Crowdfunding funding phase
The film documentary 'The Secret Arts' presents a possible way of basic research on the phenomenon of magic and magical worldviews associated with it. It grants an exciting insight into certain magical practices and ideas and tries to locate their place in everyday life of various local cultures.
800 €
Start level 4,777 €
9
Supporters
40days
Oliver Meschnig
Oliver Meschnig 46 days ago
Thomers S.
Thomers S. 49 days ago
Simone Dolinsek
Simone Dolinsek 49 days ago
Luise Stark
Luise Stark 50 days ago
Privacy notice
Privacy notice
 The Secret Arts
 The Secret Arts
 The Secret Arts
 The Secret Arts
 The Secret Arts

About this project

Funding period 7/1/22 12:35 AM - 9/29/22 11:59 PM
Realisation Summer 2023
Start level 4,777 €

With the financial means we will cover a part of the post-production, i.e. the workload for editing, digital post-production and the sound design.

Category Movie / Video
City Wien

Project description show hide

What is this project all about?

The film represents an experimental attempt in the field of audio-visual ethnography and approaches the topic from four different perspectives: everyday life, art, science and belief. As artists with a cultural-philosophical background, we use stylistic devices that are borrowed from immersive aesthetics and at the same time are characterized by a sober view.

Hence a certain definition of ‘magic’ is difficult to grasp in culture-specific terms as well as of time / space and is currently the subject of contemporary scientific discourse in many theoretical fields (from theology and anthropology to media studies). In this call for a broader understanding of the matter, we see the opportunity to examine existing relationships between magic and other reference systems, such as art and science in a cross-disciplinary manner - taking deliberately into account the scope of a documentary film.

Our movie offers an insight into what we understand as ‚magic‘. Where can we encounter this type of thinking and acting? We are asking ourselves whether it is possible that magic still determines the everyday life of many people. And last but not least what motivates rational people to continue practicing magic in our present times?

What is the project goal and who is the project for?

Instead of esoteric manuals, we suggest real approaches and opinions. Instead of following the rules of scientism, we dedicate ourselves to an imaginary intercultural design taking an unbiased and curious look at the phenomenon of magic.

In the same way, however, we see our film as a stimulus to critically expose the misuse of magical techniques that find their perverted expression in all human cultures, e.g. as in the taboo practices of casting evil spells on people and the practice of black magic. Another objective is to show possible strategies for dealing with it.

Our project is geared toward a broad audience interested in the topic of magic. It could be also seen as an attractive guide for graduates in the field of theology, psychology, anthropology and also for people, who are practicioners themselves.

In a successful collaboration with the Bulgarian Institute for Ethnology and Folklore Studies (IEFEM), the film project was presented to a broad audience in Bulgarian for the first time. This happened during the European Researcher's Night at the end of November 2020.

Why would you support this project?

Our film project is currently affected by the restrictions of the ongoing corona pandemic, both in terms of shooting (in terms of time, space and personnel) as well as in its entire implementation policy. On the other hand, we have already put a lot of energy and work into it without any financial backing or monetary support. We think, however, that this scenario would have to change in order to achieve the desired end result in the foreseeable future. Without external financing and the involvement of external partners for post-production, the project cannot be realized.

How will we use the money if the project is successfully funded? 

Started back in 2019 we have already put many intensive weeks of work into planning, conception, project management, script, shooting and editing as well as creating the www.the-secret-arts.com film website. All that without any financial support. We would be very happy if we could achieve our financing goal. The funding goal would provide the minimum amount necessary to cover our costs for post-production and running our social media campaigns.

Who are the people behind the project?

Behind the project are on the one hand the two initiators Evelino Gortchev and Georg Watschka. They are supported by the sound designer Daniel Ivanov, who has already worked for several years in the Nu-Boyana film studios for the post-production department in Sofia, where he was responsible for the realization of various major films. His task on the film will be to bring the documentary film style of the sound to life.

