Crowdfunding finished
Join us on an adventure into the unknown - a triathlon around the world. For Jonas Deichmann, distance is just a matter of the the right mindset. This multi-world record holding athlete proves that a strong will doesn’t recognize any limits and that anything is possible even with minimal CO2 emissions. Jonas' journey is inspiring - to explore the world while showing how pressing and important it is to preserve our planet. We need your help to bring this special documentary to cinemas everywhere.
28,826 €
Fundingsum
571
Supporters
Michael Schmidt
Michael Schmidt Projektberater "Impressive how the power of the crowd became visible here."
Privacy notice
Privacy notice
 Jonas Deichmann - Triathlon Around the World
 Jonas Deichmann - Triathlon Around the World
 Jonas Deichmann - Triathlon Around the World
 Jonas Deichmann - Triathlon Around the World

About this project

Funding period 2/15/21 5:37 PM - 3/19/21 11:59 PM
Realisation October 2020 - March 2022
Start level 25,000 €

With 25,000 EUR we will be able to produce an inspiring, touching documentary and release it on a couple festivals.

Category Movie / Video
City Dresden

Project description show hide

What is this project all about?

Once around the world... haven't you ever dreamed of it?
We wish to take you on a journey – it is probably the most spectacular and longest triathlon ever attempted; the 120 Ironman distance. Extreme athlete Jonas Deichmann wants to prove what extraordinary performance the human body is capable of. His unstoppable optimism carries Jonas around the globe - from Munich to Munich - running, swimming, biking. He will cover a total distance of almost 40,000 kilometers. Jonas has no support in the process and is completely on his own.

Jonas started his adventure on September 26, 2020. First, he biked from Munich to Croatia, from there he swam 456 kilometers along the coast towards Montenegro. At the
moment Jonas is stuck in Turkey. The current Corona situation does not allow entry into many countries. Right now, Jonas is figuring out the best way to Russia while waiting for a visa. Wether he will get it, we don't know. His journey will continue bike-packing probably via Bulgaria, Romania, Moldova to Russia, further through Siberia at -40 degrees, through Mongolia to the coast of China. From there, Jonas will sail across the Pacific Ocean to reach his destination. With arrival in North America, he will run 5040 kilometers across the US from Los Angeles to NYC. And all of this he is doing completely unsupported. There have already been the first changes of plans and it looks like there will be more to come. However, giving up is not an option for Jonas.

We want to know: What is behind all this? How does he do it and what does the journey do to him? What does it do to your feet, when you're running over 5000km? What does it do to your body, when swimming almost 500km in the water & cycling for almost 35000km in extreme cold and heat. How much does your body must suffer under while uncertainty is being your daily companion? What does it do to him mentally - to permanently cross limits? Jonas has given up everything for his dream. What drives him to move from one adventure to the next without a permanent residence for the last 4 years? We don’t want to miss it when Jonas sets this unique world record. What about you?

We accompany Jonas for parts of the way and film the most sensational highlights of the journey. For eight weeks we will join Jonas in this extraordinary experience. Not only will we partake in the enormous mental and physical challenge, but also capture breathtaking images and tell the story of the person that is Jonas Deichmann. The film examines what exactly constitutes the essence of human motivation: It is a story about borderline experiences, personal limits and perseverance. We want to produce an exciting feature-length documentary, which shall go far beyond the usual travel documentary.

On top of that, we wish to send a message to share with the world...
Already during the first swimming leg off the Croatian coast, it becomes clear that Jonas discovers more plastic than fish in the water. Together we hope to motivate viewers to be more sustainable and raise awareness for the beauty of our earth. Following the crowdfunding campaign, we will launch challenges together with Jonas to raise funds for charity organisations that fight the consequences & causes of climate change. In doing so, we not only want to motivate and inspire, but also make a small contribution
ourselves.

