Crowdfunding finished
16th Nippon Connection Film Festival
From May 24 to 29, 2016 the Nippon Connection Film Festival in Frankfurt am Main will present films, art, and culture from Japan in a unique, familiar festival atmosphere. You can discover exciting films, chat with filmmakers, participate in workshops, lectures, and concerts or enjoy Japanese food. Become one of our supporters and help us realize the 16th edition of Nippon Connection!
15,673 €
Fundingsum
203
Supporters
Sponsored by kulturMut 2015
Cofunding 9,300 €
Privacy notice
Privacy notice
 16th Nippon Connection Film Festival
 16th Nippon Connection Film Festival
 16th Nippon Connection Film Festival
 16th Nippon Connection Film Festival
 16th Nippon Connection Film Festival

About this project

Funding period 10/12/15 12:01 PM - 11/10/15 11:59 PM
Realisation 24.-29.5.2016
Start level 15,000 €
Category Movie / Video
City Frankfurt am Main

Project description show hide

What is this project all about?

Nippon Connection is the biggest festival for Japanese cinema worldwide. Its humble beginnings lie in the year 2000, when there were just a couple of film screenings at Frankfurt University. In 2015 the festival comprised more than 100 films and around 40 additional cultural events. Venues include the Künstlerhaus Mousonturm, the Theater Willy Praml in der Naxoshalle, the German Film Museum, the Mal Seh'n Kino, the Theater Die Käs and the Ausstellungsraum Eulengasse.

To us it still seems like a dream to see how professional the festival has become. But even if many think that Nippon Connection has become bigger and bigger: the truth is that behind it all there is still just a team of young volunteers. And every year we not only organize a great film and cultural program, but we also have to ensure a financial basis for it.

You can find some impressions from the festivl here:
www.nipponconnection.com/clips.html
www.nipponconnection.com/bilder-2015.html

What is the project goal and who is the project for?

We want to show you exciting Japanese film productions that usually don't make their way to German cinemas or the DVD market.

We want you to get directly in touch with the filmmakers – be it after the screenings of their films, in special discussion panels or simply while having a drink at the festival bar.

We want to discover new talents. For many young filmmakers Nippon Connection has already been the starting point of their careers.

We want to create a special festival atmosphere, with something for everyone: films, art, workshops, concerts, many interactive events, good food, and meeting friends. With great care for detail – and with great technical and financial effort – we turn Mousonturm and Naxoshalle into two unique festival locations for six days.

Why would you support this project?

At no other festival there is so much to see and to experience about film, art, and culture from Japan like at Nippon Connection!
Japan is one of the most productive and exciting film countries in the world. Over many months our film team will compile a selection of the best current films for you.
All members of our team invest a lot of spare time and give their best to realize this event in Frankfurt offering so much joy to the audience. During the festival more than 100 additional volunteers support us by manning theater admissions, taking care of our guests, making sandwiches, or as projectionists. But we also need your support! Participate in our crowdfunding campaign and tell your friends about our project! :)

How will we use the money if the project is successfully funded? 

We are recognized as a non-profit organization – the festival is not a business to us. You are making the festival possible! We do receive financial support by the Land of Hesse and the City of Frankfurt, and we also have other sponsors. Unfortunately, these amounts are not sufficient.

The money that we collect through this crowdfunding project will be entirely reinvested in the festival:

  • installing an AC at the cinema at Naxoshalle (finally!)
  • screening fees and transportation costs for the films
  • travel costs for our Japanese guests
  • renting fees for cinema projectors, screens, sound systems, speakers and so on
  • printing costs for our program catalogs, posters, and flyers
  • Nippon Culture: fees, travel costs, various working materials and technical devices
  • catering for our guests, volunteers, and team members during the festival
  • and much, much more...
Who are the people behind the project?

The festival is organized on a voluntary basis by the non-profit registered association Nippon Connection. Our team consists of around 70 members. During the festival there are more than 100 additional volunteers.

Who will still be writing forty e-mails at three in the morning? Who will regularly spend an entire Sunday afternoon at team meetings? Your Nippon Connection team of course! Because there's always so much to do... :)

Festival director Marion Klomfass has already been fascinated by Japanese films while studying theater, film, and media studies. She too works for the festival on a voluntary basis, earning her pay as an editor for TV programs.

