Crowdfunding finished
HOW ABOUT HAVING A FASCINATION OF MIND?
HOW ABOUT HAVING A FASCINATION OF MIND will be an eight-part feature-length documentary about our discovery and deeper investigation of some of the most lovely weird phenomena of South-Korean everyday life culture.
10,979 €
Fundingsum
323
Supporters
Charlott Roth
Charlott Roth Projektberater "Brillant crowd financing round, I am curious how this project will continue."
Privacy notice
Privacy notice
 HOW ABOUT HAVING A FASCINATION OF MIND?
 HOW ABOUT HAVING A FASCINATION OF MIND?
 HOW ABOUT HAVING A FASCINATION OF MIND?
 HOW ABOUT HAVING A FASCINATION OF MIND?
 HOW ABOUT HAVING A FASCINATION OF MIND?

About this project

Funding period 5/4/15 9:18 AM - 6/3/15 11:59 PM
Realisation June 2016
Start level 10,000 €
Category Movie / Video
City Berlin

Project description show hide

What is this project all about?

HOW ABOUT HAVING A FASCINATION OF MIND will be an eight-part feature-length documentary about our discovery and deeper investigation of some of the most lovely weird phenomena of South-Korean everyday life culture. We want to share with you our two months exploration - from the Korean beauty obsession with small faces to an omnipresence of poop in modern Korean society.

And we will show you how these eight phenomena can change our all lifestyle:

Part 1: The Small Face Obsession: If you want to be pretty in Korea, you need to get a small face. There is plastic surgery or really painful massages to get your face physically smaller. But why do Koreans want to have a small face so urgently?
Part 2: Korea's Sleep to Go: There’re a lot of sleeping Koreans on the subway, in classrooms, in boutiques, on their office desks, in streetfood shops. What does this sleeping-in-public culture show us about Korean society? And how can we learn to sleep anywhere anytime like Koreans?
Part 3: The Well-Known Secret of DVD Bangs: DVD Bangs are small rooms for private movie screenings with a slightly dirty reputation as lovers come here to do what they can't do at their parent's house. What do DVD Bangs show us about the Korean conception of private and public space?
Part 4: The Coin Fun Effect: Everywhere in Korea you will find a coin machine for having intense short time fun. Wacking moles for 30 seconds, singing two karaoke songs on the train, playing baseball against a machine for five minutes. How does all the coin fun affect one's perception of life?
Part 5: Obey to Me, I'm Cute!: Everything you should obey to is cutified in Korea. Outside police stations you will find cute police officer cartoon characters to welcome you. In Europe you could never cutify the police, the authority to obey to. How come it works in Korea?
Part 6: The Power of Repitition: In Korea, you hear repitition everywhere. If you tell your Korean friends that it's raining, it will echoe back 'it's raining. It's raining' until the last one on the table repeated it. What magic communication effect does this culture of repeating have?
Part 7: The Contagion of Ppeppero Day: In Korea, every month has a special day: White Day, Black Day, Kiss Day. The weirdest is Ppeppero Day. On this special day Koreans buy chocolate sticks called Ppeppero for friends and loved ones. About 50% of Ppeppero's annual sales are made on this single day! Would Germans play along if Haribo announced one big Gummy Bear Day?
Part 8: The Omnipresence of Poop: In Korea, poop is adorable and omnipresent. A shooting star is a 'pooping star' ' and dreaming of poop gets you lucky.. Could it make us more easy-going if we took a leaf out of the Korean book in terms of poop?

What is the project goal and who is the project for?

HOW ABOUT HAVING A FASCINATION OF MIND will be a feature length documentary with a mixture of animation and actual footage split into eight different parts. You can watch them seperately or alltogether in a row.

Our movie is for curious people from any country who don't know Korea at all. It is for Koreans who are interested in foreigner's views on their culture, it is for Non-Koreans living in Korea and everyday wondering about all the riddles that Korean culture gives them. It is for Non-Korean cititizens with Korean background who want to get deeper into their background country. Our movie is for anyone from anywhere in the world who loves exploring the depth of culture differences through the little weird details of everyday life.

