We minimize the impact of the textile industry by upcycling textile waste. Over the past 07 years we have been making a significant impact by avoiding more than 2 tons of post-industrial textile waste to go to landfills.

Support local crafts:
We create products that are unique and honor the legacy of crafts and fine textiles of Bangladesh.
Up until today, SICA impacted the life of more than 50 skilled artisans supporting them as individuals within a fair working environment and helping to preserve their traditional weaving techniques.
SICA makes 100% locally made product, developing educational spaces within the workshops exchanging and training the artisans in new skills, allowing them to transfer the knowledge through their community and empowering them to extend their work in other areas and partnerships.

Social Economy:
Simone, the founder of SICA, plays a vital role in continually mentoring the local artisans. The sales of SICA collections provide the support needed for the makers community to sustain itself and grow. Helping the artisans to develop their skills while raising employment and labor standard, in accordance with the SDGs (Sustainable Development Goals) Helping #10 Reduced Inequalities and bringing #8 Decent Work and Economic Growth.

Through the Upcycling for Uplifting campaign, we will be able to continue supporting our weaver partners during the hardship of COVID-19 pandemic, providing steady fair trade work opportunities and enabling them to make a sustainable living out of their crafts.

We upcycle for uplifting lives.

What is the project goal and who is the project for?

The goal of this campaign is to support and uplift the life of our artisans partners in rural areas of Bangladesh, through the funding of SICA new bag collection.

We have been working on new designs and restructuring our business model to be able to provide continuous work and sustainable living to our artisans partners Razia Begum, Johora Begum, Bilkis Akhter, Hasina Begum, Rokhshana Begum, Mashuda Begum, Hashi Begum, Aziton, Shahinur, Shahana Begum, Ferdousi Begum, Shorif, Golenur, Sobi, Lota, Sharzina and Aklima, Shilpi roy, Anita Roy, Balbi and Sumi that give life to our exclusive designs.

Due to the pandemic, fashion brands have canceled orders in Bangladesh. The local textile industry has seen a decline of more than 84%, leaving 1 million workers out of work.

Even with all the challenges that the pandemic brought, we decided to continue developing our new collection, working remotely with our partners in Bangladesh. We also provided additional financial help to our weavers in 2020, supporting basic needs for them and their families.

Our bags are well made, meant for many years of wear. We make our products for conscious people, interested in quality and craftsmanship that contribute for a positive impact on the planet and people.

Bringing this collection to life has a direct social impact by keeping our commitment to uplift the life of our weavers.

Why would you support this project?

SICA’s dream mission is to live in a world that fashion is fair and doesn’t work with the concept of waste.

So, supporting this campaign throws light on:

  • Supporting a small brand with purpose;
  • Having a unique and exclusive product that brings a positive impact to our environment by reducing the environmental impact of the fashion industry;
  • Support SICA to give continuous work now for at least 20 artisans directly, impacting their communities, and many more workers indirectly.

You can be part of the change that is needed to help the fashion industry to become more sustainable and fair to our planet and people.

How will we use the money if the project is successfully funded? 

The making of SICA bags has a direct social impact in decentralised areas of Bangladesh.

By keeping our commitment Uplifting the life of our artisans partners, each artisan can directly influence their communities.

The benefit from their work generates either affording their own studies to go to the University, generating income to support their family members or either being able to send their kids to school so they can have a better future.

The success of the crowdfunding will allow covering the following production costs:

  • Artisans salaries;
  • Materials for making the bags;
  • Shipping costs
  • Administrative expenses
Who are the people behind the project?

The initiatior of this project is SICA, an upcycling design label from fair production that textile waste while preserving traditional crafts.

Founded by Simone Simonato in 2006 in Brazil, the label SICA expanded in 2014 into Berlin and Bangladesh with the line ‘Proudly made in Bangladesh’.
SICA outsources textile clipping-waste from the Bangladesh’s ready-made garment industry (RMG) and brings them into the hands of the skilled craftswomen in rural Bangladesh.

It has been vital for the founder of SICA to spend a lot of time in Bangladesh along these past years, nurturing the relationship with the makers and local organisations. Personally researching and living within these communities, Simone explores with the artisans to help develop their skills while providing fair employment and support.