What is the project goal and who is the project for?
  • We want to create an extraordinary documentary that goes beyond the generic travelogue – authentic, spectacular and emotional – and as sustainable as possible.
  • Jonas' story is meant to inspire and motivate. Because ultimately, it's all about the right mindset. A strong will, faith in ourselves & a positive attitude lead us to the destination and let us accomplish things we never thought possible.
  • We want to bring Jonas' adventures to movie theaters - not only in Germany but worldwide.
  • Last but not least, we hope to convey a message and share it with the world: That we must do everything to preserve the beauty of our planet. We want to reach as many people as possible, not just sports enthusiasts, and encourage each and every one to minimise CO2 emissions, even in small, daily routines. If Jonas can travel around the world in a CO2-neutral way, maybe we can manage our shopping without the car.
Why would you support this project?

We still need 70,000 EUR to produce the film. Help us create this special documentary. We need you!

  • ONLY WITH YOU WE CAN BRING THE FILM "JONAS DEICHMANN - TRIATHLON AROUND THE WORLD" TO CINEMAS WORLDWIDE!
  • WITH YOUR HELP WE CAN CREATE SOMETHING EXCEPTIONALLY UNIQUE - A FILM THAT COMBINES SPORTS, PRIVATE AND SOCIOPOLITICAL ASPECTS!
  • ONLY WITH YOU WE CAN SHOW THE IRRESISTIBLE BEAUTY OF OUR PLANET AND CONVEY, HOW PRESSING AND IMPORTANT IT IS TO PROTECT & PRESERVE IT!
How will we use the money if the project is successfully funded? 

If the funding is successful, you will enable us to create the documentary film about Jonas Deichmann's spectacular world record and distribute it to movie theatres worldwide. We have already begun filming, but we need exactly 70,000 EUR to produce the film professionally.

We already have existing partners & sponsors who have supported our production up to
this point. But we still have a long way to go. To be able to finish the film, we lack the funds. Therefore, we need your help. 25% of your money will go into post-production,
35% into fees for camera teams, 25% into techinal equipment, 5% to CO2-reduction and 10% into travel costs in case we can't follow Jonas by bike.

Why does one need this kind of money to produce a documentary? We know from experience that only a film with an engaging dramaturgy and strong production can really touch people. And that is what we really want to achieve. We wish to sweep you along & inspire you and create a new awareness for the preservation of this planet.

Who are the people behind the project?

We are an experienced film production company with focus on socio-political, ecological topics, especially in the field of documentaries. We attach great importance to sustainable productions. Together with director Markus Weinberg, who himself formerly used to be professional cyclist, we are well positioned as a film team for the production of this documentary with lots of expertise & know-how.

JONAS DEICHMANN (Extreme Athlete | Protagonist)
Growing up in the northern Black Forest in Germany, Jonas does not stay long in one place. He loves adventure and is always looking for new challenges to test his limits and set another world record. In 2017 he crossed Eurasia as the first person on his own and set a world record for the fasted cycling through Europe and Eurasia. Then, in 2018, the next record – once across America, from North to South without any support in only 97 days. One year later, the three major continental crossings at record speed - 18,000 km from Cape North to Cape Town in 72 days. His next adventure started on September 26th, 2020. It will be harder, longer and much more challenging than anything Jonas has done before. As a motivational speaker, he shares his inspiring stories and unwavering optimism with the world.

UWE NADLER (Producer)
is partner and managing director at ravir film and mainly works in the areas of production, direction and camera. Between 2002 and 2009 he studied geography and media informatics (diploma) at the Technical University of Dresden. Before and during his studies he worked as a cameraman and producer on various film projects - first primarily in the field of visualisation, later also in the documentary field (e.g. "reality or non-reality"; "Hope“ (plastic pollution); "Starting With Fragments" (war in Syria); "Mission Lifeline" (refugess/ sea rescue); "Heading East - a bikepacking adventure". His interest and focus is on documentary projects that are artistically and sociopolitically
relevant.

MARKUS WEINBERG (Director | Editor)
Born in Dresden in 1983, Markus studied political science, modern and contemporary history and sociology in Dresden. Even before his time as a student and professional racing cyclist, Weinberg traveled the world, always bringing stories with him. He's been telling these for a few years now. Among other things, he worked as a freelancer for the MDR (public tv station).