HOW ABOUT HAVING A FASCINATION OF MIND will take you on a journey into the hidden corners of our freshly built up mind-map, our web of insights that we wove while our two months of living and researching in Korea.

Why would you support this project?

You can't wait to discover a deep relationship between cute poop, soft ice cream and hard lives? You have a big longing to hear why DVD Bangs are the 'dark space' of Korean culture where conservatives are behaving progressive and progressive people are behaving conservative? You feel the urgent need to find out why chocolate sticks can keep a relationship alive on November 11th? We understand you. If you support our project you enable us to share our insights with you.

If you support HOW ABOUT HAVING A FASCINATION OF MIND you will enter the depth of culture through the fun door of every day life details. This unique project helps us to take off our glasses created by our own culture and try out other glasses.

How will we use the money if the project is successfully funded? 

Last year, we went to Korea to shoot HOW ABOUT HAVING A FASCINATION OF MIND. Now, we need money to make a film out of the footage.

Koreans and Non-Koreans based in Korea took us behind the curtain of happily unhappy Korean lifestyle. They taught us that even super heroes drool when they are sleeping and that the Korean conception of space might be the key to all those riddles, even the small face obsession. We would love to put all those mindblowing interpretations into animations for you. You could be the one who blows life into what we found out.

We need 10.000 Euros to pay animation artists, editors, sounddesigners and Korean-German musicians to get the first three parts (of eight) of HOW ABOUT HAVING A FASCINATION OF MIND done:

  • Part 1: The Small Face Obsession
  • Part 3: The Well-Known Secret of DVD Bangs
  • Part 8: The Omnipresence of Poop

If we gain more than 10.000 Euros, you enable us to finish the other parts from 'The Contagion of Ppeppero Day' to 'Korea's Seep To Go' too. If we don't gain more than 10.000 Euros, we will definitely finish the other five parts but would need to find further funding.

If you support our project you will get a personal login for the crowdfunded parts after completion.

Who are the people behind the project?

Katti Jisuk Seo: I am Katti, German and Korean, from and based in Berlin. I am a creative story consultant, writer and filmmaker and my mom's home country Korea is my second home. Or at least I have a great longing for it to be my second home. But when Korea gives me riddles my second home flips away like a slippery soap. This project gives my stomach butterflies as I am grabbing the soap again and maybe I can even steal a slice from it before it slips away again.
More about me: www.kattijisuk.com

Finnja Willner: I am Finnja, based in Berlin. I am a visual anthropologist and filmmaker. I met Katti at filmArche, Europe's largest self-guided filmschool, and when she invited me to grab my camera and get on a plane to discover cutified police men, lucky poop dreams and brutal face massages in Korea, I absolutely jumped on board. I quietly envied Katti for having two homes because I don't even have one as I have lived in so many places but never settled anywhere. Eventually, the Korean Bang culture changed my view. They don’t only have DVD Bangs - they have plenty more 24h Bangs (Korean for ‘room’) for bathing, singing, meetings etc. You can find a private room at any time everywhere in Korea what gives you the feeling that the whole country is a living room. The Korean way to turn public into private space really inspired me to develop a more flexible idea of what to call home anyway.

Feel free to contact us: [email protected]

Support now 

Discover more projects

share
HOW ABOUT HAVING A FASCINATION OF MIND?
www.startnext.com

Find & support

This video is played by Vimeo. By clicking on the play button, you agree to the transfer of necessary personal data (e.g. your IP address) to Vimeo Inc (USA) as the operator of Vimeo. For more information on the purpose and scope of data collection, please see the Startnext privacy policy. Learn more

Login
Registrieren
Newsletter

Mit deiner Anmeldung akzeptierst du unsere Nutzungsbedingungen und Datenschutzbestimmungen.