The role in Berlin is not only to give visibility to Bangladeshi crafts, but also to connect and collaborate with its thriving sustainable design community. SICA team grew along the past months in order to bring this collection to life. Our team is located between Brazil, Germany and Bangladesh.

Simone continues to work as an initiator, acting locally and thinking globally providing positive solutions in the fashion industry.

Support now 

Cooperations

CULTURAL INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY RIGHTS INITIATIVE®

We are part of CIPRI worldwide movement supporting the recognition of cultural IP rights© for craftsmen and women who are the custodians and transmitters of traditional garments, traditional designs and traditional manufacturing techniques.

Artisan Social

Artisan Social is a digital platform to promote Bangladeshi craft heritage to the global community. The founder Farzana Yusuf supports SICA by directly connecting with the artisans in Bangladesh during this period, consulting and translating.

Project Três

Project Três supports women artisans through education and skills-training in India and Kenya. The Founder Carla Maria Souza and CEO Amanda Suzuki are consultant partners for this campaign.

Discover more projects

share
Upcycling for Uplifting
www.startnext.com

Find & support

This video is played by Vimeo. By clicking on the play button, you agree to the transfer of necessary personal data (e.g. your IP address) to Vimeo Inc (USA) as the operator of Vimeo. For more information on the purpose and scope of data collection, please see the Startnext privacy policy. Learn more

Crowdfunding beendet
Bei Upcycling for Uplifting geht es darum, traditionellen Kunsthandwerker:innen in ländlichen Gebieten von Bangladesch kontinuierlich Arbeit zu vermitteln. Unser Ziel ist es, die Kollektion von SICA zu finanzieren, die während der Pandemie entwickelt wurde. Unsere Taschen werden mit Liebe hergestellt und halten lange. Unser Projekt hilft das Leben unserer Partner und ihren Gemeinschaften zu verbessern und die Modeindustrie zu einer sozial und ökologisch verantwortlichen Branche zu machen.
9.592 €
Fundingsumme
106
Unterstütz­er:innen
Datenschutzhinweis
Datenschutzhinweis
 Upcycling for Uplifting
 Upcycling for Uplifting
 Upcycling for Uplifting
 Upcycling for Uplifting
 Upcycling for Uplifting

Über das Projekt

Finanzierungszeitraum 18.08.21 13:44 Uhr - 19.09.21 23:59 Uhr
Realisierungszeitraum August bis Dezember 2021
Startlevel 9.000 €

Mit erfolgreichem Crowdfunding können die Handwerker:innengehälter, Materialien und Versandkosten gezahlt werden, um unsere Kollektion zu produzieren.

Kategorie Social Business
Stadt Berlin

Projektbeschreibung anzeigen ausblenden

Worum geht es in dem Projekt?

SICA UPCYCLING DESIGN ist ein Label, das eine neue Zukunft webt. Bei SICA verändern wir die Welt durch Mode, indem wir in langfristige Partnerschaften investieren, die einen positiven Einfluss auf den Planeten und das Leben der Menschen haben.

Upcycling:
Wir minimieren die Auswirkungen der Textilindustrie durch Upcycling von Textilabfällen. In den letzten 7 Jahren haben wir einen bedeutenden Beitrag geleistet, indem wir mehr als 2 Tonnen postindustrieller Textilabfälle auf Deponien vermieden haben.

Unterstützung des lokalen Handwerks:
Wir stellen Produkte her, die einzigartig sind und das Erbe des Kunsthandwerks und der feinen Textilien in Bangladesch ehren.
Bis heute hat SICA das Leben von mehr als 50 Kunsthandwerker:innen beeinflusst, indem sie als Individuen in einem fairen Arbeitsumfeld unterstützt und ihre traditionellen Webtechniken erhalten werden.
SICA stellt zu 100 % lokal hergestellte Produkte her und entwickelt in den Werkstätten Schulungsräume, in denen die Kunsthandwerker:innen neue Fertigkeiten erlernen und sich austauschen können. Das ermöglicht es ihnen ihr Wissen in der Gemeinschaft weiterzugeben und ihre Arbeit auf andere Bereiche und Partnerschaften auszuweiten.

