Crowdfunding finished
Pilzling is a start-up from Cologne. In the middle of the city, we produce our gourmet mushrooms with circular economy concepts always in mind. In cooperation with cafés, roasteries and breweries, we test alternative ways for urban food production and sustainable regional networking of actors. Through the (further) development of technologies for smart and resource-saving farm systems, we want to generate interest in resource re-use and be part of urban sustainable development.
14,811 €
Fundingsum
179
Supporters
Privacy notice
Privacy notice
 Pilzling - Cologne's Circular Mushroom Farm
 Pilzling - Cologne's Circular Mushroom Farm
 Pilzling - Cologne's Circular Mushroom Farm
 Pilzling - Cologne's Circular Mushroom Farm
 Pilzling - Cologne's Circular Mushroom Farm

About this project

Funding period 12/6/21 4:31 PM - 1/9/22 11:59 PM
Realisation Spring/Summer 2022
Start level 12,500 €

Your support will be used in many different ways. Besides better equipment, it should benefit the construction of our new farm (see below for details!).

Category Food
City Köln

Project description show hide

What is this project all about?

Inspired by the versatile properties of mushrooms and their mycelium (root-like web) to interconnect with other organisms and form natural resource cycles, we founded our startup. As a nutrient base for our Pilzlings (aka our mushrooms!), we transform waste products of urban life such as coffee grounds, wood chips and used grains from breweries into high-quality sources of protein. This approach is considered part of a circular economy, as it actively intervenes in the existing resource flows, adding value and thereby giving new life to seemingly waste material. To professionalize this philosophy, we are developing tools, smart technologies and processes for sustainable production of mushrooms in urban environments.

We have now been able to set up and test our concept in Cologne for a year. However, it was clear from the beginning that this phase would eventually come to an end. The WandelWerk, as seen in the video, unfortunately no longer exists due to the planned demolition of the building. We are now all the more motivated to find a new and long-term home for our Pilzlings as well as ourselves!

Our main persuading points:

  • Circular economy
  • Short supply chains
  • 100% fresher
  • Energy efficient processes
  • Local food production
What is the project goal and who is the project for?
  • Recycling and Reuse of urban waste products (coffee grounds, wood chips, brewery byproducts).
  • Development of compact automated fruit rooms for urban pubs and restaurants (mushrooms can be harvested on site).
  • Production of vegan/vegetarian alternative products based on mushrooms (e.g. "burger patties", "sausages" etc.)
  • Use and development of smart farm systems (applicable to other urban production facilities)
  • Further processing of our own biological waste (materials based on mycelium e.g. acoustic panels or insulation materials etc.)
  • Distribution of organic compost for surrounding farms

Our target groups range from private individuals who love mushrooms or are looking for vegetarian alternatives, to companies and restaurants.

Why would you support this project?

We want to pave the way for urban food production and a circular economy in Cologne. Thinking locally and in a decentralized way is a key element for us, and we want to make a contribution to the responsible use of natural resources.

Mushrooms often have a long transport route behind them and are frequently flown in from distant countries. With our concept we not only bypass this approach, but go one step further and lighten the urban footprint by reusing supposedly local waste products, which would normally rot away in landfills.

Your support gives us the opportunity to boldly move forward with our planning of a new location, to help meet the growing demand we have received. We want our Pilzlings to show that alternative and innovative production is possible. Please help us to continue inspiring others!

With our farm and the ideas that are based on it, we are creating direct links to the 17 global Sustainable Development Goals.

  • Goal 9: Industry, innovation and infrastructure - Build resilient infrastructure, promote sustainable industrialization and foster innovation
  • Goal 11: Sustainable cities and communities - Make cities inclusive, safe, resilient and sustainable
  • Goal 12: Sustainable consumption and production - Ensure sustainable consumption and production patterns - towards a circular economy.
  • Goal 13: Climate action - Take urgent action to address climate change and its impact.
How will we use the money if the project is successfully funded? 

First and foremost, we could supply even more people in Cologne with our mushrooms, but in fact we are also concerned with the more fundamental: the basis of our work has been laid, now we want and need to think bigger and more long-term. For this we are looking for a new location for our farm, and we want to move towards an even more sustainable circular economy! To achieve this, we want to work more intensively on the topics of waste heat recovery ( to reduce the CO2 balance of our heating systems), the development of biodegradable materials (based on mycelium, e.g. acoustic panels or insulating materials, etc.) and the expansion of smart farm systems (automation and sensor technology). Through your support we can start to tackle the many plans we have.