Projekte / Film / Video
HOW ABOUT HAVING A FASCINATION OF MIND?
HOW ABOUT HAVING A FASCINATION OF MIND ist ein Dokumentarfilmprojekt über acht Erstaunlichkeiten südkoreanischer Alltagskultur vom kleinen Gesicht als absolutem Must-Have bis zur Omnipräsenz von niedlichen Kackhaufen in Korea.
Berlin
10.980 €
10.000 € Fundingziel
374
Fans
323
Unterstützer
Projekt erfolgreich
 HOW ABOUT HAVING A FASCINATION OF MIND?

Projekt

Finanzierungszeitraum 04.05.15 09:18 Uhr - 03.06.15 23:59 Uhr
Realisierungszeitraum Juni 2015 bis Juni 2016
Fundingziel 10.000 €
Stadt Berlin
Kategorie Film / Video

Worum geht es in dem Projekt?

HOW ABOUT HAVING A FASCINATION OF MIND ist ein Dokumentarfilmprojekt über acht Erstaunlichkeiten südkoreanischer Alltagskultur. Wir wollen mit dir unsere Erkundungen aus zwei Monaten Korea teilen - vom kleinen Gesicht als absolutem Must-Have bis zur Omnipräsenz von niedlichen Kackhaufen in Korea.

Und wir wollen dir zeigen, wie folgende acht Phänomene unser Lebensgefühl bereichern können:

Part 1: The Small Face Obsession: Wer in Korea eine Schönheit sein möchte, braucht ein mini-kleines Gesicht. Schmerzende Massagen und kieferbrechende OPs verkleinern die Gesichter von Schönheitsbewussten. Was hat es mit diesem dringenden Wunsch nach einem kleinen Gesicht auf sich?
Part 2: Korea's Sleep to Go: In U-Bahnen, Klassenzimmern, Boutiquen oder Büros sieht man KoreanerInnen schlafen. Was sagen diese öffentliche Nickerchen über die koreanische Gesellschaft aus? Und können wir lernen, genauso wie KoreanerInnen mobil Schlaf zu tanken?
Part 3: The Well-Known Secret of DVD Bangs: In kleinen Zimmern namens 'DVD Bangs' kann man in Korea privat DVDs gucken. Da Liebende hier gerne tun, was sie im Elternhaus nicht dürfen, sind diese Räumchen etwas verpönt. Was zeigen uns DVD Bangs über das koreanische Verhältnis von Öffentlichem und Privatem?
Part 4: The Coin Fun Effect: Überall in Korea findet man kleine Münzautomaten für den kurzen geballten Spaß. Für 30 Sekunden Plastikmaulwürfe hauen, zwei Karaokesongs im Zug singen, fünf Minuten Baseball spielen. Wie beeinflusst dieses Münzvergnügen wohl das Lebensgefühl?
Part 5: Obey to Me, I'm Cute!: In Korea wird genau das verniedlicht, dem man gehorchen sollte. Vor Polizeiwachen begrüßen dich süße, mit Herzchen verzierte Zeichentrick-Polizisten. In Europa könnte man Autoritäten niemals so verniedlichen. Warum funktioniert das in Korea?
Part 6: The Power of Repitition: Wenn du in eine koreanische Runde sagst, 'es regnet', wirst du 'es regnet, es regnet' als Echo hören, bis auch die Letzte am Tisch es wiederholt hat. Welchen magischen Kommunikationseffekt hat diese Kultur des ständigen Wiederholens?
Part 7:The Contagion of Ppeppero Day: In Korea gibt es monatlich was zu feiern: White Day, Black Day, Kiss Day. Am erstaunlichsten ist 'Ppeppero Day', wo man für Angebetete und Freunde massenweise Schokosticks namens Ppeppero kauft. Ppeppero macht 50% seines jährlichen Umsatzes an diesem einen Tag! Würden Deutsche einem Haribo-Ruf zum exzessiven Gummibärchenkaufen folgen?
Part 8: The Omnipresence of Poop: Kacke ist in Korea liebenswert und omnipräsent. Eine Sternschnuppe heißt 'Kackender Stern' und wenn dir in Korea eine Kackwurst im Traum begegnet, bringt das großes Glück. . Sollten wir uns zur Auflockerung eine Scheibe vom koreanischen Kacke-Brot abschneiden?