Sozialwirtschaft:
Simone, die Gründerin von SICA, spielt eine wichtige Rolle bei der kontinuierlichen Betreuung der lokalen Kunsthandwerker:innen. Die Verkäufe der SICA-Kollektionen tragen dazu bei, dass die lokale Gemeinschaft in Bangladesch sich selbst erhalten und wachsen kann. Wir helfen den Kunsthandwerker:innen dabei, ihre Fähigkeiten weiterzuentwickeln und gleichzeitig den Beschäftigungs- und Arbeitsstandard zu erhöhen, in Übereinstimmung mit den SDGs (Nachhaltigkeitszielen der UN) #10 Verringerung von Ungleichheiten und #8 Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum.
Durch die Upcycling for Uplifting-Kampagne können wir unsere Weber:innen und Partner auch in der schwierigen Zeit der COVID-19-Pandemie unterstützen, indem wir ihnen dauerhafte, fair gehandelte Arbeitschancen bieten und es ihnen ermöglichen, ihren Lebensunterhalt nachhaltig mit ihrem Handwerk zu verdienen.

Through the Upcycling for Uplifting campaign, we will be able to continue supporting our weaver partners during the hardship of COVID-19 pandemic, providing steady fair trade work opportunities and enabling them to make a sustainable living out of their crafts.

Wir upcyceln, um Leben zu verbessern.

Was sind die Ziele und wer ist die Zielgruppe?

Ziel dieser Kampagne ist es, durch die Finanzierung der neuen SICA-Taschenkollektion das Leben unserer Kunsthandwerkerinnen in den ländlichen Gebieten von Bangladesch zu unterstützen und zu verbessern.

Wir haben an neuen Designs gearbeitet und unser Geschäftsmodell umstrukturiert, um unseren Kunsthandwerkerinnen Razia Begum, Johora Begum, Bilkis Akhter, Hasina Begum, Rokhshana Begum, Mashuda Begum, Hashi Begum, Aziton, Shahinur, Shahana Begum, Ferdousi Begum, Shorif, Golenur, Sobi, Lota, Sharzina und Aklima, Shilpi Roy, Anita Roy, Balbi und Sumi, - die unseren exklusiven Designs Leben einhauchen -, kontinuierliche Arbeit und einen nachhaltigen Lebensunterhalt zu ermöglichen.

Aufgrund der Pandemie haben Modemarken ihre Aufträge in Bangladesch storniert. Die lokale Textilindustrie hat einen Rückgang von mehr als 84 % zu verzeichnen, wodurch 1 Million Arbeiter arbeitslos geworden sind.

Trotz aller Herausforderungen, die die Pandemie mit sich brachte, haben wir besclossen, die Entwicklung unserer neuen Kollektion fortzusetzen und mit unseren Partnern in Bangladesch aus der Ferne zusammenzuarbeiten. Außerdem haben wir unseren Weberinnen und Webern im Jahr 2020 zusätzliche finanzielle Unterstützung zukommen lassen, um die Grundbedürfnisse von ihnen und ihren Familien zu decken.

Unsere Taschen sind gut verarbeitet und für jahrelanges Tragen gedacht. Wir stellen unsere Produkte für bewusste Menschen her, die an Qualität und Handwerkskunst interessiert sind, die einen positiven Einfluss auf den Planeten und die Menschen haben.

Die Herstellung dieser Kollektion hat eine direkte soziale Auswirkung, da wir uns verpflichtet haben, das Leben unserer Weber:innen zu verbessern.

Warum sollte jemand dieses Projekt unterstützen?

Mission und Traum von SICA sind es, in einer Welt zu leben, in der Mode fair ist und nicht mit dem Konzept der Verschwendung arbeitet.
Diese Kampagne zu unterstützen bedeutet somit gleichzeitig auch:

  • Unterstützung einer kleinen Marke mit Sinn und Zweck;
  • ein einzigartiges und exklusives Produkt zu haben, das einen positiven Einfluss auf unsere Umwelt hat, indem es die Umweltauswirkungen der Modeindustrie reduziert;
  • Unterstützung von SICA, damit mehr als 20 Kunsthandwerker:innen direkt und viele weitere Arbeiter:innen indirekt Arbeit finden.

Du kannst Teil des Wandels sein, der notwendig ist, um der Modeindustrie zu helfen, nachhaltiger und fairer gegenüber unserem Planeten und den Menschen zu werden.

