Crowdfunding finished
Semer Reloaded - Live Recording Of A Rescued Musical Treasure
A Golden Age of Jewish music almost forgotten - the songs captured in 30s' Berlin by Hirsch Lewin on his Semer label. “Semer Reloaded” brought this amazing music back to life with critically acclaimed concerts throughout Europe in 2012-15. Now it is our dream to record this music live in concert so that, 70 years after the Holocaust, the legacy of the Semer label can be passed on to present and future generations.
12,180 €
Fundingsum
85
Supporters
Michael Schmidt
Michael Schmidt Projektberater "Impressively pulled through this crowd financing phase."
Privacy notice
Privacy notice
 Semer Reloaded - Live Recording Of A Rescued Musical Treasure
 Semer Reloaded - Live Recording Of A Rescued Musical Treasure
 Semer Reloaded - Live Recording Of A Rescued Musical Treasure
 Semer Reloaded - Live Recording Of A Rescued Musical Treasure
 Semer Reloaded - Live Recording Of A Rescued Musical Treasure
Privacy notice

About this project

Funding period 9/8/15 2:57 PM - 11/1/15 11:59 PM
Realisation 15.10.2015 - 01.07.2016
Start level 12,000 €
Category Music
City Berlin

Project description show hide

What is this project all about?

From Artistic Director, Alan Bern:
We're asking for your help to cover the basic costs of the recording of “Semer Reloaded." With your support we can bring Hirsch Lewin's Semer Label and the legacy of Jewish musicians in Berlin in the 1920s-30s back to life, 70 years after the end of the Holocaust, with fresh interpretations, re-workings and arrangements of originals, to be recorded live by a world-class ensemble of artists based in Berlin and New York, such as Grammy winner Lorin Sklamberg, Daniel Kahn, Sasha Lurje and others.

It's an almost incredible story. Berlin in the 1920s was home to a true Golden Age of Jewish music and musicians. Then, in the 1930s, even as the Nazis came to power and brutally repressed Jews and Jewish culture, Hirsch Lewin's Semer label recorded dozens of Jewish artists for posterity, before they were silenced by the Holocaust. On November 9, 1938, SA hordes destroyed Hirsch's Hebraica/Judaica shop in Berlin's Scheunenviertel district, including 4,500 records and about 250 metal plates and the Semer label was shut down. For decades, the recordings were lost and virtually forgotten, until they were heroically recovered and restored by musicologist Rainer E. Lotz. In 2012, the Berlin Jewish Museum commissioned me (Alan) to create a concert of new arrangements of the archival recordings. To realize the project, I put together a great band that unites senior pioneers of Jewish music like Lorin Sklamberg and Paul Brody with the new generation of amazing performers such as Daniel Kahn, Sasha Lurje, Mark Kovnatskiy and others. The result is Semer Reloaded.

With your support, we can present this incredible music not only as an archive of 80-year-old recordings or for a few lucky concert audiences, but as living music for the whole world through a state-of-the-art album release with great sound quality. We've got a strong a supporter in the Gorki theatre in Berlin, which has agreed to host our recording sessions live in concert. We'll team up with London-based music producer Ben Mandelson, and Berlin-based Piranha Records will take on the task of producing a high-quality recording as well as publishing and distributing it. Only 80 seats will be available for the concerts on on the 3rd and 4th November: by contributing only 30 EUR to the campaign you can witness the recording first-hand!

What is the project goal and who is the project for?

For the first time since the Holocaust, Berlin is once again an international magnet for Jewish music and musicians: Semer Reloaded brings together a very special group of performers to re-interpret the original Semer recordings for contemporary audiences. In three live concerts in Berlin, we'll record some of the most striking titles from our repertoire and release them on CD.

The project is for everyone who cares about the depth and beauty of an amazing, historically unique legacy of Jewish music and musicians that the Nazis labelled "degenerate" and tried to destroy forever and erase from memory. It is also for anyone who cares about creative and vital music of today that is inspired by traditions and voices from the past.

This is a unique opportunity to contribute to and be a part of this mission, for both fans of the artists involved and friends of exclusive live events.

It’s also for anybody who is interested in having and sharing a copy of the finished product, of course.

Why would you support this project?

With your help, we want to revive the music of Semer for contemporary generations, ensuring that it will not be forgotten. With up-to-date, state-of-the-art versions of the originals, the repertoire can not only be saved from oblivion but also reach an audience many times larger than the one it currently reaches. It can have a future. But we need your help to make it happen!

How will we use the money if the project is successfully funded? 

A Semer Reloaded concert is planned for November 5th, 2015 at Maxim Gorki Theater, Berlin. We will also make high-quality recordings of the project during two additional live concerts, on November 3rd and 4th.. Admission on the 3rd and 4th is reserved exclusively for contributors to the crowdfunding campaign - only 80 seats are available per event!