Today, Markus enjoys working on cross-media topics as a freelance editor and video journalist and shoots documentaries: including "Mission Lifeline" or "Heading East - a bikepacking adventure". Markus remains true to his passion for cycling to this day. He organises MTB trips, bike races and events under different brands e.g. TransOst, PaceYourCity or Dirty-Gravel.

STEFFI ROSTOSKI (Co-Director)
Having studied media and Japanese studies as well as publishing, Steffi lived several years in Dallas, Tokyo and London, where she let off steam in the production of numerous film projects and theater festivals. Back in Germany, she initially worked in the literary field, as an editor and agent for the semmelblond literary agency, where she met her love for small, narrative details: she devotes herself to the questions and subtleties that make stories really come alive. She is passionate about writing and conceiving texts, stories and dramaturgies, to which she has dedicated herself as part of her production work at ravir film.

Support now 

Cooperations

Our Brand Partner & Sponsors

We are incredibly grateful for all the partners who already support us: Globetrotter, GoPro, Komoot, Ryzon, SHIFTPHONES, Shimano, Supernova.

Discover more projects

share
Jonas Deichmann - Triathlon Around the World
www.startnext.com

Find & support

This video is played by YouTube. By clicking on the play button, you agree to the transfer of necessary personal data (e.g. your IP address) to Google Inc (USA) as the operator of YouTube. For more information on the purpose and scope of data collection, please see the Startnext privacy policy. Learn more

Crowdfunding beendet
Begleite uns auf ein Abenteuer ins Ungewisse – auf einen Triathlon um die Welt. Für den mehrfachen Weltrekordhalter Jonas Deichmann ist die 120-fache Ironman-Distanz vor allem Kopfsache. Er zeigt uns, dass ein starker Wille keine Grenzen kennt - mit minimalsten CO2-Ausstoß. Für uns ist Jonas' Reise eine Inspiration – die Welt zu erkunden und sie zu bewahren. Wir brauchen euch, um diese besondere Dokumentation in die Kinos zu bringen.
28.826 €
Fundingsumme
571
Unterstütz­er:innen
Michael Schmidt
Michael Schmidt Projektberatung "Eindrucksvoll wie hier die Kraft der Crowd sichtbar wurde."
Datenschutzhinweis
Datenschutzhinweis
 Jonas Deichmann - Triathlon Around the World
 Jonas Deichmann - Triathlon Around the World
 Jonas Deichmann - Triathlon Around the World
 Jonas Deichmann - Triathlon Around the World

Über das Projekt

Finanzierungszeitraum 15.02.21 17:37 Uhr - 19.03.21 23:59 Uhr
Realisierungszeitraum Oktober 2020 - März 2022
Startlevel 25.000 €

Mit 25.000 EUR produzieren wir euch eine inspirierende & mitreißende Dokumentation und können den Film auf ausgewählte Festivals bringen.

Kategorie Film / Video
Stadt Dresden

Projektbeschreibung anzeigen ausblenden

Worum geht es in dem Projekt?

Einmal um die Welt... hast du nicht auch schon einmal davon geträumt?
Wir möchten euch mit auf die Reise nehmen – auf den wohl spektakulärsten und längsten Triathlon aller Zeiten; die 120-fache Ironman-Distanz. Extremsportler Jonas Deichmann zeigt, zu welch außergewöhnlicher Leistung der menschliche Körper in der Lage ist. Sein unerschütterlicher Optimismus trägt Jonas einmal um den ganzen Globus – von München nach München – laufend, schwimmend, bikend. Fast 40.000 Kilometer wird er insgesamt zurücklegen. Dabei hat Jonas keinerlei Unterstützung und ist völlig auf sich gestellt.