Was passiert mit dem Geld bei erfolgreicher Finanzierung?

Die Herstellung von SICA-Taschen hat eine direkte soziale Auswirkung in den dezentralen Gebieten von Bangladesch.

Durch die Einhaltung unseres Versprechens "Uplifting the life of our artisans partners" kann jede:r Kunsthandwerker:in direkten Einfluss auf seine:ihre Gemeinden nehmen.

Durch den Nutzen ihrer Arbeit können sie entweder ihr eigenes Studium an der Universität finanzieren, ein Einkommen erzielen, um ihre Familienmitglieder zu unterstützen, oder ihre Kinder zur Schule schicken, um ihnen eine bessere Zukunft zu ermöglichen.

Der Erfolg des Crowdfundings wird es ermöglichen, die folgenden Produktionskosten zu decken:

  • Löhne der Kunsthandwerker:innen;
  • Materialien für die Herstellung der Taschen;
  • Transportkosten
  • Verwaltungskosten
Wer steht hinter dem Projekt?

nitiiert wurde dieses Projekt von SICA, einem Upcycling Modelabel. SICA wurde 2006 in Curitiba, Brasilien ins Leben gerufen.

Mit der Produktlinie ‚Proudly made in Bangladesch‘ expandierte SICA im Jahr 2013 nach Berlin und Bangladesch. SICA Proudly made in Bangladesch outsourct textile Schnittabfälle der Bangladescher Fertigwaren- und Bekleidungsindustrie (RMG) und gibt diese anschliessend in die Hände von ausgebildeten Kunsthandwerker*innen im ländlichen Rangpur, gelegen im Norden Bangladeschs. Der Gründerin von SICA, Simone Simonato, ist es dabei essentiell und wichtig viel Zeit in Bangladesch zu verbringen, um die Beziehung mit den Produzent:innen und lokalen Organisationen zu pflegen. Durch persönliche Recherche und ein Zusammenleben in diesen Gemeinden erforscht Simone gemeinsam mit den Kunsthandwerker*innen Wege, um durch Schaffung fairer Arbeitsplätze und Unterstützung Hilfe beim Ausbau der handwerklichen Fähigkeiten der Arbeiter*innen zu bieten.

Ziel in Berlin ist es nicht nur das Bangladeschi Kunsthandwerk sichtbar zu machen, sondern auch sich mit der starken und wachsenden Community der Stadt für nachhaltiges Design zu vernetzen und zusammenzuarbeiten. Das SICA-Team ist in den letzten Monaten gewachsen, um diese Kollektion ins Leben zu rufen. Unser Team ist zwischen Brasilien, Deutschland und Bangladesch zu Hause.

SICA arbeitet nach wie vor als Impulsgeber, lokal handelnd und global denkend bietet das Label positive Lösungen in der Modeindustrie.

Unterstützen

Kooperationen

CULTURAL INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY RIGHTS INITIATIVE®

Wir sind Teil der weltweiten CIPRI Bewegung, die sich für die Rechte von Kunsthandwerker:innen einsetzt. Geistiges und kulturelles Eigentum für traditionelle Kleidung, Designs und Herstellungstechniken soll anerkannt und so weiter bewahrt werden.

Artisan Social

Artisan Social ist eine digitale Plattform zur Förderung des bangladeschischen Kunsthandwerks in der globalen Gemeinschaft. Heute ist AS unser wichtigster Partner in Bangladesch als Berater und direkter Kommunikator mit unseren Kunsthandwerker:innen.

Project Três

Das Projekt Três unterstützt Kunsthandwerker:innen in Indien und Kenia durch Ausbildung und Qualifizierung. Die Gründerin Carla Maria Souza und CEO Amanda Suzuki sind beratende Partner für diese Kampagne.

Weitere Projekte entdecken

Teilen
Upcycling for Uplifting
www.startnext.com

Diese Video wird von Vimeo abgespielt. Mit dem Klick auf den Play-Button stimmst du der Weitergabe dafür notwendiger personenbezogenen Daten (Bsp: Deine IP-Adresse) an Vimeo Inc (USA) als Betreiberin von Vimeo zu. Weitere Informationen zum Zweck und Umfang der Datenerhebung findest du in den Startnext Datenschutzbestimmungen. Mehr erfahren