Piranha Records can turn the dream of this recording project into a reality. Now we need your help to cover the basic costs of the recording!

Estimated costs for the finished product (CD, distribution) are for the funding threshold 12,000€ and funding goal is 25,000€. That includes Piranha Records' recording costs, production, artwork, pressing, copyrights, project documentation, record release, etc.

FINANCE PLAN

Reaching the funding threshold - 12.000€

  • Recording costs (room + technical equipment + staff) - 3.600€
  • Post-Production - 2.600€
  • Mastering- 1.350€
  • CD production (Digipack) - 1.900€
  • Artwork – 1.350€
  • Copyrights - 1.200€

If we reach the funding goal of 25.000€, we'll also create a special LP (vinyl) edition of the recording. We will also film the concerts to have a permanent visual document of this remarkable group of artists making this important recording.

Reaching the funding goal - 25.000€

  • Promo CD and vinyl production - 2.500€
  • Vinyl Artwork - 500€
  • Vinyl-Mastering - 750€
  • Production (Vinyl + additional CDs) - 4.150€
  • Documentation of the events (filming + photos + editing) - 4.000€
  • Record release concert in spring 2016 - 1.000€
Who are the people behind the project?

Most important of all, the artists involved with Semer Reloaded: (A-Z)

  • Alan Bern - piano, accordion, music director
  • Paul Brody – trumpet
  • Daniel Kahn - voice, accordion
  • Mark Kovnatsky – violin
  • Martin Lillich - basello
  • Sasha Lurje – voice
  • Fabian Schnedler - voice, electric guitar
  • Lorin Sklamberg - voice, accordion

They will be supported by the renowned London-based producer Ben Mandelson and Piranha Records, the Berlin label that has, from 1989 onwards, stimulated new interest in Germany in contemporary Jewish music from around the world. Releases include: the Klezmatics, Frank London's Klezmer Brass Allstars, Maurice El Medioni, Solomon & Socalled, Watcha Clan, Ruth Yakoov Ensemble, Emil Zrihan and more.

Support now 

Cooperations

Piranha Records

Piranha Records & Publishing is an independent Berlin-based company with more than 150 album releases to date, introducing new sounds and artists from the world to the world under the triad of globalisation, tradition & subcultural understanding.

Discover more projects

share
Semer Reloaded - Live Recording Of A Rescued Musical Treasure
www.startnext.com

Find & support

This video is played by Vimeo. By clicking on the play button, you agree to the transfer of necessary personal data (e.g. your IP address) to Vimeo Inc (USA) as the operator of Vimeo. For more information on the purpose and scope of data collection, please see the Startnext privacy policy. Learn more

This audio is played by SoundCloud. By clicking the play button, you consent to the transfer of necessary personal data (e.g. your IP address) to SoundCloud Global Limited & Co. KG (Germany) as the operator of SoundCloud. For more information on the purpose and scope of data collection, please see the Startnext privacy policy. Learn more

Login
Registrieren
Newsletter

Mit deiner Anmeldung akzeptierst du unsere Nutzungsbedingungen und Datenschutzbestimmungen.

Projekte / Musik
Semer Reloaded - Live Recording für ein musikalisches Denkmal
Ein Goldenes Zeitalter jüdischer Musik, fast vergessen – die Songs, die Hirsch Lewin in den Dreißigerjahren in Berlin auf seinem Semer-Label gesammelt hatte. "Semer Reloaded" hat diese fantastische Musik seit 2012 mit von der Kritik begeistert aufgenommen Konzerten quer durch Europa wieder zum Leben erweckt. Nun wollen wir sie live in Concert noch einmal neu aufnehmen, um – 70 Jahre nach dem Holocaust – das Semer-Erbe an heutige und kommende Generationen weitergeben zu können.
Berlin
12.180 €
25.000 € Fundingziel
159
Fans
85
Unterstützer
Projekt erfolgreich
 Semer Reloaded - Live Recording für ein musikalisches Denkmal

Projekt

Finanzierungszeitraum 08.09.15 14:57 Uhr - 01.11.15 23:59 Uhr
Realisierungszeitraum 15.10.2015 - 01.07.2016
Fundingschwelle 12.000 €
Fundingziel 25.000 €
Stadt Berlin
Kategorie Musik

Worum geht es in dem Projekt?