Support now 

Cooperations

Künstlerhaus Mousonturm

Seit 2013 ist das renommierte Künstlerhaus Mousonturm in Frankfurt am Main Hauptveranstaltungsort und Kooperationspartner des Nippon Connection Festivals.

Theater Willy Praml in der Naxoshalle

Das Theater Willy Praml in der Naxoshalle ist seit dem Jahr 2013 neben dem Künstlerhaus Mousonturm der Hauptveranstaltungsort von Nippon Connection.

Mal Seh'n Kino

Im Programmkino Mal Seh'n in Frankfurt zeigen wir die Wiederholungsvorstellungen des Filmprogramms.

share
16th Nippon Connection Film Festival
www.startnext.com

This video is played by YouTube. By clicking on the play button, you agree to the transfer of necessary personal data (e.g. your IP address) to Google Inc (USA) as the operator of YouTube. For more information on the purpose and scope of data collection, please see the Startnext privacy policy. Learn more

Crowdfunding beendet
16. Nippon Connection Filmfestival
Das Nippon Connection Filmfestival in Frankfurt am Main zeigt vom 24. bis 29.5.2016 Filme, Kunst und Kultur aus Japan – das Ganze in einer einzigartigen, familiären Festivalatmosphäre. Bei uns könnt ihr spannende Filme entdecken, mit Filmemachern ins Gespräch kommen, Workshops, Vorträge und Konzerte besuchen oder japanisches Essen geniessen. Werde Unterstützer und hilf uns, die 16. Ausgabe von Nippon Connection auf die Beine zu stellen!
15.673 €
Fundingsumme
203
Unterstütz­er:innen
Gefördert von kulturMut 2015
Cofunding 9.300 €
Datenschutzhinweis
Datenschutzhinweis
 16. Nippon Connection Filmfestival
 16. Nippon Connection Filmfestival
 16. Nippon Connection Filmfestival
 16. Nippon Connection Filmfestival
 16. Nippon Connection Filmfestival

Über das Projekt

Finanzierungszeitraum 12.10.15 12:01 Uhr - 10.11.15 23:59 Uhr
Realisierungszeitraum 24.-29.5.2016
Startlevel 15.000 €
Kategorie Film / Video
Stadt Frankfurt am Main

Projektbeschreibung anzeigen ausblenden

Worum geht es in dem Projekt?

Nippon Connection ist das weltweit größte Festival für japanischen Film. Vor 15 Jahren hat es ganz klein angefangen, mit ein paar japanischen Filmen an der Universität in Frankfurt. Beim Festival 2015 waren es über 100 Filme und rund 40 Kulturevents. Veranstaltungsorte sind das Künstlerhaus Mousonturm, das Theater Willy Praml in der Naxoshalle, das Deutsche Filmmuseum, das Mal Seh'n Kino, Die Käs und der Ausstellungsraum Eulengasse.

Es ist noch immer wie ein Traum für uns zu sehen, wie professionell das Festival geworden ist. Aber auch wenn viele denken, dass Nippon Connection immer größer wird: Die Wahrheit ist, dass hinter all dem immer noch ein junges, ehrenamtliches Team steckt. Und jedes Jahr organisieren wir nicht nur ein großes Film- und Kulturprogramm, sondern müssen auch mühsam das Geld dafür sichern.

Ein paar Eindrücke vom Festival bekommt ihr hier:
www.nipponconnection.com/clips.html
www.nipponconnection.com/bilder-2015.html

Was sind die Ziele und wer ist die Zielgruppe?

Wir möchten euch spannende japanische Filmproduktionen zeigen, die es sonst nicht im Kino oder auf DVD zu sehen gibt.

Wir wollen, dass ihr direkt mit den Filmemachern sprechen könnt – nach Vorführungen ihrer Filme, in besonderen Diskussionsrunden oder einfach so an der Bar.

Wir wollen Talente entdecken. Für viele junge Filmemacher war Nippon Connection bereits der Startpunkt ihrer Karriere.