Am 26.09.2020 hat sich Jonas in sein Abenteuer gestürzt. Erst ging es mit dem Fahrrad von München nach Kroatien, von dort ist er 456 Kilometer entlang der Küste in Richtung Montenegro geschwommen. Derzeit steckt Jonas in der Türkei fest. Die aktuelle Corona-Situation lässt die Einreise in viele Länder nicht zu. Im Moment wartet Jonas auf ein Visum nach Russland und sucht nach dem besten Weg dorthin. Ob er es bekommt? Wir wissen es nicht. Vermutlich geht es bike-packend über Bulgarien, Rumänien, Moldawien nach Russland, weiter durch Sibirien bei -40 Grad, durch die Mongolei bis an die Küste Chinas. Von dort aus segelt Jonas über den Pazifischen Ozean, um sein Ziel zu erreichen. In Nordamerika angekommen, wird er 5040 Kilometer einmal quer durch die Staaten von Los Angeles nach NYC rennen. Und das alles unsupported! Es gab bereits erste Planänderungen und es sieht ganz so aus, als würde die ein oder andere noch hinzukommen. Für Jonas ist Aufgeben jedoch keine Option.

Wir möchten wissen: Was steckt dahinter? Wie macht er das und was macht das alles mit ihm? Was macht das mit den Füßen, über 5000 km zu rennen? Was macht das mit dem Körper, knapp 500 km im Wasser & fast 35000 km auf dem Fahrrad bei extremer Kälte und Wärme. Wie sehr muss der Körper schmerzen und immer diese Ungewissheit? Was macht diese permanente Grenzüberschreitung mental mit ihm? Jonas hat für seinen Traum alles aufgegeben. Was lässt ihn ohne festen Wohnsitz seit 4 Jahren von einem Abenteuer in das nächste ziehen? Wir möchten dabei sein, wie Jonas diesen einzigartigen Weltrekord aufstellt. Ihr nicht auch?

Wir begleiten Jonas an einigen Passagen und fangen die sensationellsten Routenabschnitte filmisch ein. Acht Wochen lang werden wir hautnah dabei sein und die enorme mentale und körperliche Herausforderung selbst miterleben, atemberaubende Bilder einfangen und die Geschichte Jonas Deichmanns erzählen. Es geht an den Kern menschlicher Motivation, um Grenzerfahrungen und den persönlichen Durchhaltewillen. So soll ein Dokumentarfilm von ca. 80 Minuten entstehen, der über die übliche Reisedokumentation hinausgeht.

Und nebenbei möchten wir auch eine Botschaft in die Welt tragen...
Schon während der ersten Schwimmetappe vor der kroatischen Küste wird deutlich, dass Jonas mehr Plastik als Fische im Wasser sieht. Gemeinsam möchten wir die Zuschauer zu mehr Nachhaltigkeit motivieren und das Bewusstsein für die Schönheit unsere Erde schärfen. Im Anschluss an das Crowdfunding werden wir gemeinsam mit Jonas Challenges ins Leben rufen, mit denen wir Gelder für Charity-Organisationen, welche die Folgen & Ursachen des Klimawandels bekämpfen, akquirieren möchten. Damit möchten wir nicht nur motivieren und inspirieren, sondern selbst einen kleinen Beitrag leisten.

Was sind die Ziele und wer ist die Zielgruppe?
  • Wir möchten eine außergewöhnliche Dokumentation erschaffen, die über einen üblichen Reisebericht hinausgeht - hautnah, authentisch, spektakulär und emotional - aber möglichst nachhaltig.
  • Jonas' Geschichte soll inspirieren und motivieren – denn am Ende ist es der Kopf, der entscheidet. Ein starker Wille, der Glaube an uns selbst & die positive Einstellung führen uns ans Ziel und lassen uns Dinge erreichen, die wir nie für möglich gehalten haben.
  • Wir möchten Jonas’ Abenteuer auf die ganz große (Kino) Leinwand bringen - und zwar nicht nur in Deutschland sondern weltweit.
  • Darüber hinaus möchten wir unsere Botschaft in die Welt tragen: Dass wir alles dafür tun müssen, die Schönheit unseres Planeten zu erhalten. Wir wollen so viele Menschen wie möglich erreichen - nicht nur die Sportbegeisterten - und jeden Einzelnen dazu animieren, auch im Kleinen, Alltäglichen, den CO2-Ausstoß zu minimieren. Wenn Jonas CO2-neutral um die Welt reisen kann, können wir den Einkauf vielleicht auch ohne das Auto erledigen.
Warum sollte jemand dieses Projekt unterstützen?