For our cheapest model of a farm we probably need at least 62.500€. This will be used for construction, equipment and many other small things. With our set start level here on Startnext (12.500€) and your help, we can raise the minimum necessary equity for our loan (50.000€) - apart from that, it shows us how much you like our Pilzlings!

Since you are surely interested in details, what will happen with the money from Startnext + the additional 50.000€ loan:

  • 5000-10000€ -> Construction (wood, insulation, and parts of the fruiting rooms)
  • 10.000-15.000€ -> Completion of fruiting rooms rooms(among other things ventilation system, filter systems, etc.
  • 15.000-30.000€ -> Larger equipment (e.g. autoclave, cold room)
  • 30.000-45.000€ -> other equipment (rolling shelves, cargo bike and much more!)
  • 45.000€+ ->Supporting the initial rent/deposit and making our dreams come true!!!
Who are the people behind the project?

Behind Pilzling are Christian, Fabian, Vanessa, and Trevor - four Cologne residents (by choice!) with a passion for sustainability, urban development, and smart solutions for the world of tomorrow. About a year ago, we started growing gourmet mushrooms in the heart of Cologne-Ehrenfeld and have been steadily learning ever since. We research, build, design, and tinker with our farm together while also cycling all over Cologne to collect coffee grounds for our weekly production. Oh, and of course we all have a huge passion for mushrooms!

We are grateful for our community and the productive exchange we have had with our cooperation partners. In addition to our own core Pilzling team, there were countless others who made valuable contributions to our early success - one in particular we'd like to thank is John Brandt, who helped us capture some of the great footage for the video.

If you've read this far, you're probably wondering why Vanessa doesn't appear in our video. She joined us shortly after the video was finished and we are very delighted to have her as a part of our team.

Together with your backing, we are motivated to put our ideas into action!

Support now 

share
Pilzling - Cologne's Circular Mushroom Farm
www.startnext.com

This video is played by Vimeo. By clicking on the play button, you agree to the transfer of necessary personal data (e.g. your IP address) to Vimeo Inc (USA) as the operator of Vimeo. For more information on the purpose and scope of data collection, please see the Startnext privacy policy. Learn more

Crowdfunding beendet
Pilzling ist ein Start-Up aus und für Köln. In Kooperation mit Cafés, Röstereien und Brauereien erproben wir neue Wege für urbane Lebensmittelproduktion und nachhaltige regionale Vernetzung von Akteur:innen. Durch die (Weiter)Entwicklung von Technologien für smarte und ressourcenschonende Farmsysteme wollen wir Interesse für Nachhaltigkeit erzeugen, Lösungen bieten und Teil von Kölns zukünftiger Stadtentwicklung sein. >>> Wir verlosen unter allen Unterstützer:innen einen Pilzregen.
14.811 €
Fundingsumme
179
Unterstütz­er:innen
Datenschutzhinweis
Datenschutzhinweis
 Pilzling - Kölns kreislaufbasierte Pilzfarm
 Pilzling - Kölns kreislaufbasierte Pilzfarm
 Pilzling - Kölns kreislaufbasierte Pilzfarm
 Pilzling - Kölns kreislaufbasierte Pilzfarm
 Pilzling - Kölns kreislaufbasierte Pilzfarm

Über das Projekt

Finanzierungszeitraum 06.12.21 16:31 Uhr - 09.01.22 23:59 Uhr
Realisierungszeitraum Frühling/Sommer 2022
Startlevel 12.500 €

Deine Unterstützung findet unterschiedlichste Verwendung. Neben besserem Equipment, soll es dem Aufbau unserer neuen Farm zugutekommen (Details siehe unten!).

Kategorie Food
Stadt Köln

Projektbeschreibung anzeigen ausblenden

Worum geht es in dem Projekt?