Support now 

Cooperations

Pagat Ultimo

Pagat Ultimo is an association for the promotion of open socio-cultural exchange. The members of the association are significantly involved in the film project through their collaboration. From logo design to web development and graphic design.

IEFEM - Institut für Ethnologie und Folkloristik/Sofia

Close collaboration with IEFEM already in the framework of the European Researchers Night 2020.

Discover more projects

share
The Secret Arts
www.startnext.com

This video is played by Vimeo. By clicking on the play button, you agree to the transfer of necessary personal data (e.g. your IP address) to Vimeo Inc (USA) as the operator of Vimeo. For more information on the purpose and scope of data collection, please see the Startnext privacy policy. Learn more

Crowdfunding beendet
Die Filmdoku ‚The Secret Arts‘ stellt einen möglichen Weg der Grundlagenforschung über das Phänomen der Magie und damit verbundene magische Weltbilder vor. Sie gewährt eine spannende Einsicht in bestimmten magischen Praktiken sowie Vorstellungen und versucht ihren Platz im Alltagsleben verschiedener lokaler Kulturen zu verorten.
800 €
Fundingsumme
9
Unterstütz­er:innen
Datenschutzhinweis
Datenschutzhinweis
 The Secret Arts
 The Secret Arts
 The Secret Arts
 The Secret Arts
 The Secret Arts

Über das Projekt

Finanzierungszeitraum 01.07.22 00:35 Uhr - 29.09.22 23:59 Uhr
Realisierungszeitraum Sommer 2023
Mindestbetrag (Startlevel) 4.777 €

Mit den finanziellen Mitteln werden wir einen Teil der Postproduktion, dh den Arbeitsaufwand für Schnitt, digitale Nachbearbeitung und dem Sounddesign abdecken.

Kategorie Film / Video
Stadt Wien

Projektbeschreibung anzeigen ausblenden

Worum geht es in dem Projekt?

Der Film stellt einen experimentellen Versuch im Bereich der audio-visuellen Ethnographie dar und nähert sich dem Thema aus vier verschiedenen Perspektiven: Alltagsleben, Kunst, Wissenschaft und Glaube. Als Kunstschaffende mit einem kulturwissenschaftlich-philosophischen Background bedienen wir uns Stilmittel, die Anleihen sowohl in einer immersiven Ästhetik finden, gleichzeitig aber auch von einer nüchternen Betrachtung geprägt sind.

Daher ist die Begriffsbestimmung für 'Magie' sowohl zeitlich/räumlich, als auch kulturspezifisch schwer fassbar und erfährt derzeit vielerorts eine zeitgenössische wissenschaftliche Diskursivierung (von der Theologie und Anthropologie bis hin zu den Medienwissenschaften).
Gerade darin sehen wir auch die Chance, mit unserem populärwissenschaftlichen Projekt – unter Berücksichtigung der Reichweite eines Dokumentarfilms – gewisse bestehende Verhältnisse zwischen Magie und anderen Bezugssystemen wie z. B. Kunst und Wissenschaft transdisziplinär zu untersuchen.

Denn was bewegt rationale Menschen in unserer Gegenwart dazu Magie nach wie vor zu praktizieren? Ferner stellen wir uns die Frage, ob es sogar möglich ist, dass Magie den Alltag vieler Menschen nach wie vor bestimmt und wo wir dieser Art von Denken und Handeln begegnen können?

Was sind die Ziele und wer ist die Zielgruppe?

Statt esoterische Handbücher wollen wir reale Zugänge und Meinungen skizzieren. Statt den Regeln des Szientismus zu folgen, widmen wir uns einem imaginären interkulturellen Entwurf, indem wir unseren unvoreingenommen-neugierigen Blick auf das Phänomen der Magie richten.