Wir wollen eine besondere Festival-Atmosphäre schaffen, bei der für alle etwas dabei ist: Filme, Kunst, Workshops, Konzerte, viel zum Mitmachen, gutes Essen und Freunde treffen. Mit Liebe zum Detail – und großem technischen und finanziellen Aufwand – verwandeln wir dafür den Mousonturm und die Naxoshalle für sechs Festivaltage in zwei einzigartige Festival-Locations.

Warum sollte jemand dieses Projekt unterstützen?

Bei keinem anderen Festival gibt es so viel Film, Kunst und Kultur aus Japan zu sehen und zu erleben wie bei Nippon Connection!

Japan ist eines der produktivsten und spannendsten Filmländer weltweit. Unser Filmteam stellt für euch in monatelanger Sichtungsarbeit eine Auswahl der besten aktuellen Filme zusammen.

Wir alle in unserem Team geben unsere Freizeit und unser Bestes, um zusammen eine Frankfurter Veranstaltung zu realisieren, die unglaublich vielen Leuten Freude macht. Beim Festival unterstützen uns über 100 Helfer beim Eintrittskarten abreißen, Gäste betreuen, Brötchen belegen, Filmprojektoren bedienen etc. Genauso brauchen wir eure Unterstützung. Macht mit und erzählt euren Freunden und Bekannten von unserem Projekt! :)

Was passiert mit dem Geld bei erfolgreicher Finanzierung?

Wir sind als gemeinnütziger Verein anerkannt und erzielen durch das Festival keinerlei Gewinne. Durch euch wird das Festival ermöglicht! Wir erhalten Fördergelder vom Land Hessen und der Stadt Frankfurt. Außerdem unterstützen uns einige Sponsoren. Aber das reicht leider nicht.

Das Geld, das wir mit diesem Crowdfunding-Projekt sammeln, werden wir komplett in das Festival stecken:

  • Klimaanlage im Kino in der Naxoshalle (endlich!)
  • Aufführungsgebühren und Transportkosten für die Filme
  • Reisekosten für unsere japanischen Gäste
  • Mietkosten für Kinoprojektoren, Leinwände, Lautsprecher, Tonanlagen etc.
  • Druckkosten für unsere Programmhefte, Plakate und Flyer
  • Nippon Culture: Gagen, Reisekosten, Material und Technik
  • Kosten für die Verpflegung der Gäste, ehrenamtlichen Helfer und Mitarbeiter während des Festivals
  • und und und...
Wer steht hinter dem Projekt?

Das Festival wird ehrenamtlich vom gemeinnützigen Verein Nippon Connection e.V. organisiert. Wir sind ein Team mit rund 70 Mitgliedern. Während des Festivals kommen mehr als 100 ehrenamtliche Helfer dazu.

Wer schreibt nachts um drei noch vierzig E-Mails? Wer ist regelmäßig sonntags von 11-18 Uhr bei Teamsitzungen? Euer Nippon Connection Team natürlich. Denn es ist immer viel zu tun... :)

Festivalleiterin ist Marion Klomfaß, die schon während ihres Studiums der Theater-, Film- und Medienwissenschaft fasziniert war von japanischen Filmen. Auch sie arbeitet ausschließlich ehrenamtlich und ist hauptberuflich Cutterin beim Fernsehen.

Unterstützen

Kooperationen

Künstlerhaus Mousonturm

Seit 2013 ist das renommierte Künstlerhaus Mousonturm in Frankfurt am Main Hauptveranstaltungsort und Kooperationspartner des Nippon Connection Festivals.

Theater Willy Praml in der Naxoshalle

Das Theater Willy Praml in der Naxoshalle ist seit dem Jahr 2013 neben dem Künstlerhaus Mousonturm der Hauptveranstaltungsort von Nippon Connection.

Mal Seh'n Kino

Im Programmkino Mal Seh'n in Frankfurt zeigen wir die Wiederholungsvorstellungen des Filmprogramms.

Teilen
16. Nippon Connection Filmfestival
www.startnext.com

Finden & Unterstützen

Diese Video wird von YouTube abgespielt. Mit dem Klick auf den Play-Button stimmst du der Weitergabe dafür notwendiger personenbezogenen Daten (Bsp: Deine IP-Adresse) an Google Inc (USA) als Betreiberin von YouTube zu. Weitere Informationen zum Zweck und Umfang der Datenerhebung findest du in den Startnext Datenschutzbestimmungen. Mehr erfahren