Inspiriert durch die vielseitigen Eigenschaften von Pilzen und Myzel (wurzelähnliches Geflecht) und deren Fähigkeit natürliche Kreisläufe zu bilden und sich zu vernetzen, haben wir unser Start-up gegründet. Als Nährgrund für unsere Pilzlinge verwandeln wir Abfallprodukte des städtischen Lebens wie Kaffeesatz, Holzspäne und gebrauchte Körner von Bierbrauereien in hochwertige Proteinquellen. Dieser Ansatz wird als Teil einer Kreislaufwirtschaft betrachtet, da er aktiv in den vorhandenen Ressourcenstrom eingreift und vermeintlich wertlosem Material einen Mehrwert und somit einen neuen Sinn gibt. Um diese Philosophie zu professionalisieren, entwickeln wir Werkzeuge, smarte Technologien und Prozesse für eine nachhaltige Produktion von Pilzen im urbanen Umfeld.

Ein Jahr lang konnten wir unser Konzept in Köln aufbauen und testen. Jedoch war von Anfang an klar, dass diese Phase irgendwann ein Ende hat. Das WandelWerk, wie es im Video zu sehen ist, gibt es aufgrund von Bauvorhaben leider genauso nicht mehr, wie unsere Farm. Um so motivierter sind wir nun, für die Pilze und uns ein neues und langfristiges Zuhause zu finden!

Unsere Überzeugungen in Punkten:

  • Kreislaufwirtschaft
  • kurze Lieferwege
  • 100% Frische
  • energieeffiziente Prozesse
  • lokale Lebensmittelproduktion
Was sind die Ziele und wer ist die Zielgruppe?
  • Wieder- und Weiterverwendung von städtischen Abfallprodukten (Kaffeesatz, Holzspäne, Nebenprodukte von Brauereien)
  • Entwicklung von kompakten automatisierten Fruchträumen für städtische Lokale und Restaurants (Pilze können vor Ort geerntet werden)
  • Herstellung von veganen/vegetarischen Alternativprodukten auf Pilzbasis (z.B. "Burger Patties", "Würstchen" etc.)
  • Verwendung und Entwicklung von smarten Systemen (anwendbar auf andere urbane Produktionen)
  • Weiterverarbeitung unserer eigenen biologischen Abfälle (Materialien auf Basis von Myzel z.B. Akustikplatten oder Dämmstoffe etc.)
  • Vertrieb von biologischen Nährstoffen für umliegende Farmen

Unsere Zielgruppen reichen von Privatpersonen die Pilze lieben oder vegetarische Alternativen suchen, bis hin zu Unternehmen und Restaurants.

Warum sollte jemand dieses Projekt unterstützen?

Wir möchten den Grundstein für eine urbane Lebensmittelproduktion und Kreislaufwirtschaft in Köln legen. Lokal und dezentral zu denken ist für uns selbstverständlich und wir wollen so auch einen Beitrag zum bewussten Umgang mit unseren Ressourcen leisten.

Pilze haben oft einen langen Transportweg hinter sich und werden nicht selten aus umliegenden Ländern eingeflogen. Mit unserem Konzept umgehen wir nicht nur diesen Ansatz, sondern gehen noch einen Schritt weiter und entlasten durch die Weiterverwendung vermeintlicher lokaler Abfallprodukte den städtischen Fußabdruck.

Deine Unterstützung gibt uns die Möglichkeit, mutig weiter planen zu können, einen neuen Standort zu finden und die uns entgegengebrachte wachsende Nachfrage zu bedienen. Wir möchten mit unseren Pilzlingen zeigen, dass alternative und innovative Produktion möglich ist. Hilf uns dabei, andere zu inspirieren!

Mit unserer Farm und den darauf aufbauenden Ideen, schaffen wir direkte Anknüpfungspunkte an die globalen 17 Nachhaltigkeitsziele.

  • Ziel 9: Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur - Widerstandsfähige Infrastruktur aufbauen, breitenwirksame und nachhaltige Industrialisierung fördern und Innovationen unterstützen
  • Ziel 11: Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden - Städte und Siedlungen inklusiv, sicher, widerstandsfähig und nachhaltig gestalten
  • Ziel 12: Nachhaltige/r Konsum und Produktion - Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen - hin zu einer Kreislaufwirtschaft
  • Ziel 13: Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz - Umgehend Maßnahmen zur Bekämpfung des Klimawandels und seiner Auswirkung ergreifen
Was passiert mit dem Geld bei erfolgreicher Finanzierung?