Genauso aber sehen wir unsere Schau als Anregung dazu, den Missbrauch magischer Techniken, die in allen menschlichen Kulturen ihren pervertieren Ausdruck, wie z.B. in den tabuisierten Schadenzauber finden, kritisch zu belichten und mögliche Strategien im Umgang damit aufzuzeigen.

Unser Projekt richtet sich an ein breites Publikum, das sich für das Thema Magie interessiert. Es könnte auch als attraktiver Leitfaden für AkademikerInnen in den Disziplinen Theologie, Psychologie, Anthropologie dienen und auch für jene, die sich selbst der Magiepraxis verschrieben haben.

In einer gelungenen Kollaboration mit dem bulgarischen Institut für Ethnologie und Folkloristik (IEFEM) konnte das Filmprojekt zum ersten Mal einem breiten Publikum in bulgarischer Sprache vorgestellt werden. Dies geschah im Rahmen der European Researcher’s Night Ende November 2020.

Warum sollte jemand dieses Projekt unterstützen?

Unser Filmprojekt ist zurzeit durch die Einschränkungen der andauernden Corona-Pandemie sowohl drehtechnisch (zeitlich, räumlich und personell), als auch in seiner gesamten Umsetzungspolitik betroffen. Andererseits haben wir bis dato bereits viel Energie und Arbeit ohne jeglichen finanziellen Rückhalt und monetäre Unterstützung hineingesteckt. Wir denken, aber dass sich dieses Szenario ändern müsste, um in einer absehbaren Zeit zum gewünschten Endergebnis zu kommen. Ohne Fremdfinanzierung und Einbindung externer Partner für die Postproduktion würde das Projekt leider nicht realisiert werden können.

Was passiert mit dem Geld bei erfolgreicher Finanzierung?

Wir begannen mit dem Projekt im Jahr 2019 und haben bereits viele intensive Arbeitswochen in Planung, Konzeption, Projektmanagement, Skript, Dreh und Schnitt sowie in die Erstellung der www.the-secret-arts.com Filmwebseite hineingesteckt. Ohne finanzielle Unterstützung wohlgemerkt. Wir würden uns sehr freuen, wenn wir unser Finanzierungsziel erreichen würden. Das Fundingziel würde den Mindestbetrag zur Verfügung stellen, der notwendig ist um unsere Kosten für die Postproduktion und dem Betreiben unserer Social Media Kampagnen zu decken.

Wer steht hinter dem Projekt?

Hinter dem Projekt stehen einerseits die zwei Initiatoren Evelino Gortchev und Georg Watschka. Unterstützung bekommen sie vom Sounddesigner Daniel Ivanov, der schon mehrere Jahre in den Nu-Boyana-Filmstudios für die Postproduktionsabteilung in Sofia gearbeitet hat, wo er für die Umsetzung verschiedener großer Filme sorgte. Seine Aufgabe beim Film wird es sein, den dokumentarischen Filmstil des Tons zum Leben zu erwecken.

Unterstützen

Kooperationen

Pagat Ultimo

Pagat Ultimo ist ein Verein zur Förderung eines offenen sozio-kulturellen Austauschs. Die Vereinsmitglieder sind durch ihre Mitarbeit maßgeblich am Filmprojekt beteiligt. Vom Logoentwurf über Web-Development bis zum Grafikdesign.

IEFEM - Institut für Ethnologie und Folkloristik/Sofia

Enge Zusammenarbeit mit dem IEFEM schon letztes Jahr im Rahmen des European Researchers Night 2020.

Weitere Projekte entdecken

Teilen
The Secret Arts
www.startnext.com

Diese Video wird von Vimeo abgespielt. Mit dem Klick auf den Play-Button stimmst du der Weitergabe dafür notwendiger personenbezogenen Daten (Bsp: Deine IP-Adresse) an Vimeo Inc (USA) als Betreiberin von Vimeo zu. Weitere Informationen zum Zweck und Umfang der Datenerhebung findest du in den Startnext Datenschutzbestimmungen. Mehr erfahren