Was sind die Ziele und wer ist die Zielgruppe?

HOW ABOUT HAVING A FASCINATION OF MIND wird ein Dokumentarfilm in 8 Teilen, gemixt aus Real-Material und Animationen. Diese Filmchen kannst du nach Lust und Laune einzeln oder auch hintereinander weg als ganzen Film gucken.

Unser Film ist für Menschen, die Korea absolut nicht kennen, er ist für koreanische Menschen, die sich für einen fremden Blick auf ihre Kultur interessieren. Er ist für nicht-koreanische Menschen in Korea, die sich jeden Tag über die Rätsel koreanischer Alltagskultur wundern, er ist für alle mit koreanischem Hintergrund außerhalb von Korea, die aus der Ferne tiefer in ihr Hintergrund-Land eintauchen möchten. Unser Film ist für alle, die es lieben, in Kulturunterschiede durch die kleinen Erstaunlichkeiten des Alltags einzutauchen.

HOW ABOUT HAVING A FASCINATION OF MIND nimmt dich mit in die verstecktesten Ecken unserer frisch gebastelten Mind Map, in unser komplexes Netz aus Erkenntnissen, das wir in liebevoller Feinarbeit während unserer zweimonatigen Korea-Reise gestrickt haben.

Warum sollte jemand dieses Projekt unterstützen?

Du kannst es nicht abwarten, die tiefe Verbindung zwischen niedlicher Kacke, Softeis und der Härte des Lebens zu entdecken? Du hast eine große Sehnsucht zu erfahren, warum DVD Bangs die dunkle Sphäre koreanischer Kultur sind, in der Konservative sich progressiv und Progressive sich konservativ verhalten? Du willst ganz dringend herausfinden, warum Schokoladensticks am 11. November eine Beziehung am Leben erhalten können? Wir haben dafür Verständnis. Wenn du unser Projekt unterstützt, gibst du uns die Mittel in die Hand, unsere Erkenntnisse mit dir zu teilen.

Wenn Du HOW ABOUT HAVING A FASCINATION OF MIND unterstützt, wirst du durch die Tür erstaunlicher Alltagsdetails mit Schmackes in die koreanische Kultur eintreten. Dieses Projekt hilft uns, einmal unsere eigenen kulturgeprägten Brillen abzusetzen und andere auszuprobieren.

Was passiert mit dem Geld bei erfolgreicher Finanzierung?

Letztes Jahr sind wir nach Korea geflogen, um HOW ABOUT HAVING A FASCINATION OF MIND zu drehen. Jetzt benötigen wir Finanzierung, damit aus dem Material ein Film entstehen kann.

KoreanerInnen und Nicht-KoreanerInnen haben uns hinter den Vorhang des glücklich-unglücklichen koreanischen Lifestyles mitgenommen. Sie haben uns beigebracht, dass sogar Superhelden beim Schlafen sabbern und dass die koreanische Vorstellung von Platz und Raum der Schlüssel zu all diesen Rätseln sein könnte, sogar zur Kleingesichtfixiertheit. Wir würden diese atemberaubenden Gesellschaftsinterpretationen so gerne in Animationen für dich kleiden. Mit deiner Unterstützung pustest du filmisches Leben in alles, was wir herausgefunden haben.