In erster Linie könnten wir noch mehr Kölner:innen mit unseren Pilzlingen beliefern, tatsächlich geht es uns aber auch ums Grundsätzliche: die Basis unserer Arbeit ist gelegt, jetzt wollen und müssen wir größer und langfristiger denken. Hierfür sind wir einerseits auf der Suche nach einem neuen Standort für unsere Farm. Andererseits wollen wir uns für eine noch nachhaltigere Kreislaufwirtschaft stark machen! Dafür möchten wir uns am neuen Standort, intensiver mit den Themen Abwärmenutzung (Reduzierung der CO2-Bilanz), recyclingfähige Materialien (auf Basis von Myzel z.B. Akustikplatten oder Dämmstoffe etc.) und dem Ausbau von smarten Farmsystemen (Automatisierung und Sensorik) beschäftigen. Durch eure Unterstützung können wir damit beginnen die vielen Pläne, die wir haben, in Angriff zu nehmen.

Für unser günstigstes Modell einer Farm benötigen wir voraussichtlich 62.500€. Zugute kommt dies dem Aufbau, Equipment und vielen anderen Kleinigkeiten. Mit dem gesetzten Startlevel hier auf Startnext (12.500€) und deiner Hilfe, können wir den notwendigen minimalen Eigenanteil für unseren Kredit (50.000€) auf die Beine stellen - abgesehen davon, zeigt es uns aber vor allem, wie viel Bock ihr auf Pilzling habt!

Da du bestimmt an Details interessiert bist, was mit dem Geld von Startnext + den zusätzlichen 50.000€ Kredit passiert:

  • 5000-10000€ -> Aufbau (Holz, Dämmstoffe und Teile der Fruchträume)
  • 10.000-15.000€ -> Fertigstellung Fruchträume (u.A. Lüftungsanlage, Filtersysteme etc.)
  • 15.000-30.000€ -> großes Equipment (z.B. Kühlzelle, Autoclave)
  • 30.000-45.000€ -> Equipment (Rollregale, Cargo Bike und vieles mehr!)
  • 45.000+ -> Unterstützung der anfänglichen Miete/Kaution und die Erfüllung unserer Träume!!
Wer steht hinter dem Projekt?

Hinter Pilzling stecken Christian, Fabian, Vanessa, und Trevor, vier Wahlkölner:innen mit großer Begeisterung für Nachhaltigkeit, urbane Entwicklung und smarte Lösungen für die Welt von morgen. Vor etwa einem Jahr haben wir begonnen Gourmet-Pilze mitten im Herzen von Köln-Ehrenfeld zu züchten und lernen seitdem stetig dazu. Wir recherchieren, bauen, gestalten und tüfteln gemeinsam an unserer Farm und sind ansonsten in ganz Köln mit dem Fahrrad unterwegs, um Woche für Woche Kaffeesatz einzusammeln. Oh, und natürlich haben wir alle ein großes Herz für Pilze!

Wir sind dankbar für unsere Community und den produktiven Austausch mit unseren Kooperationspartner*innen. Neben unserem eigenen Pilzling-Kernteam gab es noch unzählige andere, die einen wertvollen Beitrag zu unserem frühen Erfolg geleistet haben - einer, dem wir besonders danken möchten, ist John Brandt, der uns dabei geholfen hat, einige der großartigen Aufnahmen für das Video zu machen.

Falls du bis hier gelesen hast, fragst du dich bestimmt warum Vanessa nicht in unserem Video auftaucht. Sie ist erst kurz nach Fertigstellung des Videos zu uns gestoßen und wir freuen uns sehr, dass sie uns bereichert.

Zusammen sind wir motiviert unsere Ideen, mit eurer Unterstützung, in die Tat umzusetzen!

Unterstützen

Teilen
Pilzling - Kölns kreislaufbasierte Pilzfarm
www.startnext.com

Diese Video wird von Vimeo abgespielt. Mit dem Klick auf den Play-Button stimmst du der Weitergabe dafür notwendiger personenbezogenen Daten (Bsp: Deine IP-Adresse) an Vimeo Inc (USA) als Betreiberin von Vimeo zu. Weitere Informationen zum Zweck und Umfang der Datenerhebung findest du in den Startnext Datenschutzbestimmungen. Mehr erfahren