Der künstlerische Leiter, Alan Bern:

Wir bitten um Eure Hilfe, die grundlegenden Kosten dafür zu decken, eine Live-Aufnahme des "Semer-Reloaded"-Projekts zu realisieren. Mit Eurer Unterstützung können wir 70 Jahre nach dem Holocaust Hirsch Lewins Semer-Label und das Vermächtnis jüdischer Musiker im Berlin der Zwanziger und Dreißiger des 20. Jahrhunderts mit frischen Interpretationen, Neubearbeitungen und aktuellen Arrangements der Originale wieder zum Leben erwecken. Ein Weltklasse-Ensemble von Künstlern aus Berlin und New York wie Grammy-Preisträger Lorin Sklamberg, Daniel Kahn und Sascha Lurje hat das Programm in den vergangenen Jahren erarbeitet und steht für seine Live-Einspielung bereit.

Es ist eine nahezu unglaubliche Geschichte. Berlin war in den Zwanzigern des 20. Jahrhunderts die Bühne eines wahrlich Goldenen Zeitalters jüdischer Musik und jüdischer Musiker. In den Dreißigern, als bereits die Nazis an die Macht kamen und Juden und die jüdische Kultur brutal unterdrückten, nahm Hirsch Lewins Semer-Label Dutzende jüdischer Künstler für die Nachwelt auf – bis der Holocaust sie zum Schweigen brachte. Am 9. November 1938 zerstörten SA-Horden Hirschs Hebraica/Judaica-Laden im Berliner Scheunenviertel, darunter 4,500 Schallplatten und ungefähr 250 Metallmatrizen; das Label wurde geschlossen. Jahrzehntelang waren die Aufnahmen verloren und praktisch vergessen, bis Musikwissenschaftler Rainer E. Lotz sie verdienstvollerweise wiederentdeckte und restaurierte. 2012 beauftragte das Jüdische Museum Berlin mich (Alan) mit einem Konzert neuer Arrangements der archivierten Originalaufnahmen. Dafür stellte ich eine großartige Band aus führenden Pionieren jüdischer Musik wie Lorin Sklamberg oder Paul Brody und einer neuen Generation fantastischer Interpreten wie Dan Kahn, Sasha Lurje und Mark Kovnatskiy zusammen. Das Ergebnis ist "Semer Reloaded".

Mit Eurer Unterstützung können wir diese wunderbare Musik nicht nur mit Archivmaterial 80 Jahre alter Aufnahmen oder Konzerten für einige wenige glückliche Zuhörer erhalten, sondern mit einer Albumveröffentlichung in perfekter Klangqualität auf dem neuesten Stand der Technik für die ganze Welt. Im Maxim Gorki Theater, Berlin, das als Gastgeber für die Aufnahme-Sessions live in Concert zur Verfügung steht, haben wir einen starken Partner. Wir werden mit dem Londoner Produzenten Ben Mandelson zusammenarbeiten, und Piranha Records aus Berlin wird sowohl die Produktion einer hochklassigen Aufnahme übernehmen, als auch ihre Veröffentlichung und den Vertrieb. Es gibt nur jeweils 80 Publikumsplätze für die Konzerte am 3. und 4. November: Seid bei den Aufnahmen persönlich dabei!

Was sind die Ziele und wer ist die Zielgruppe?

Erstmals seit dem Holocaust wirkt Berlin wieder als Magnet für jüdische Musik und Musiker: "Semer Reloaded" führt eine außergewöhnliche Gruppe von Künstlern zusammen, um die Original-Semer-Aufnahmen für ein zeitgenössisches Publikum neu zu interpretieren. In zwei Live-Konzerten in Berlin werden wir einige der eindrucksvollsten Titel unseres Repertoires neu einspielen, um sie auf Tonträger zu veröffentlichen.

Das Projekt wendet sich an alle, die die Tiefe und Pracht des fantastischen, historisch einzigartigen Erbes jüdischer Musik und Musiker interessieren, das die Nazis für "degeneriert" erklärten und für immer zu zerstören und aus dem Gedächtnis zu tilgen trachteten. Es wendet sich aber auch an alle, denen kreative, vitale Musik von heute an sich ein Anliegen ist, die von Traditionen und Stimmen der Vergangenheit inspiriert ist.

Die "Semer-Reloaded"-Aufnahme-Sessions sind eine einzigartige Gelegenheit, etwas zu dieser Mission beizutragen, Teil von ihr zu werden, dazu zu gehören. Sowohl für Fans der beteiligten Künstler, als auch für Freunde exklusiver Live-Events.

Schließlich werden die Aufnahmen natürlich aber auch für all jene gemacht, die am Ende das fertige Produkt besitzen, genießen und teilen möchten.

Warum sollte jemand dieses Projekt unterstützen?

Mit Eurer Hilfe wollen wir die Musik Semers für zeitgenössische Generationen wiederbeleben und sicherstellen, dass sie nicht wieder vergessen wird. Mit modernen Versionen der Originalaufnahmen auf dem aktuellsten Stand der Technik kann das Repertoire nicht nur vor dem Vergessen bewahrt werden, sondern sogar ein Vielfaches des Publikums erreichen, das es momentan erreicht. Es kann eine Zukunft haben. Aber dafür brauchen wir Eure Hilfe!