Wir haben nicht die volle Summe an Filmförderung erhalten, benötigen aber noch 70.000 EUR, um den Film produzieren zu können und in die Kinos zu bringen. Helft uns diese besondere Dokumentation entstehen zu lassen. Wir brauchen euch!

  • NUR MIT DIR KÖNNEN WIR DEN FILM "JONAS DEICHMANN - TRIATHLON AROUND THE WORLD" IN DIE KINOS WELTWEIT BRINGEN!
  • MIT DEINER HILFE ENTSTEHT EIN EINMALIGER MIX – EIN FILM, DER SPORTLICHES, PRIVATES UND GESELLSCHAFTSPOLITISCHES VEREINT!
  • NUR MIT DIR KÖNNEN WIR DIE SCHÖNHEIT UNSERES PLANETEN EINMAL MEHR ZEIGEN UND WIE WICHTIG ES IST DIESE ZU ERHALTEN!
Was passiert mit dem Geld bei erfolgreicher Finanzierung?

Bei erfolgreicher Finanzierung ermöglicht ihr uns den Dokumentarfilm zu Jonas Deichmann’s spektakulären Weltrekord zu produzieren und weltweit auf die große Leinwand zu bringen. Wir haben bereits begonnen, aber wir benötigen genau noch 70.000 EUR, um den Film professionell umzusetzen.

Wir haben bereits bestehende Partner & Sponsoren, die unsere Produktion bis hierher unterstützt haben. Doch um den Film fertig stellen zu können, fehlen uns die Mittel. Deshalb brauchen wir eure Hilfe. Von eurem Geld gehen 25% in die Postproduktion, 35% in Gagen für die Filmcrew, 25% in Technik, 10% in Reisekosten und 5% in CO2-Reduzierung, falls wir mal nicht mit dem Fahrrad hinterher fahren können.

Warum braucht man das alles für einen Film? Wir sind davon überzeugt und haben die Erfahrung gesammelt, dass nur ein Film mit guter Dramaturgie und starker Umsetzung auch wirklich die Menschen bewegen kann. Und das ist es, was wir erreichen möchten. Wir möchten euch mitreißen & inspirieren und ein neues Bewusstsein für den Erhalt dieses Planeten schaffen.

Wer steht hinter dem Projekt?

Wir sind eine erfahrene Filmproduktionsfirma mit Fokus auf gesellschaftspolitische, ökologische Themen, vor allem im Bereich Dokumentarfilm. Dabei legen wir großen Wert auf nachhaltige Produktionen. Gemeinsam mit dem Regisseur Markus Weinberg, der selbst ehemals aus dem Profi-Radsport kommt, sind wir als Filmteam für diese Dokumentation mit jeder Menge Expertise & Know-how gut aufgestellt.

JONAS DEICHMANN (Extremsportler | Protagonist)
Im Nordschwarzwald aufgewachsen, hält es Jonas nicht lange an einem Ort. Er liebt das Abenteuer, sucht nach immer neuen Herausforderungen, um seine Grenzen zu testen und Weltrekorde zu brechen. 2017 durchquerte er Eurasien als erste Person mit menschlicher Kraft und einem Weltrekord für das schnellste Radfahren in Europa und Eurasien. 2018 dann der nächste Rekord - einmal längs durch Amerika ohne Unterstützung in nur 97 Tagen. Ein Jahr später die drei großen Kontinentalüberquerungen der Welt in Rekordgeschwindigkeit - 18.000 km von Kap Nord nach Kapstadt in 72 Tagen. Sein nächstes Abenteuer beginnt am 25. September 2020. Es wird schwieriger, länger und viel herausfordernder als alles, was Jonas bisher getan hat. Als Motivationsredner teilt er seine inspirierenden Geschichten und unerschütterlichen Optimismus mit der Welt.