Wir brauchen 10.000 Euro, um AnimationskünstlerInnen, Schnittmenschen, SounddesignerInnen und Koreanisch-Deutsche MusikerInnen zu bezahlen, um unsere drei ersten Teile (von acht) von HOW ABOUT HAVING A FASCINATION OF MIND fertigzustellen:

  • Part 1: The Small Face Obsession
  • Part 3: The Well-Known Secret of DVD Bangs
  • Part 8: The Omnipresence of Poop

Wenn wir mehr als 10.000 Euro zusammenkriegen, würdest du uns sogar ermöglichen, die weiteren Parts von 'The Contagion of Ppeppero Day' bis 'Korea's Sleep To Go' auch noch fertigzubacken. Wenn wir hier nicht weit über die 10.000 Euro hinausschießen, werden wir die anderen fünf Parts definitiv fertigstellen, müssten dafür aber noch weitere Förderungen finden.

Wenn du unser Projekt unterstützt, erhälst du nach Fertigstellung persönliche Logindaten für die durchs Crowdfunding finanzierten Parts.

Wer steht hinter dem Projekt?

Katti Jisuk Seo: Ich bin Katti, deutsch und koreanisch, aus Berlin. Ich arbeite als Creative Story Consultant, Autorin und Filmemacherin, und Mamas Heimatland ist mein zweites Zuhause. Oder zumindest möchte ich gerne, dass es mein zweites Zuhause ist. Aber wenn Korea mir Rätsel aufgibt, flutscht mir mein zweites Zuhause dauernd wieder weg wie glitschige Seife. Dieses Projekt macht mir Kribbeln im Bauch, weil ich dadurch die Seife wieder zu fassen kriege und vielleicht sogar ein Stück von ihr absäbeln kann, bevor sie wieder wegflutscht.
Mehr über mich: www.kattijisuk.com


Finnja Willner: Ich bin Finnja, visuelle Anthropologin und Filmemacherin und lebe zur Zeit meistens in Berlin. Ich habe Katti an der filmArche, Europas größter selbstorganisierter Filmschule, kennengelernt. Als sie mich fragte, ob ich mir meine Kamera schnappen und mit ihr nach Korea fliegen möchte, um verniedlichte Polizisten, glücksbringende Kacketräume und schmerzhafte Gesichtsmassagen zu entdecken, war ich sofort mit Pauken und Trompeten an Bord. Klammheimlich habe ich Katti ein wenig beneidet, gleich zwei Zuhauses zu haben, weil ich schon an so vielen Orten gelebt habe, aber nirgends richtig sesshaft geworden bin. Durch die koreanische Bang-Kultur hat sich mein Blick verändert. Neben den DVD-Bangs gibt es in Korea viele andere 24h-Bangs (koreanisch für 'Zimmer') zum Baden, Singen, für Meetings etc. Man findet überall und jederzeit einen privaten Raum in Korea, was mir das Gefühl vermittelt, das ganze Land sei ein riesiges Wohnzimmer. Diese koreanische Lebensart, den öffentlichen in privaten Raum umzuwandeln, hat mich dazu inspiriert, eine flexiblere und mobilere Vorstellung vom Begriff 'Zuhause' zu entwickeln.

Ihr könnt uns gerne kontaktieren unter korea.fascination@gmail.com

Über Startnext

Startnext ist die größte Crowdfunding-Plattform für kreative und nachhaltige Ideen, Projekte und Startups in Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz. Künstler, Kreative, Erfinder und Social Entrepreneurs stellen ihre Ideen vor und finanzieren sie mit der Unterstützung von vielen Menschen.

Startnext Statistik

44.079.232 € von der Crowd finanziert
4.939 erfolgreiche Projekte
835.000 Nutzer

Sicherheit

Ist uns wichtig, deshalb halten wir uns an diese Standards:

  • Datenschutz nach deutschem Recht
  • Sichere Bezahlung mit SSL
  • Sichere Transaktionen über unseren Treuhänder Secupay AG
  • Legitimation der Starter nach deutschem Recht

Bezahlmethoden

Kreativität gemeinsam finanzieren - Entdecke neue Ideen oder starte dein Projekt!

© 2010 - 2017 Startnext Crowdfunding GmbH