Was passiert mit dem Geld bei erfolgreicher Finanzierung?

Am 5. November 2015 findet ein "Semer-Reloaded"-Konzert im Maxim Gorki Theater, Berlin statt. Die beiden Tage zuvor werden wir dazu nutzen, während zweier zusätzlicher Live-Konzerte weitere hochqualitative Aufnahmen des Projekts mitzuschneiden. Der Eintritt am 3. und 4. November ist exklusiv für die Unterstützer der Crowdfunding-Kampagne reserviert – nur je 80 Plätze pro Event stehen zur Verfügung!

Piranha kann den Traum dieses Aufnahme-Projekts Realität werden lassen. Nun brauchen wir Eure Hilfe, um die Grundkosten der Mitschnitte zu decken!

Als Kosten für das fertige Album sind eine Fundingschwelle von 12.000 € und ein Fundingziel von 25.000 € veranschlagt. Darin sind die Kosten für Aufnahme, Post-Produktion, Mastering, Artwork, Tonträgerherstellung, Projektdokumentation, Urheberrechte, Record-Release-Konzert, MWSt., Crowdfunding-Plattform etc. berücksichtigt.

FINANZPLAN

Erreichen der Fundingschwelle - 12.000€

  • Aufnahmekosten (Raum + Technik + Personal) - 3.600€
  • Post-Production - 2.600€
  • Mastering - 1.350€
  • Tonträgerherstellung (Digipak) - 1.900€
  • Artwork - 1.350€
  • Urheberrechte - 1.200€

Bei Erreichen des Fundingziels von 25.000 € können wir zusätzlich zur CD auch eine Vinyl-Ausgabe der Aufnahme mit besonderem Mastering und Artwork produzieren lassen. Außerdem werden wir die Konzerte professionell filmen, um ein bleibendes visuelles Dokument davon zu haben, wie die bemerkenswerte Gruppe von "Semer-Reloaded"-Künstlern diese wichtigen Aufnahmen einspielte.

Erreichen des Fundingziels - 25.000€

  • Promo CD und Vinyl Produktion - 2.500€
  • Vinyl Artwork - 500€
  • Vinyl-Mastering - 750€
  • Tonträgerherstellung (Vinyl + zusätzliche CDs) - 4.150€
  • Dokumentation der Veranstaltungen (Filmen + Fotos + Editing) - 4.000€
  • Record Release Konzert im Frühjahr 2016 - 1.000€

Wer steht hinter dem Projekt?

Vor allem die an Semer Reloaded beteiligten Künstler. (A-Z)

  • Alan Bern - Piano, Akkordeon, Musikalischer Direktor
  • Paul Brody – Trompete
  • Daniel Kahn - Gesang, Akkordeon
  • Mark Kovnatsky – Violine
  • Martin Lillich - Basello
  • Sasha Lurje – Gesang
  • Fabian Schnedler - Gesang, Electrische Gitarre
  • Lorin Sklamberg - Gesang, Akkordeon

Unterstützt werden wir dabei vom renommierten Musikproduzenten Ben Mandelson aus London und von Piranha Records, dem Berliner Label, das für die Neurezeption zeitgenössischer jüdischer Musik aus aller Welt in Deutschland nach 1989 wesentliche Impulse gesetzt hat. Veröffentlichungen: Klezmatics, Frank London's Klezmer Brass Allstars, Maurice El Medioni, Solomon & Socalled, Watcha Clan, Ruth Yakoov Ensemble, Emil Zrihan und andere.

Partner

Piranha Records & Publishing is an independent Berlin-based company with more than 150 album releases to date, introducing new sounds and artists from the world to the world under the triad of globalisation, tradition & subcultural understanding.

Über Startnext

Startnext ist die größte Crowdfunding-Plattform für kreative und nachhaltige Ideen, Projekte und Startups in Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz. Künstler, Kreative, Erfinder und Social Entrepreneurs stellen ihre Ideen vor und finanzieren sie mit der Unterstützung von vielen Menschen.

Startnext Statistik

44.911.508 € von der Crowd finanziert
5.051 erfolgreiche Projekte
835.000 Nutzer

Sicherheit

Ist uns wichtig, deshalb halten wir uns an diese Standards:

  • Datenschutz nach deutschem Recht
  • Sichere Bezahlung mit SSL
  • Sichere Transaktionen über unseren Treuhänder Secupay AG
  • Legitimation der Starter nach deutschem Recht

Bezahlmethoden

Kreativität gemeinsam finanzieren - Entdecke neue Ideen oder starte dein Projekt!

© 2010 - 2017 Startnext Crowdfunding GmbH