UWE NADLER (Produzent)
...ist einer der Hauptgesellschafter der ravir film GbR und arbeitet v.a. in den Bereichen Produktion, Regie und Kamera. Zwischen 2002 und 2009 studierte er Geografie sowie Medieninformatik (Diplom) an der Technischen Universität Dresden. Bereits vor und während seines Studiums arbeitete er als Kameramann und Produzent an diversen filmischen Projekten - zuerst vorrangig im Bereich Visualisierungen, später auch im Dokumentarfilmbereich (z.B.: "reality or non-reality"; "Flaschenpost“ (Plastikverschmutzung); "Starting With Fragments" (Krieg in Syrien); "Die Mission der Lifeline" (Flüchtlinge/Seenotrettung); "Heading East - Abenteuer TransOst“ (Biking-Abenteuer). Sein Interesse und Schwerpunkt liegt dabei auf dokumentarischen Projekten mit künstlerisch und gesellschaftspolitisch relevantem Anspruch.

MARKUS WEINBERG (Regie | Redaktion)
Der gebürtige Dresdner, Jahrgang 1983, hat in Dresden Politikwissenschaft, Neuere und Neueste Geschichte und Soziologie studiert. Schon vor seiner Zeit als Student und Rennradprofi ist Weinberg durch die Welt gereist, immer hat er Geschichten mitgebracht. Seit ein paar Jahren erzählt er diese. Dabei arbeitete er unter anderem als Freier Redakteur für den MDR.

Heute widmet sich Markus mit Vorliebe crossmedialen Themen als Freier Redakteur und Videojournalist und dreht Dokumentarfilme: darunter "Die Mission der Lifeline“ oder „Heading East – Abenteuer TransOst“. Seiner Leidenschaft zum Radsport bleibt Markus bis heute treu. Er organisiert MTB-Reisen, Radrennen und Events unter verschiedenen Marken z.B. TransOst, PaceYourCity oder Dirty-Gravel.

STEFFI ROSTOSKI (Co-Regie)
Die studierte Medienwissenschaftlerin, Japanologin und Buchwissenschaftlerin lebte u.a. mehrere Jahre in Dallas, Tokio und London, wo sie sich in der Produktion zahlreicher Filmprojekte und Theaterfestivals austobte. Zurück in Deutschland arbeitete sie vorerst im literarischen Bereich, als Lektorin und Agentin der semmelblond Literaturagentur und begegnete dort ihrer Liebe zum kleinen, erzählerischen Detail: mit Inbrust widmet sie sich den Fragen und Feinheiten, die Geschichten erst wirklich leben lassen. Leidenschaftlich betreibt sie das Schreiben und Konzipieren von Texten, Geschichten und Dramaturgien, dem sie sich auch im Rahmen ihrer Produktionsarbeit bei ravir film verschrieben hat.

Unterstützen

Kooperationen

Unsere Brand Partner & Sponsoren

Wir sind unglaublich dankbar für all die Partner, die uns bereits unterstützen: Globetrotter, GoPro, Komoot, Ryzon, SHIFTPHONES, Shimano, Supernova, sowie GU Verlag, Moving Adventures Medien & E.O.F.T.

Weitere Projekte entdecken

Teilen
Jonas Deichmann - Triathlon Around the World
www.startnext.com

Finden & Unterstützen

Diese Video wird von YouTube abgespielt. Mit dem Klick auf den Play-Button stimmst du der Weitergabe dafür notwendiger personenbezogenen Daten (Bsp: Deine IP-Adresse) an Google Inc (USA) als Betreiberin von YouTube zu. Weitere Informationen zum Zweck und Umfang der Datenerhebung findest du in den Startnext Datenschutzbestimmungen. Mehr erfahren